1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking my E8500 with my DFI LP DK X48

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Jun 10, 2008.

  1. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Ok, so I got both my E8500 and DFI LP DK X48-T2RS today, have them paired with a 2x1GB set of Crucial Ballistix Tracers D9's and want to overclock this puppy, but the options in the DFI BIOS are completely different from what I have seen on any other motherboard before so I am in need of help. Thanks guys.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2008
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    actually it's pretty simple.

    you'll want to get a good OC going first. maybe 9.5x400 or 9.5x450.

    should be able to do that easy. with only minimal volts.

    then...
    start with 80-80-81 and go up till you find out what is stable.

    example...

    80-80-81.... not stable?
    try
    80-80-83... still not?
    try
    85-85-90
    then
    85-85-95
    then
    85-85-100

    make a list of what works and what doesnt. you'll see a pattern after a bit. then use that pattern to adjust your gtl's when OCing higher.

    it's VERY confusing unless you have the table and look at the bios. i suggest you print this out and start testing.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2008
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,231 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,139
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    ^^
    Roflmfao!
     
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be

    After the minimal volts you really lost me, and DD, you laughing at my lame ass?
     
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  6. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
    I have the lil brother of your board and also of your CPU, also acquired recently and i managed a almost 100% stable 450x9 (4050Mhz) with 1080Mhz (5-5-5-15) on the RAM

    Vcore special Add: +200mV
    SB Voltage: (at stock)
    Northbridge Voltage: 1.456V (1.43V real)
    CPU VTT Voltage: 1.285V (1.280 real)
    CPU GTL Ref 0/2: 0.667x
    CPU GTL Ref 1/3: 0.667x
    NB GTL Ref: 0.67x

    Also check the living review of the DFI LT X48-T2R here, i checked the one of the LT X38-T2R by the same guy and was really helpful. Good luck and keep us informed!

    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    dark2099 says thanks.
  8. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Thanks for that find fit, and I kept looking at it for a second going, wtf, where are the settings, then I realized it was a video.
     
  9. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I found one small problem with that, in my voltage settings, I don't have the setting "CPU VID Control" which is probably due to my board being the T2RS rather than just the T2R.
     
  10. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
    It's not just due to the T2R2 ... i have the DK X38-T2R and the CPU VID Control it's simply not there ... i just can add a "special add" starting at the point of 1.2V determined for the 45nm cpu's

    Gonna try that video settings fitseries3!! great finding my friend!!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. leventp New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    The Anandtech video is not for LP DK X48. DK X48 lacks some of the settings and is not able to hit 500MHz FSB, as far as I see.
     
  12. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    You're right, it is for the LT not the DK. Damn.
     
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    but hey.. you can use use the settings to help get your board going. it doesnt have to be exactly the same board.
     
  14. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    This is true, although considering the price difference, I may see if I can get the LT.
     
  15. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
    The only difference between the LT and the DK series (besides some extra BIOS settings which can help sometimes for the real stability) it's the PWM .. in the DK series it's just 4-phase and analogue while in the LT-UT series it's digital which as far as i read can help the overclocking of the quads but it's not a "hard" issue for duals.

    I managed to stabilize a 475x6 on lower voltages than the video (1.28 for VTT and 1.42 for NB with CPU @ stock volts) and tonight i benched a bit with 490x9 ... and it's just the X38 model ... so if it's paired with a dual i think you won't be wrong with the DK series ... and if you don't complain just search a board that does less vdroop or at least with a known pencil mod (the LT-UT versions doesn't have one neither)

    Benches at 490x9 (4410Mhz)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    :toast:
     
    leventp says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Since you have similar options as I do, about how much does each addition of the CPU VID Special Add actually add to the CPU VID?
     
  17. Shifty22123

    Shifty22123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Hey man...I got the same motherboard. The special VID add doesn't help your overclock as much but be sure to change the percentage thing (don't know exactly what it's called) as that changes the cpu vcore. As for your ram...You should be able to hit the same speeds as I do which is around 1050mhz on 4-4-4-10 2T and 1150mhz on 5-5-4-10 2T

    I'll follow this thread to see if there is something I can help you out as I'm on 3.8ghz on my q6600 so far
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  18. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Great, now its emitting a high pitched sound similar to what DD was having on his AMD DFI board.
     
  19. Shifty22123

    Shifty22123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Did you connect the small floppy power connector about PCI-E slot no.1? It help alot when your overclocking to have the exstra power
     
  20. leventp New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I'm hoping for a new BIOS for DK. The lack of Vcore setting (there is only "Vcore special add" option) is annoying. Seems like DFI deliberately making DK lack BIOS settings, as it is the cheap version.
     
  21. Shifty22123

    Shifty22123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Like I said above...not sure what it's called but the percentage thing is the vcore and not the VID. It can get you almost to 2V on the cpu I would think as it goes from 100% to way way way up:toast:
     
  22. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Figured I would post a screenie of my voltage settings page in the bios, most of the settings are matched to what were said in that video, only difference is the ram is at 2.2v since that is stock for it, pretty much everything else is the defaults that the board comes set at. I also connected the floppy power as suggested.

    [​IMG]
     
  23. Shifty22123

    Shifty22123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Ok...that helps me a lot too. You might want to set your ram voltage to 2.25 to 2.3v as ballistix love voltage. Set the special add a little higher and start cranking the fsb ;)
     
  24. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Suggested setting for the special add?
     
  25. Shifty22123

    Shifty22123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    hmmm...i'm @ 225% which is 1.45v . I think 125% would put you in the 1.35v which would be more then enough for any mild overclock to heavy overclock on that cpu
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page