1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Intel Pentium 4 3.0...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Cja123, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    My old P4 I got in 2004 overclocks very well, too. I set it like that soon after I got it and it runs solid as a rock like that to this day. One of the most stable systems I've ever had. :rockout:

    2.8GHz Northwood with HT o/c 3.5GHz
    Abit AI7 motherboard. Ah, Abit, how I miss thee.... :cry:
    2GB DDR400 Geil RAM as 4 x 512MB
    AGP graphics card: whatever I feel like plugging in today. lol

    Tell you what though. Solid as it is at 3.5GHz, try for 3.6GHz and the system turns to jelly. Just won't do it stably, no matter what.
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
  2. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Post up some screenies of it in action, Run some SuperPi:p
  3. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    [​IMG]
    For some reason Hyperthreading is disabled right now... Even though I have it enabled in BIOS... hmmmm.. affecting W prime quiet a bit.
    3dsage says thanks.
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Indeed, it will. When I used to run SETI@Home on it, before they went over to BOINC, it literally doubled the score. :D

    Is there a BIOS update for your board, perhaps? Does Task Manager show two processors?
  5. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    [​IMG]

    There we go =).
  6. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Thats good for 12Th out of 16 , for single core's in the WPRIME benchmark Thread. Good stuff
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    not bad but i got higher on my Celeron D 351 and a ECS mobo so you should be able to go higher :p
  8. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I've tried to push it further but this motherboard is horrible. I've had it for so long and I'm very tired of it. I will never buy another nvidia chipset. They're a joke for overclocking in my experiences.
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    i rma'd 4 of them just to get one that worked :laugh:

    780a is very nice though
  10. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    780a.. is that a different revision?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page