1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking the AMD FX 8350 to 5ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Simmyen, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    509 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    UK
    Oh yes... I forgot they'd recently released that. The D15 is better, so go for it instead of the D14 if you want to. I mean the D15 is taller, but you're planned new case would definitely fit it. By the way, you can multi-quote and edit posts, instead of double posting. Some people can get very annoyed with double posting to warn you ;)

    In terms of your specs, I can't see any other improvements screaming out at me. Apart from a better CPU cooler of course. Any other recommendations people on coolers?

    Layton
     
  2. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,009 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Well if money is not a problem for air cooling I would recommend the NH-D15 or the NH-u14s. Both are awesome.
     
  3. aquaraider11

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So i have upgraded my system .
    Now it is as I planned to get +the fractal design define r4 case

    Stock cooler in fx8350 is HORRIBLE and it's smaller than my previous one (phenom ii x2 B55) Stock cooler.
     
  4. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    509 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    UK
    Did you not upgrade the CPU cooler in the end?
     
  5. aquaraider11

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I will upgrade it but not at same time without cpu MoBo and case.
     
  6. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    541 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    dont oc with stock heat sink.
    and you may want to add a fan to your vrm mosfets too.
     
  7. aquaraider11

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I never said i was going to OC with Stock heatsink.
    I said that i m going to buy my CPU cooler laiter, and THEN i m going to overclock.
     
  8. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    509 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    UK
    Feel free to come back when you have the money/desire to buy a CPU cooler - we'd be happy to give some up to date information on the best coolers in the future.
    Meanwhile, enjoy your upgrades! :toast:

    Layton
     
    aquaraider11 says thanks.
  9. aquaraider11

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ill do!
     
  10. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    With my Fx8350 it wasn't overclocking but over cooking! :roll:
     
  11. aquaraider11

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Think about AMD FX-9590 Thats the cookker not 8350 :)
     
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,466 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Cant remember did you watercool or air cool it?.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  13. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    720 of rad space just on the CPU, low ambient and it still nearly hit max.

    Also had my entire loop I'm ice, which still got warm. Especially at 5.8ghz lol
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  14. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,009 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    4.8 or 5.8?
     
  15. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    5.8 benching or close to 5.8?!

    They'll be on hwbot
     
  16. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,466 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    What cpu waterblock did you use for that rig please d1nky im only asking because I'm waying up my own options for high 24/7 clocks 5ghz+
    I have 720s worth of ra d space but a crap waterblock fitted atm
     
    More than 25k PPD
  17. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    Just the copper xspc block, nothing special. I've read the reviews on most blocks and when it was first out it was pretty well performing. Probably the reason I haven't dropped a ton on a new one.

    Also hooked up another 360, so have 360 x2 and a 240. I don't even need all the fans running to keep my 3770k under 60c 4.7ghz lol
     
  18. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Block will not have as much impact as amount of rad. As long as it's a relatively decent block, you'll be fine. I'm still using my old Enzotech Sapphire block and I can do 5 gig + all day long.
     
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,466 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I hope that depends upon just how bad the block is , im using a Thelmaltake big copper thing with a single big bent groove channel its not good enough in heat dissipation terms into the water
     
    More than 25k PPD
  20. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,323
    That's why I went for more rad instead of better blocks.

    May experiment with a new one some day!
     
  21. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Yes. You need a better block. ;)
     
  22. aquaraider11

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Me here again!
    So now I have my case, cooler and CPU and couple extra fans in case and 1 extra in the cooler.
    I'll update my profile for parts that I have and now I would be asking tips to get most out of my chip.
    I'll actually get the chip tomorrow but I'll ask tips first as no one is going to respond instantly.
     
  23. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,809 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Good luck, and remember take the OC slow and steady.
     
  24. aquaraider11

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm, I know this is propably not right thread but why is it physically that if I overclock few MHz at time and try in between I get higher end result than just straight putting correct values in for the end result?
    I know that that sentence does not make any sense by itself but I hope that you understand the question.

    Basically why I get higher clock by overclockking with smaller increments compared to larger ones?
     
  25. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,809 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    It's like buying a new car and breaking it in on the freeway for example. You need to take it slow and steady.

    You don't just floor the Gas pedal and hear the engine RoR right. If you do, the car will feel sluggish. This is a fact. Unless you plan on racing i tand pocess the high end engine part

    Patients will gain you a stable OC. I've done this all the time, with success.
     
    aquaraider11 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page