1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Radeon 6950 - what's the best you can get?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jonathan1107, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    one superquick question, when I download msi ab, I get to files

    1 is called afterburner setup and the other is called kombustor setup....

    what's kombuster?
     
  2. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    what is your voltage for you card? and I have 2 setup files when I download MSi ab... one's called afterburner setup and the other is called kombustor setup

    do I need to install both?
     
  3. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    in order to run msi AB do I have to shutdown CCC processes?
     
  4. TimoX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    it's up to you.
    My recommendation is to tweak/adjust anything in CCC you need to, then disable it from startup, reboot, then it won't be running and you can do everything with AB.
     
    jonathan1107 says thanks.
  5. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    I see there's a "shader clock speed" option in MSI AB... Do I leave that greyed out or am I to unlock it and adjust it?
     
  6. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    oops... one little problem... MSI AB doesn't let me overclock my clock speeds further than the 6950 overdrive defaults (840/1325) why is that?
     
  7. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    could that be because CCC is running?
     
  8. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    With a 6950 modded bios which only has the unlocked shaders... Is it possible to raise the clock speeds higher than the CCC overdrive default limits for the radeon 6950???

    After unlocking the radeon 6950 (via modded bios) I tried MSI afterburner to raise my clocks a little higher than the stock max (840/1325), but I can't because the slider won't let me go further in AB...

    Must I mod the Bios again but this time via RBE, in order to change the clock limits??? pls help
     
  9. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    900 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    This guy clearly doesn't know how to use RBE and should not be using it at all. Everything he's said so far pertaining to RBE has been FUD.

    It's exactly as I said before, DO NOT use RBE to find your overclock. EVER! If you flash settings too high or too low, you won't be able to boot into windows. (and no, it has nothing to do with the driver reading the signature in BIOS; sometimes you need to reinstall the driver after a flash, but the card should still boot to windows if your clock, voltage, and fan settings are right - that is, as long as the card isn't overheating, overclocked beyond stability, overvolted, etc.

    This is why I said earlier to ALWAYS use software (MSI AB or other) to find your final stable overclock (RBE edits the Firmware of the card, and hence is not a purely software solution. It changes the programming on the card, or at least the programming on the card is changed when you flash the BIOS file to the card). After that's done, and you're sure it's 100% safe and stable, only then should you EVER touch RBE. Even then you need to check and doublecheck that you've changed the settings correctly before you flash, or when you restart, the card won't work (bricked).

    It is, of course, 100% safe to use RBE to read about how the card is currently set up. In fact you can change anything you want, and nothing is done to the card whatsoever until you flash the card (this is when the changes are applied to the BIOS in the card itself, and if the settings are wrong - boy are you in trouble. Even if you flash the card and it seems like everything is fine, you won't know until you reboot, that's when the card reads its bios chip and applies the settings you've programmed into it)



    Kombustor is a stress test I believe, haven't used it myself.



    Edit button mate, don't double post. ;)


    No. Having both CCC itself (specifically the overdrive section) open while AB is running can cause issues, though. There are specific reasons to disable CCC's background processes if you're attempting to do some odd things, but for what you're doing, you should be fine.

    Unless the 6XXX series is different than all previous ATi cards (and they could be), then Shader clocks are locked to core clock and cannot be adjusted seperately like on nVidia cards.

    There's a *.ini file setting that you need to change, I don't remember what exactly, google it for the exact steps.

    Use the edit button, again. This doesn't need to be a separate post, and no, CCC won't interfere with that (in my experience)

    No, it can be done that way, but there's just a single setting in Afterburner's files that you need to change. Repeatedly reposting a reworded version of the same thing you asked before is just going to piss people off who are trying to help you. Edit the original question to add your expanded query.

    ALSO MSI AB does not alter the BIOS is any way, neither does the graphics driver, or CCC. I'm not sure if you meant you thought that they did, or just were talking about when you unlocked your shaders. It's important to know the difference.



    Learn to use the edit button to add to your previous posts, or you'll have the righteous fury of the moderators raining down on you soon :rolleyes:
    From the stickied rules post at the top of this forum: I've highlighted the specific issues I see here.
    Also, you have two threads running about the same issues. That's a big no-no. It's polite to not hijack someone else's thread about a similar subject, but running two of your own is generally taboo unless they are about significantly different issues
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  10. TimoX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Really?

    The OP doesn't understand things as it is, and now you are giving him more bad advice???

    First, I told him NOT to touch clocks in RBE.
    Second YES, it does have to do with digital signatures and how the driver reads them:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137780
    post #6.
    This is straight from the man who wrote RBE.
    Here's the quote:"I'm sorry I have to contradict: RBE v1.27 will (hopefully) support voltage control for 69x0 cards (among other things), but clock setting is still an issue because ATI introduced a new nagging BIOS clocking protection into their drivers. "

    Not only that, I've tested the specific driver file that handles that and confirmed it. Plus without the atikmdag.sys driver installed, I can change clocks in RBE and get into windows, but the minute that driver file is installed, even manually without any other software, it cause windows to hang because of a mismatch.
    I've even dropped an older version of atikmdag.sys into the install folder for the 11.4 drivers and got a full install and boot into windows with clocks tweaked in RBE because that file didn't recognize the 6950 card, but since it didn't recognize it, it didn't allow 3D apps to run.

    Not too mention you're unfamiliar with Kombuster, weren't quite sure about the shader slider on 6xxx cards, and didn't quite know what steps were needed to even unlock the .cfg file, not .ini file for AB.

    But hey, since I don't seem to know much, come here and take over:rolleyes:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=141858
     
  11. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    alright, so if I don't get this right, I'm supposed to toy with a .cfg file to unlock the sliders in MSI AB? any chance someone knows which one?

    And thx for all the info, I wish I could just get myself another 6950 and crossfire, and we wouldn't even be talking about this... But I'm a guy who likes to get the most out of his buck...

    and in this case, those video cards aren't free. So when I heard I could get a performance out of my 6950 that almost matches the 6970, I was really glad. But the more I read and ask questions about the 6950 overclocking methods... the more I get confused and more importantly... scared that the little bit of extra performance I would get would cost hardware life expectancy :O)

    I'm not about to play with my 6950 bios... Unlocking the shaders seems enough. I could overclock like crazy, but I've seen that screenshot of your Fan Curve timox and tried it, and OMG the fan is so noisy... Obviously, this might have to do with the fact that's it getting hotter where I live... close to 26 degrees celsius in my office...

    well, for now I'll stick to CCC overdrive. I'll do some more reading about how to unlock those mhz/mhz clocks without having to turn the earth over lolzzz
     
  12. nvmc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  13. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    900 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Ok. So I was wrong in this specific case. Acknowledged.

    All previous experience, and indeed; instructions, guides, and knowledge passed forth from BAGZZlash himself have said otherwise. This is a new issue, which I was not aware of, and in this case I am wrong. There have been changes (ri-god-damn-diculous changes if you ask me) to the way the driver handles the BIOS signature. Changes which have happened for a card generation I do not own. Thanks for providing source, and solid info.


    1: I'm unfamiliar with Kombuster because I don't use the damn software. What does that have to do with the issue about RBE? I don't even use MSI afterburner at all apart from a couple times I needed it for troubleshooting. I did say I didn't know since I hadn't used it, and made no attempt to provide knowledge I don't have about it.

    2. Wasn't sure about the shaders... Again, I don't own a 6xxx series, and I said so, and have made no attempt to appear as if I know something I don't. Everything I said is true related to this. I said UNLESS the 6XXX series is different... in other words: I don't know for sure, someone who does know please chime in.

    3. *.cfg vs *.ini Really? They're the same thing programmatically. It's a text based settings file read at run time. See #1. I provided enough info for him to figure it out. Where were you with the instructions to help?

    I'm not an idiot, I was ignorant of a *new* issue on cards I don't own. In this case I was wrong, you were right. It would have been nice if you had provided that source for why he shouldn't be playing with RBE at the start, for his benefit and mine as well as anyone arriving here from google, instead of waiting for me to call you out on it and then being argumentative about it.

    Your point's been made. I've acknowledged it. Let's move on.
     
  14. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    One more question: What are safe temps for Radeon 6950?

    I've heard different opinions... I know that the CCC automatic fan mode tends to get aggressive when the card reaches the 102 celsius degrees...

    VERY IMPORTANT: Keep in mind this is a 6950 radeon... Please don't give me advice if you don't have solid knowledge of this card in particular...

    I try to stay below the 80 degrees. But I've heard that damage to the card could start around 90 degrees... Is this correct???
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,495 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,904
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No, it is NOT correct, or my card would be dead. Normal load temps are 90c, fan will spin up faster @ 90c, then spin back down when temps hit 89c, but it doesn't even go "full fanspeed" until like 100c.

    Usualy ASIC temp max is about 105c. Card will throttle if it's reaching "dangerous" temps.
     
  16. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    Gigabyte 6950 w/unlocked shaders
    900/1375 @ stock voltage w/fan set to 50%
    In games I've never seen it above 68c, in furmark it peaks at 72c.

    I haven't tried for higher yet.... Maybe once Rift slows down.
     
  17. drys666 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  18. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,141 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    WA
    I've successfully OC'ed my 6950's by reading this post. Thank a lot you guys!

    and for those who does not know how to unlock OC in MSI's AB, followe these steps:

     
  19. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    921 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Sigh...
    warup89, you don't need to enable that if you use the RacerX tool that I listed "To bypass CCC limits" in post #2 of this thread.
     
  20. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,141 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    WA
    Oh I know, right now though, I'm just trying to find out the best OC I can get trough AB, after that I will use that tool to keep like firm. A thing that concerns me though, is that I'm also modifying the core voltage and I think the only way to keep that is trough BIOS.
     
  21. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    921 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Okay, that's the same thing I did. However, you should know that some people are getting less stability when they remove CCC limits using AfterBurner.
    Please can you clarify the highlighted text because I'm not following.
     
  22. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok, guys I'm back after some more reading and understanding on how the 6950 works. Thx for all your tips up to now...

    Now... what I need to clarify with yall is "how to unlock the 6950 speed and voltages" (without flashing my card to the 6970 bios).

    Inferknox, you've listed some links for this. Thank you very much :O) I would like to know what you guys have done to unlock the speed and voltages. I've heard of a lot of different ways...

    Also, I would like to know if any of you have had permanent damage to your cards since you've started tweaking and overclocking them pls.

    Thx for eveything guys, really appreciate it
     
  23. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    694 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    dude, the best way to oc your card is through ccc.
    change the limits with the asus tool or the other mentioned earlier.
    i personally flashed an asus bios and used their tool to change max oc,then promptly uninstalled it.
    and to finish, i installed rbe and edited the voltage +.125...done....

    never need to use any software other than ccc.....no messing about... been stable since release on true 6970....
    good luck...
     
  24. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,141 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    WA
    Hey guys, Im having a bit of a problem with my OC, I used MSI AB but when i set to OC at start up my PC will BSOD. I also tried the CCC fix to OC via overdrive but it only changes the slider limits for one card, and I have to set my voltage trough the card's BIOS, so I guess it would require a flash.

    Instead of having this unstable software OC, could I just mod my bios trough RBE and flash my cards back with the modded clocks? do you guys recommend this?

    -PS I already found my stable settings [950/1350 1.25]

    EDIT:
    I haven't used RBE in a while, but I do know the basics.

    -Can I just changed the 3D settings?

    -Is that the only voltage setting I have to worry about and can I just type "1.250"?

    -Can I use the Look up table in the Fan settings to set a custom fan profile?
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2011
  25. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,846 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,031
    If you already found a stable overclock, why need to change anything? If MSI AB gives a bsod when you apply an overclock, uninstall MSI AB fully, reboot, and reinstall.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page