1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Opteron 165 Denmark dual core

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Paulieg, Feb 19, 2007.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Hi guys! I just joined this forum after lurking for quite awhile. I'm hoping someone can help me with this. I've built a few systems, and have done some very minor overclocking...just increasing the fsb and nothing else. I've done this with a Athlon 4000+ 939 system and a 3000+ 754. I just purchased a Opteron 165 Denmark and a DFI Lanparty Ultra D. Everyone tells me I should move to the AM2 platform, but I have really good OCZ DDR that I'm not ready to replace, and I got a great deal on this Opty and mobo. They should both be here in a couple of days. Are there differences with regards to overclocking a dual core opteron compared to single core A64's? if so what are the differences? Also, will the mobo bios recognize an opty dual core cpu automatically? I would really appreciate any tips....
  2. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    He did get a good deal because he bought it from me welcome him to the forum and please all you senior member like Ketx and Tatty, Sneeky Pete, cdawall, Jc136 and anyone I missed help him over clock his 4000+ while he waits for his new 165 to come. These guy all taught me trust me when I say they will help you.
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2007
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    trt740...I could open your message, I had a pop up blocker on in firefox. It's off now. Please resend. Also, I've got the 4000+ oc'd to 2.6, and I think I'm gonna leave it at that, since it's going into my wifes system after I get the opty. I just need help with the opty/lanparty OC
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Good article. I'm wondering if it's any different overclocking the opty, since it's a server cpu. I also want to make sure the motherboard will recognize it.
  6. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    No opterons and amd64s are identical except opterons have better memory controllers and are taken from only the best chips made during pressing allowing them to run cooler and stabler under lower voltage.
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2007
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2007
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    just got rid of same mobo as you ....mine had issues.....now have sli-dr version

    running 50% OC and rock stable....had it to 2.8G and she screams! When you get everything together you should have a really good combo of equiptment.

    I dont see any system specs......so my BIG concern off the start is the PSU you want to use! DFI boards are power hogs and they really prefer high quality power also.

    Had a poop PSU running a 3200+ @ 2.4G and a OC on the graphics card...but wasnt stable!
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I have an Ultra X-finity 500w psu. I keep an eye on the dual rails, and it's always been great. At some point though, I want to go back to a modular psu like the new corsair 620w psu.
  10. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Wow, I am a senior member. I am honored.

    Anyway, for the basics, of HTT and OCing, you can look at my guide here: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=22547

    It's pretty simple, just keep your temps below 45-50*C at full load, follow the guide. If you wind up crashing, you might have to lower your memory speed a little more.

    Dual cores can't take as much voltage or temps as a single core can, but they can still take plenty. If you have a decent cooler, like the AC freezer pro, then you can push higher and be safer.
  11. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yea!! I can run my 3200+ at 2.6ghz on air.
    Have been thinking of going opty or AM2 myself,so will keep an eye on this thread.;)
    Basics for OC'ing should be same as A64's
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    At DFI they would say that PSU isn't "recomended" , but if you look at the AMD overclockers club , AthlonX2 is running the same PSU on an expert version of that board.....judging by his results ,I'd have to say you'll be fine there too!
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm not sure how to set up a signature here, but here are the rest of my stats.
    A64 4000+ (oc's to 2.6) w/ Artic Cooler 64
    I-star Nitro full tower
    2x1 gb OCZ Gold gamer xtreme pc3200
    BFG 7900 GS OC (Actually is a GT chip!)
    2x 250 Gb WD SATA
    Ultra X-finity 500w psu
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    goto user cp @ top of posts and look there for edit specs
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    looks ok I dont see any serious issues in your future build...just remember to install the dual core optimizer found in the downloads here ! Helps balance the dual core's performance
  16. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    sounds like the opteron will be nice partner with the rest of that setup,the ultra powersupply should be fine for that setup..i have had mine for 8 months or so and havent had any troubles besides the fan in it poopin out..
  17. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, my 4000+ and Asus board will replace my wifes 754 A64 3000+/ Epox setup. I can't wait to get the new build up and running..
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm thinking of just leaving the Freezer pro on the 4000+, and either use the stock heatsink, or purchase something else. I'm not sure I want to try to pry it off...Any suggestions on another good heatsink? I'd like to try something new w/o spending a fortune.
  19. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Good luck with it.:)
    If you check here Tatty has been playing with his new opty too!!
  20. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    The stock cooler for the Opteron will do its a 6 heatpipe cooler but another freezer pro would be good too.
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    I'd keep the 64 for the opty give your wife the stock heatpipe cooler for the opty to use on that 4000+
  22. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    I have 64 pro with added fan and luv it,so hold on to it.
  23. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, I'd like to use the freezer pro. It's just that the one mishap I've had with building happened a couple of year ago while trying to take a heatsink off. I accidentally pulled the cpu out of the socket and bent pins. Now I'm just a little gun shy!!
  24. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    try twisting the cooler easily before you pull it away and another great tip is to not use the stock crap that comes on the coolers , Get some Artic Silver 5 or someting close and use it instead. Better tranfer of heat w/AS5 and less of the OMG the CPU came out!!!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page