1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Opteron 165, hitting a brick wall!!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Paulieg, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm really frustrated here. I hope someone can help me. I just built a new system (see specs below). I've been doing some overclocking. I lowered the LDT/FSB ratio to 3x, and began to increase the FSB. I managed to reach 285x9 with my memory set 1:1 stable with good temps. (Stable as in posting and booting to windows) I decided it was time to use a divider w/memory, so that I could continue to increase FSB without causing memory instability. So I set the divider to 5:6. I then restarted the computer. It would start to post, then the computer would restart. So, I tried several other dividers, all with the same outcome. However, when I set the divider back to 1:1, it posts and boots into windows just fine!! What's going on ??!! How is it possible that the system is more stable with the memory at 233 than under 200? I really want to clock this higher! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

    AMD Opteron 165
    DFI Lanparty Nf4 Ultra-D
    OCZ Gold XTC DDR400 (2GB)
    250 GB WD SATA HD
    Corsair 620HX PSU
     
  2. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Sounds like its time to increase your LTD voltage by a tenth of a volt (.1). :toast:

    A very reliable source, and friend here on TPU, suggested that on my DFI board I increase the LTD volts to get my Bus past 275. Life has been good ever since.
     
  3. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,226 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Yes,what voltage are you at?285x9=2565 is good for stock v.Also,what are your temps?
    My 165 runs up to 2900 on 1.44V
     
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Temps are:

    Idle: CPU-34 PWMIC-40 Chipset-40
    Orthos prime after 20 minutes: CPU 37 PWMIC 51 Chipset 43.

    I'll go try to increase LTD Voltage, then I'll report back.
     
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Increasing the LDT did allow me to change the dividers and boot. Thanks! I'm up to 300 x9. I'll do some testing later to see if I'm stable. I do have one other question though. Is it necessary to use the extra 12v/5v molex and 4 pin power connectors on this board. I thought I heard these were really only designed for the SLI version, or people who were using several HD's at one time. Thoughts?
     
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Ok, in addition to my above question about the power connectors....
    I just tested with orthos prime (cpu only, no memory), and failed at 25 minutes.
    This is where I was at:

    300x9 and volts at 1.425
    3:4 divider (fails to boot if I drop the divider any lower)

    Temps prior to orthos failure:

    cpu 51
    PWMIC 61 (should I be concerned with this temp?)
    Chipset 41

    What should I do next? I'm not really happy with being unstable at 2.7.I am also worried about the temps if I raise the voltage any higher... Please help
     
  7. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    61 is on the high side but its nothing to be worried about atm the chipset is a good temp tho, mines arround 48
     
  8. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    I always plug in all connections for maximum system stablity.

    That 61 degrees is gettin warm, although I dont know the limits.
    @300 x 9 try raising the chipset voltage by a tenth also (.1) then run orthos again.
    Also If you can please provide a stepping to us as they all overclock differently.
     
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I already raised the LDT by .1. I should raise the chipset by .1 too? I've heard the PWMIC can handle well over 100c, but I want to make sure
     
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    And the stepping is CCBE 0615DPMW
     
  11. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    yes the chipset voltage as I stated above. :toast: if its a CCBBE stepping you should be able to do 2.7 easy. :wtf: Did you end up plugging in the other two power connectors?
     
  12. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Paul I have the same board as you try setting you voltage on the chip higher then lower it slowing working your way down as you become stable. Take the side off of your case . My chip Is a 610 stepping chip and will run hotter than yours but needs less voltage. However I will be shocked if you don't need at least 1.5v to get stable at 300x9 or higher 1.55v is considered safe on air don't go any higher. Start at 1.55v and as you are stable work down. My old Opteron 185 had that same stepping and it needed 1.55v to achieve 300x9 and that voltage is safe on air with enough fans. That chip set at 1.425v I doubt will achieve that speed 300x9 getting a stable 300 fsb with that low voltage is very hard.
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    hey paul just a quick question ......when u downclocked the memory to 166speed did the timings on the ram change in CPU-z? Reason i ask ....cuz when i downclock the RAM my timings tighten automatically and need to be set back to continue clocking!


    AND READ THIS CAREFULLY

    Ive done some talking with the DFI techs and 61*C ......IS WAY OUT OF LINE !!!!!WARNING!!!!!!!

    Shawn @ DFI told me directly that 60*c is MAX for the PWM Get on the phone with shawn @ DFI (google there Cali #) and look into getting that thing looked at bare minimum!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2007
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Sneeky i'm not sure your right I've done some checking the pwm are rated for 100c. Not saying DFI is wrong but do some checking 50-60 is common.

    Check this thread its about this question.


    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=427500[/url

    here is another Dfi forum that states the max is 120c
    http://www.diy-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6541
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2007
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    If u dont believe me call DFI and find out for yourself !

    just trying to pass on some helpful info that comes straight from DFI!

    if ur in the states call 1-510-274-8000 if u get a rep on the phone it'll prolly be shawn
     
  16. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I'm not questioning DFI but according to there own official forum those chips are rated for 100-120c . They can become unstable a 60c+ for over clocking, but those temps will not hurt the Pwmic Chips that regulate the voltage. The solution to lowering the temps is to move any extra power supply cords in the area away and not to allow the main power supply cord to to touch them. You can also mount a small fan in the area. read there own forum DIY street this problem is addressed several times..
     
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    seen the forum and what i gathered was a spec sheet say internal tem of 125*c ok ITE smartguardian tops out @ 100*c and factory alarm is about 40-45*C. DFI had told me if PWM hits over 60 there is an issue that need resolved.....thats all I'm trying to get across with the original post

    take it or leave it ...my 2 pennies are on the guy @ DFI vs a few guys in a forum who have gotten it to work.....i do believe in 1 of those posts the gentleman does state the lower the temp the more stable the board!

    so back to what we started here for ....Paul call DFI and prove me wrong!!!!!!
     
  18. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    No that forum is moderated by DFI. You think your the first person to ask that question . Your right in saying it can cause instability but not damage its not dangerous at all. Your two cents are very important but that doesn't mean it's always right nor is mine. Read the forum and the data sheets DFI puts out .
     
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    not at all ......keep goin then keep addin volts to the guys machine while the chip in my opinion is out of range to even produce the power he obviously isnt gettin to keep things up and stable?!?

    of course dont trust me "the guy who JUST sent in a mobo for voltage and PWM issues" thats why i went up to the sli-dr!
     
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    we are all entitled to have our own opinions ....maybe not the greatest idea to jack pauls thread in the process....lol
     
  21. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Better yet post that question to the 15,000 plus members of DIY Street the official forum of DFI and overseen by them. See what they say aswell by the way mine hits 60c+ sometimes and I'm stable at 3.1ghz at 1.475 volts on my Opty 170. Prime all day. Also 2.9 ghz at 1.39v all day aswell. If you ask that question you might get a check the forum post before asking a question thats been answered a hundred times. It doesn't matter he does need to put more voltage into that chip thats why it's not stable. He also might want to cool his PWM area as well . This can also be caused by your ram getting too hot heating that area up. My ram DDR 500 does this. I'm also taking a personel intrest in this because I sold him his chip and want him to succeed in his over clocking.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2007
  22. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    like i said it can be gotten away with ....as i was told its a major red flag is all!
     
  23. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2007
  24. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    all i know out of this whole tread is paul says he has issues with memory on a divider .... his PWM is hot by 3 diffrent forum and DFI owners members....and u have an intrest in making this kids opty goto 3GHZ. All ive said from the start was check his timings on the divider after its applied to make sure they didnt tighten on him...and that i was told it was not a good thing if your PWM hits 60....didnt even mention his chipset being over 40,lol.

    look Im not nockin your chip or his mobo....what i am saying is check those timings and call DFI if all else fails and get an RMA cuz to them the mobo is out of spec for an RMA!!!!! the only other thing i can come up with is this kid lives on the equator and doesn't have a case fan to save his life!
     
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    oh yea and i just noticed those snobs at DFI told u in more words to use the search function than to just type in a 2 or 3 digit number and theese are the helpful guys ur gettin info from?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page