1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Q6600 + HD4830, advice needed

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by shakaxd, Mar 11, 2009.

  1. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Hi there, it's my first post here.

    I've tested some settings overclocking my Q6600, found this pattern and would like some advice from you guys. I've repeated the same steps on the same order to get the most accurate results I could. For gaming benchmarks I used FRAPS to average 15s of gameplay standing still: for GTR Evolution that was onboard camera inside pit garage on empty track, and for CoD: WaW I chose Semper Fi mission, starting as soon as I was given a pistol and crosshair was visible. Room temperature on high 20's, low 30's

    CPU 266x9 (stock), VGA 575/900 / OC to 685/1000
    3dMark05, CPU test: 10.268
    Sandra Memory Bench: 5123
    GTR: 176 (178 VGA OC)
    CoD: 61 (61 VGA OC)
    Vcore: 1.125 on BIOS, 1.08 on CPU-Z idle, 1.03~1.05 on OCCT load test
    Temperature (distance to TjMax): idle 60, load 46
    --

    CPU 340x9, VGA 575/900 / OC to 685/1000
    3dMark05, CPU test: 12.880
    Sandra Memory Bench: 6268
    GTR: 197 (222 VGA OC)
    CoD: 64 (71 VGA OC)
    Vcore: 1.350 on BIOS, 1.30 on CPU-Z idle, 1.22~1.24 on OCCT load test
    Temperature (distance to TjMax): idle 55, load 32
    --

    CPU 360x9, VGA 575/900 / OC to 685/1000
    3dMark05, CPU test: 13.158
    Sandra Memory Bench: 6457
    GTR: 197 (230 VGA OC)
    CoD: 60 (72 VGA OC)
    Vcore: 1.425 on BIOS, 1.37 on CPU-Z idle, 1.29~1.30 on OCCT load test
    Temperature (distance to TjMax): idle 50, load 24
    --

    --
    3dMark05 score on 360x9 + 685/1000 = 18451
    --

    Apart from actually getting a worse CoD result on 360x9 than 340x9 without OCing the VGA, all results increased a bit, but real gaming improved much less than theoretical max. Considering the results I've got:
    1- Is 360x9 worth the extra heat it generates?
    2- What else can I try?
    3- Are my results within expected for this rig?
    4- If I were to upgrade something, what would be cost-effective?

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2009
  2. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    C'mon guys, I know I'm just a brand new user and you probably have already helped so many before me, don't leave me alone! :respect:
     
  3. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Nice overclock and great runs!


    1. Your temps are fine for 1.4V and 360FSB. 50C is a decent temp range.
    2. You can always try higher FSB :D You may not notice much on the 3D marks unless you pump up your gpu overclock.
    3. Your results are great for most 6600's and a single 4830. A single 4830 for me get 15k in 3D06. Try running that as a benchmark cause 3D05 is outdated.
    4. A good upgrade would be another 4830 if you have a CF board(cant see atm)

    Try running 3D06 or Vantage for more relevant benchmarks.
     
    shakaxd says thanks.
  4. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Thanks! :toast:

    I took a screenshot after a 3dM06 bench @ 1280x1024, 13.246 points there. Temps with 340x9 got as high as 67C on a 22C room running just this test, sometimes reach low 70's on gaming with that FSB. :eek:

    Regarding CF, My mobo has just 1 PCI-e x16 (not 2.0) and I'm not sure whether upgrading MB and getting a second VGA is a better choise (money-wise) than just getting a better VGA. I think I need another advice here :confused:

    VGA OC is becoming a bit tricky: core above 685 results in a VPU Recovery message some minutes later, memory above 980 causes some artifacts. :banghead:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Well that 3D06 run is very good, I think you've maxed out your potential of that single 4830. Your temps are starting to run a bit high so I think you'll need better cooling if you push more FSB. What voltages are you running?

    I personally love the 4830, it runs like a beast when you overclock it. Just may need additional case cooling to keep it good.
     
    shakaxd says thanks.
  6. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Thanks, I won't have to worry about my 4830! Now I'm lost on temperatures and voltages.

    For a 340FSB CPU gets 1.350v on BIOS, 1.30v on CPU-Z idle and 1.22~1.24 on load, a huge drop that leads to occasional BSODs or restarts if I try a lower value on BIOS. My case has 1x12cm front, 1x12m side for intake + 1x12 back, 1x12 and 1x8 top for exhaust, that should be enough for cooling everything. I don't know what causes such high temperatures, probably my MaxOrb is letting me down. I never liked it since the day I bought, took me a couple of hours to install and I never felt it was doing its job properly, even using AS5 (6 months already).

    What would be the best way to check if my HSF is the problem, considering I don't have a spare one? Is there a safe to clean it from dust?
     
  7. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Alright, I tried a few things last night. My case cooling is fine, as I took side panel off and put a high speed fan there to hugely increase airflow and temps were almost the same as before, some 1-2C lower at best.

    This benchmarks were run on 366x9, DDR2 @ 890 and 1.43v on VCore. It didn't crash on the single 3dMark06 run nor SuperPi, but temps went sky high. Moments after this screenshot it couldn't survive Prime95 for more than 10s before restarting, temps exceeding 75C. Even so, FSB 366 resulted in some 372 points increase on 3dMark CPU Score against FSB 340.

    I'm almost sure that my HSF is to blame. Is there anything else I can try? A Cooler Master Hyper 212 would be a good replacement for current Thermaltake MaxOrb?

    Thank you all! :rockout:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    A friend of mine talked to me and offered 3 cpu coolers: cooler master hyper 212, hyper z600 and akasa nero 967. Now I'm even more confused +_+
     
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I would go z600... or even better, a xig s1283 :)
     
  10. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Unfortunately, no Xig ou IFX are available at my local vendor and ordering from US is not an option due to excessive taxing (78% over total item price, including shipping).

    I'm stuck with these 3 options. Z600 seems to perform better than 212 when 12cm fans are fitted, and Akasa 967 looks even better on Frostytech.
     
  11. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    I have the Z600 and it runs my quad passive and I've never hit temps over 55C.

    How much for each? Also the Coolermaster comes with a Blue led fan, what now Alaska!
     
  12. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Price is a matter for me. I've just upgraded my PSU, Case and VGA, wasn't expecting to buy another CPU cooler too.

    CM 212 -> USD68
    AK-967 -> USD90
    CM Z600 -> USD100

    I wish I lived somewhere colder than here. Temps around 22C night, 28C day, sometimes topping 32C...

    mlee49, many thanks for all your help, both regarding cooling and 4830!
     
  13. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Damn! That Z600 is 100USD!!! :twitch:

    I say go with the Alaska and save the extra $. You could get the 212 and sacrifice a few degrees under load. I say if you have the $ and your case will fit the Hyper go for it, you wont be disappointed! :rockout:

    Maybe check online to see if you can pick one up used and who will ship to Brazil.
     
    shakaxd says thanks.
  14. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Thanks again!

    I've just ordered the Akasa 967, it should be home by next wednesday. I truly hope it obliterates what my MaxOrb is doing (or failing to do), otherwise I'll be pretty much in trouble with my wife! :laugh:

    As soon as it gets there I'll run a set of benchmarks and post it here!
     
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    akasa 967?? Never heard of that. Hope it performs well.
     
  16. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    You can check it at FrostyTech's top air coolers rank, 8th placed on performance and 10th on low-noise. That was the best I could afford at local shops without selling one of my kidneys :)
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  17. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    PC as is today

    Just a few pictures I took this morning from my PC. Extra cabling from PSU was put between DVD burner and HDD cage to minimize effect on airflow. A 8cm exhaust is also used on top because 12cm would not fit with MaxOrb there.

    As you can see I still have room for an extra 12cm at front and another 12cm on the side panel. Would be a good idea to use them? I mean, I know almost nothing about the whole air pressure thing and I believe it is slightly negative at the moment.:confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    no opinions? :(
     
  19. vnvnvn2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    4830 is a little better than the 8800GT. If his X2 is overclocked to 3-3.2 it would still handle it pretty well.

    My past setup was an X2 at 3GHz + 9600GT. Outside of benchmarking, I saw no noticeable gains when I switched to an E8400. The 9600GT doesn't trail much behind an 8800GT so he should be fine as long as he's overclocked to at least 3GHz.

    My 9600GT maxed out nearly everything at 1280x1024, and I even finished Crysis Warhead on a mix of Gamer/Enthusiast settings. The 4830 should be able to play at that res very well.
     
  20. inf3rno

    inf3rno New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    411 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    You have managed your casing well with non-modular cabling. Your overclocking is impressive but I won't like the Temps in 60s.

    At TPU forum I don't remember the name of the guy who pushed his XFX 4830 too far than yours. I don't think 680 for clock speed is your limit or it could differ from vendor to vendor.
     
  21. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Thanks!

    I've seen a lot of reviews on Sapphire 4830 and most of them get stable OC around 690 on core and 1030~1180 on memory, whereas I can manage 680/980, but I think it's enough for me. These clocks grant me a linear improvement when I OC my CPU and my worries are over temps, as you saw it exceeds 70C easily today. My Ak-967 should arrive tonight and within a few days (AS5 curing) I'll be able to check real differences between it and MaxOrb.

    Thank you all for your concern and opinions!
     
  22. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    OMFG!

    I've just installed the AK-967 and I can tell it makes a HUGE difference!

    Here are two OCCT images from the same test under similar temperature conditions, one with the old MaxOrb I took a few days ago and a new one from AK-967 (with AS-5 less than 10 minutes old).

    Tomorrow I'll OC the Q6600 and see what difference it makes. BTW, it's really silent even at full speed!
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page