1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking my gtx 680

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by xxriznoxx, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i've been trying to overclock it since yesterday...i cant seem to be able to get past 1250mhz boost ;(. My volt is at 1000, mem clock is at 6920mhz, and fan speed @auto, while power target is at 110%, am i doing something wrong? please tell me and guide me.

    I want to try and get the card to 13xx, i use the asus gpu tweak by the way. here is the card http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/NVIDIA_Series/GTX680DC2T2GD5/
  2. Huddo93

    Huddo93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    299 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    Possibly try maxing out the voltage, clock the card to 1300+, once you find some good settings start bringing down the voltage till you find a setting that keeps the card stable?
  3. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Can voltage tweak fxxk anything up? Im literally treating this card like a princess lol, i dont want to ruin it in anyway x_x.
  4. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Eats up 3 PCI slots and you treat it like a princess, you should treat it more like a monster that it is.
  5. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    LOL, indeed it is quite the monster. But i have the antec 1200 case, with a little modification i could possibly get another pair of 680 of the same quality/brand or another brand and sli with it.
  6. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Damn, I always thought a card that eats up 2 PCI slots was too big till the 3 Slot ones come out :shadedshu

    Will they ever go back to single slot???
  7. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I hope so haha did you see gigabyte's 680 SOC? it blew my mind. The card's so beastly they made a custom weight support for it so it doesnt break the pcie slot. I think its probably heavier than my 680. http://www.techpowerup.com/165120/G...verclock-WindForce-5X-Pictured-Some-More.html
  8. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,256 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    To treat your card like a princess and overclock don't go together. I can understand not wanting to overvolt but that is probably the only way you will be able to get higher clocks. As huddo said, set your volts high with your desired clocks, and then downvolt till you find instability.

    With the lower end cards, and even some of the mid end nvidea cards, then could of made them single slot. There was that single slot 670 in china.

    If you got the space and are not going to use it for add in cards, why not use a 3 slot cooler.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    :laugh: Yap i remember reading that article, they need to go back to single slot, its not right when a consumer has to start getting custom weight support just to use a product, its not right :roll:
  10. Huddo93

    Huddo93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    299 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    Overvoltage is a problem is you leave your card near to the max voltage for prolonged periods of time, for example, my GTX670 can overvolt to 1.175v Maximum, and if I left it there then over 1-2 months then you could probably ruin your card. That being said, there is no problems with overvolting during your OC'ing phase. If it was unsafe Graphics card manufacturers wouldn't let you touch voltage control.

    Like I said earlier, your gonna have to bump up the voltage if your ever gonna see a clock above 1300+ MHz :D by the sounds of your rig noise/heat arnt really a problem either. Make sure if your going to max out the voltage set a pretty aggressive fan curve profile so that you can try keep it as cool as possible.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Christ, reading the posts in this thread make me wonder what goes through peoples heads when they attempt to reply.

    As far as im concerned, voltage tweak has been removed from all Kepler cards as part of Nvidias Green Light program. So with that, tweaking the voltage on these cards does not do anything, they will run at below 1000mV at idle, and go all the way up to 1175mV under load in game. They will not go higher, and they will not stay at that voltage all the time. The card will only demand as much voltage as they need.
  12. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    1250mhz Is already an amazing OC on a 680, anything higher would be a golden sample. Generally anything 1220+ is pure luck of the draw due to not being able to increase the voltage. Might need to bump that power target up a bit to stop it from auto down-clocking, mine at 1200mhz uses 115-120%.

    Edit: v Its using 115% because its clocked higher than default? With only +21 on the core and +200 on the memory (~1200 6610 respectively) the 100% barrier is easily smashed:
    [​IMG]

    Plus this is with the core being down-clocked due to heat and its still smashing 100%, damn you 42° Aussie weather. If you want a rock solid overclock you want to know the max power your cards going to be pushing, if I hadn't set 115% it would've down-clocked even further than just the heat was causing.
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not really. Normal 680s can go all the way up to 1325-1350 pretty easily.

    Im at 1280, and my 680 doesnt go higher then 90% power draw. I dont see how yours uses 115%
  14. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    LOL no buddy, 1250mhz is crap if the card came with 1201 fresh out the box clock of speed. I am trying to push the card to its possible maximum potential. I mean, why would you call the card "TOP" if its overclockability (i know its nto a word, but fxxk it lol oxford needs to make some changes to their dictionary) isn't all that good?

    Usually the reason why people buy preoc'd cards is because of their cooling, and the fact that they can break their limit and overclock even further by the user. And like phenom said, overvolt isnt a big deal for the 600 series, they already reach max volt even when not increased manually. That's just how they work, kinda like the boost technology...tell me if im wrong, but according to the asus tweak utility, i idle at 987 volt while under load it goes up to 1175

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=49515&stc=1&d=1356541147 <unigine score when oc'd to 1250mhz

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I was wrong in my previous post. the only 680s that are getting over 1250-1275 STABLE are the golden chips and its seems to be pretty rare. I could only get my card stable for now at 1250 after redoing it since Far cry 3 was crashing and my default max boost clock is 1188. Your card is a non reference GTX680 from Asus TOP line which typically are good chips, but you might have gotten a lemon. Nothing you can do about that.

    Oh and Asus GPU Tweak program is trash. Use Afterburner.
  16. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    Agreed, Afterburner is amazing, had nothing but trouble with GPU Tweak with my ASUS 7970 (Bluescreens ahoy!). I find EVGA Precision X is pretty awesome too, but I'm a sucker for its layout/looks :p




    Edit: http://www.overclock.net/t/1265110/the-gtx-670-overclocking-master-guide A good little guide to help with finding the max OC.
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page