1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Q9300 on P5E

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by lukesky, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. lukesky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    My system config is:

    Q9300
    P5E X38
    4X1 GB Crucial Ballistix 8500
    ASUS 4850
    Arctic Cooling 7 Pro

    I'm hoping to get 3.5 GHZ.

    Right now, I have the Q9300 clocked at 430X7.5 at 333 strap.


    I bumped up the FSB to 430, I can't pass Prime95 further than this. Edit: This configuration is longer be prime stable. Maybe the AUTO function just changed the voltage.
    Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
    CPU Ratio Control : Manual
    - Ratio CMOS Setting : 7.5
    FSB Frequency : 430
    FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
    PCI-E Frequency: 100
    DRAM Frequency: 1033
    DRAM Command Rate : 2t
    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    CAS# Latency : 5
    RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
    RAS# Precharge : 5
    RAS# ActivateTime : 15
    RAS# to RAS# Delay : AUTO
    Row Refresh Cycle Time : AUTO
    Write Recovery Time : AUTO
    Read to Precharge Time : AUTO

    Read to Write Delay (S/D) : AUTO
    Write to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
    Write to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
    Read to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
    Read to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
    Write to Write Delay (S) : AUTO
    Write to Write Delay (D) : AUTO
    DRAM Static Read Control: AUTO
    Ai Clock Twister : AUTO
    Transaction Booster : AUTO
    Boost Level :0
    CPU Voltage : 1.300(highest I've tried)
    CPU PLL Voltage : AUTO
    North Bridge Voltage : AUTO
    DRAM Voltage : 2.2v
    FSB Termination Voltage : AUTO
    South Bridge Voltage : AUTO
    Loadline Calibration : Enabled
    CPU GTL Reference : .AUTO
    North Bridge GTL Reference : AUTO
    SB 1.5V Voltage : AUTO

    CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled

    CPUID 1.275 idle and 1.24V load on CPU-Z.

    When I try to increase Nbridge voltage or PLL, I can't boot at all. I read in a review once that this board got up to 500FSB on a quad without increasing any other voltages except CPU.


    I helped my friend get to 3.5GHZ on a P35 DS3R before, so I'm hoping to get the same or even better.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2008
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  2. MoeDaKilla

    MoeDaKilla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I have same board, can you post the rest of your settings include RAM timings and other voltage settings as well. I have gotten a Q9450 stable 3.53 GHz at 445 FSB but it was very difficult.
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  3. lukesky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  4. MoeDaKilla

    MoeDaKilla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Yeah I flashed my BIOS to Rampage but kept getting BSOD's. If you plan to take that route I suggest a fresh install of Windows will most likely save you the headache of lookin at BSOD's. But, now I flashed back to original BIOS and was able to get up to 440 FSB. I change CPU GTL Reference to .63 and NB Reference to .67. Try givin it a little bit more voltage on the Vcore, try to stay under 1.38 though. Try settin strap to auto and run RAM with 5-5-5-12 timings in 1:1 Ratio with FSB for now. See how that works then work on oc'ing RAM cuz that is very easy to do once you are Prime stable
  5. lukesky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Wierd. Last night the above configuration with the AUTOs was still prime stable. When I reboot again, it fails Prime95 first second. Maybe the AUTO function just changed the voltage.

    I'll try giving CPU GTL Reference to .63 and NB Reference to .67. I'll let you know how it goes..
    Thanks
  6. lukesky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Wierd.. now I can't even boot into windows Vista on stock. Registry file is corrupted. I'll try reinstallting Vista X86 instead of X64.
  7. lukesky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I bumped up the FSB to 430, I can't pass Prime95 further than this.
    Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
    CPU Ratio Control : Manual
    - Ratio CMOS Setting : 7.5
    FSB Frequency : 430
    FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
    PCI-E Frequency: 100
    DRAM Frequency: 1033
    DRAM Command Rate : 2t
    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    CAS# Latency : 5
    RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
    RAS# Precharge : 5
    RAS# ActivateTime : 15
    RAS# to RAS# Delay : AUTO
    Row Refresh Cycle Time : AUTO
    Write Recovery Time : AUTO
    Read to Precharge Time : AUTO

    Read to Write Delay (S/D) : AUTO
    Write to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
    Write to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
    Read to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
    Read to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
    Write to Write Delay (S) : AUTO
    Write to Write Delay (D) : AUTO
    DRAM Static Read Control: AUTO
    Ai Clock Twister : AUTO
    Transaction Booster : AUTO
    Boost Level :0
    CPU Voltage : 1.300(highest I've tried)
    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.56
    North Bridge Voltage : 1.45
    DRAM Voltage : 2.2v
    FSB Termination Voltage : 1.32
    South Bridge Voltage : AUTO
    Loadline Calibration : Disabled
    CPU GTL Reference : .0.63X
    North Bridge GTL Reference : 0.67X
    SB 1.5V Voltage : AUTO

    CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled

    CPUID 1.275 idle and 1.24V load on CPU-Z.
  8. MoeDaKilla

    MoeDaKilla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Did you try keeping strap to auto and running RAM at 1:1 speed. It will give you lower RAM speeds but try it and keep timings at 5-5-5-12. Try to give it a little more voltage see what 1.33 will give you. Increase FSB termination voltage about .4 more then CPU PLL voltage also by like .4 and try increasing NB voltage to 1.5. If the cooling in your case os good you need not worry about NB and FSB termination voltages that much. But as i said before dont go overboard.
  9. i_dog_69

    i_dog_69 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    73 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    just saw the post, i have had similar problems when OC'ing my q9300 past 400FSB on my maximus formula, which is a similar board. i will try the settings you showed, but my ram is haveing a hard tim OC i will check my settings and pst when i get home tonight.
  10. amajmon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have Q9300 on DFI X48 T2R but I overclock it only on 3000 Mhz without increase voltage default is 1,2200V just put fsb on 400 mhz whit mem 1:1 ratio. I wait for water cooling for higher clock. Something overclock depends about cpu itself.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page