1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Issue

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by AphexDreamer, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,234 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Ok, not a major problem but I would like to see what is wrong to perhaps further increase my overclocking range.

    My issue is that my FSB won't go over 245> or so. I have wanted to lower my multiplyer and go with a Higher FSB, (cause I heard it was better) but my computer won't boot at anything higher then 245, it just shows that screen you get when you first turn your PC on and does nothing.

    I have made sure that the HTT Mulitplyer is not too high, I have checked to make sure the Voltage is good and scaned all over the BIOS for any option that might have been limiting me. I currently have my FSB at 224x13=2912 but if I try 264x11=2904 my computer won't boot:confused:. I have tryed to look for BIOS updates and google searched anything that might have some sort of Fix for this, but alas no avail.

    Basicly has anyone ever had the Motherboard I have or know of anything that will allow me to overclock with a Higher FSB then what its letting me or if anyone knows if it might be my Processor thats limiting me or simply that my board is crap:( any information would be helpful, thanks for reading.
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    memory isn't holding you back right? make sure that the memory clocks are comfortable when you're at 245. if memory isn't holding you back, you want to add some juice(voltage) to everything related to the chipset (northbridge, southbridge, htt termination, fsb termination). when you reach an fsb wall, upping the northbridge voltage usually fixes it.
     
  3. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,234 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well my RAM's been Timed Tweak with its voltage plus .3 volts and my processore's Voltage is at 1.475 so I think its ok. I'll try increase some more volts on thing and see if my FSB will go higher. Thanks for the response.:)
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,824 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,348
    Id have to agree with pancho on this one....there is no mention of a RAM divider in your post. Try droppin the ram divider first, but 2.9GHz could be a voltage point as well.

    Take everything one leap at a time...kill ur ram timings to see how far the CPU goes and what it takes voltage wise to get it done.....then lower your CPU multi and test for RAM frequency by raising the bus and voltage untill it stops.

    This way you know what the limiting factors are....volts , heat, etc.
     
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,158 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,180
    Location:
    Ohio
    Overvolt northbridge?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    The real question is:

    Why would you want a higher base clock (= HTT, also incorrectly known as "FSB")?
    13x HTT245 = 3185MHz should be enough for your 5200+, no?
     
  7. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,234 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well I have tryed many things and nothing has worked:(. I have even tryed overclocking my CPU to 3000Mhz at Diff volts, but computer would still not boot. So now all I have managed to do is get my FSB at 226 with Mutilplyer of 13 to get 2938. Sad thing is I can get my CPU to 3000mhz with clockgen in windows(although pobably not stable). I guess its my RAM Timings. Anyone know of some good timings for the RAM I have. I just download the tool SPDTool that Im going to try and learn. Thanks for the reaspons
     
  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    HTT= hyper transport technology

    FSB= Front side BUs

    HTT= FSB * HTT LINK(also refferred to as the HTT multiplier)


    the cpu's speed is FSB X CPU MULTIPLIER

    the rest of the system runs on the hypertransport speed, and so when you're overclocking, you want to lower the htt link so that the htt speed remains around 1000 mhz, because then you're overclocking other things your system, like the pci, pci e, sata,etc. speeds, and that can also lead to crashes.

    i just realized something, the htt speeds could be holding you back, 245 * 5= 1225 htt speed, try lowering the htt link/multiplier to 4x.

    also, make sure that all spread spectrums (sata spread spectrum, pcie spread spectrum, triangular spread spetrum, etc. etc.) are disabled and that your pci sped is locked at 33 mhz and that your pci e speed is set to 100 mhz (dont use auto settings, manually configure)
     
  9. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,158 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,180
    Location:
    Ohio
    I had to use 1.45v to get my 5200+ to boot into windows. It was stable long enough to save a couple CPU-Z screenshots, and half of a run of SuperPI before it crashed with BSOD. Of course, with only stock cooling, I had to open my case, my window (cold day) and point a 10" dollar general fan directly at my CPU heatsink to keep it cool.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,234 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Yeah I change the HTT Mulitplyer to 4, but as for the PCIe and specturm setting I never set those. Gonna reboot and try again:D
     
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,234 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    :mad:Still won't boot with anything above 245, darn flamet.
     
  12. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    No, there's no such thing as "FSB" on AMD Hammer platform.
    It literally doesn't exist on this platform.

    "Front side bus" by definition is a bus that connects CPU and northbridge. The data path that is comparable to FSB on AMD Hammer is completely on-die and runs at CPU core speed. Basically it's the crossbar switch between execution cores and the memory controller.

    As I said, the correct term would be "base clock", or even "HTT" as the figure actually dictates the HTT link speed.
     
  13. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    well yeah, i think fsb is inel terminology, but most people will understand fsb when it comes to amd as well. in my bios the fsb is refferred to as the cpu frequency.

    @aphex downclock your memory& loosen timings make sure the spread spectrums are okay and the rest of the stuff, make sure that the htt link is at 4 and then if all of that fails, you'll want to add volts to everything chipset related on your mobo, and if all else fails, get a new mobo
     
  14. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,234 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I don't know what the Perfect MEM timeings are for the RAM I have. Anyone know?, anyways I am going to get a processor so starting from their I will see what peaice of hardware is to blame.
     
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    try ddr2 800 5-5-5-15-T2
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page