1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking the phenom II 940

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by servermonkey, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    i just wanted to start this thred before kei did! mine should arrive later today!

    ps kei i <3 u
    Kei says thanks.
  2. ASharp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    lol...can't wait to see what you come up with. :) Although I might be looking forward to Kei's post more since if I'm not mistaken, he's grabbing a 920.
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  4. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    wooooo hooooo....
    it is here!
    installing it now and will be posting pics.
  5. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,234 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    cant wait!
  6. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Hope ur's can do 1.5V 4GHz!!
  7. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    :eek:


    oem.....
    [​IMG]

    woo hooo
    more to come
  8. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    oc'd via cpu multi

    200x16@auto volts
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    200x16.5@auto volts
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    200x17@auto volts
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    more tomorrow....css time!

    200x17.5@1.3875
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
    Kei says thanks.
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nice results so far as it looks like you have picked up over 400mhz on stock voltages. Can't wait to get mine, hopefully I can crack 4ghz since I got water coolage :)
  10. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I am very impressed with these new chips. Once they drop in price, I will probably jump back over. Impressive clocks on such low volts, I am curious to see how far it goes.
  11. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    200x18@1.3875(bios) 1.392 (cpuz and hwmonitor)
    [​IMG]
    *almost stable..... :D
  12. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    200x17@auto was the highest i went last night (only the cpu multi and mem volts werent oem).
  13. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    I just saw this thread today and you actually made me laugh until my eyes watered. :roll:

    THANK YOU SOOOOOOO MUCH for that :p
    -------------------------------------------------------------

    That said I did think about starting this thread already just like the otherone naming it something about low voltage clocks on the Phenom II's don't care which model...then again on the other thread I told everyone it's for all Phenom's regardless of model.

    Anyway I've got my Phenom II 920 and while I haven't went deep into any overclocking yet I did dabble last night though it's all Chicken Patty's fault, that's my reason and I'm sticking to it.

    I put the voltage 1 tick up from stock and just only adjusted the HT Bus speed up after dropping the other settings down for ram/northbridge/ht link. I relaxed the timings on everything as well and went until I got tired since it was late. I never found a problem during this time and never found the max speed either.

    It's going damn good though especially for a locked multiplier cpu...3.4Ghz and I haven't found a ceiling yet. I haven't adjusted the voltage yet because I'm not gonna get into it until I have some new ram since I'm running a mix ram right now which isn't a good thing and can cause conflicts.

    Maybe I'll try to go higher still without changing voltage or anything today. Btw, I'm not using my Xigmatek/Scythe combo air cooler setup yet this is all tested with the box stock heatsink and fan. Max temp under wPrime was 42C which I'd say it's pretty darn good :p

    Kei

    ps monkey i <3 u

    Attached Files:

    servermonkey says thanks.
  14. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    And oh yea.......holy heaven those are some sweet clocks! :eek:
    servermonkey says thanks.
  15. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Gave it a quick try again

    I bumped up the voltage to something higher but still not too high since it's the stock cooler still.

    So far I've got....well click it and you'll see ;)

    I know it can go further and I'm still on the stock cooler. I've still gotta adjust the rest of the system to see how high it can really go and actually get serious. More to come eventually but it's going pretty damn good already. :D

    I think I could take it up higher still, but I've got to go so I'm done trying for now.

    Kei

    Attached Files:

    • 3700.jpg
      3700.jpg
      File size:
      42.6 KB
      Views:
      192
  16. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Oh yea I forgot to say that I got 3.5Ghz to boot just fine still at the same 1.376v that I used last night and 3.6Ghz made it to the welcome screen before the system reset (no bsod). Then I just cranked up the voltage to whatever number I chose in that shot as I don't remember I just clicked up a few times.

    Kei
  17. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    i totally agree! i saw the wprime taunt..... :roll::roll:


    nice clock :respect

    3.5 booted up for me as well, on stock 1.36 volts, it was when i ran prime that one of the threads kept on erroring. i bumped it up to 1.3875 in the bios, and it will run prime all day w/ those settings.

    i am gonna try to crank it up a few more later when it cools down......................
    Kei says thanks.
  18. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    oc'd via fsb

    220x15@1.376
    [​IMG]

    230x15@1.376
    [​IMG]

    240x15@1.408 :D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
    Kei says thanks.
  19. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
  20. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I didn't realise these Phenoms would overclock so high. On par with Intels Nahalem. The previous Phenoms didn't overclock well right?
    Darren says thanks.
  21. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    You can call me impressed. That is a great clock at pretty low voltages. Even my E5200 can't run 3900 at that kind of volts. Seems like you have a really good clocker there.
  22. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    One more for you monkey before I put my Xigmatek back on. I'm still running the stock heatsink/fan combo so the voltage is higher than what it would normally need to keep these stable.

    Anyway, the PII 920 is doing extremely well even with the locked multiplier. Sadly I won't be able to go over 3.71Ghz (well 3.724Ghz) because I've hit the max the board will allow for the HT Bus speed which is 266Mhz. It was the same with my previous Phenom 9850BE so it's not a surprise I just forgot that the board will go no further no matter what I do (even with only an 8x multiplier). Sucks that the northbridge multiplier is locked too so I can't get the max performance out of this chip only being able to do a max of a little over 2.3Ghz Northbridge due to the locked multiplier. My previous Phenom didn't have that lock so I could go above 2.5Ghz with ease...best northbridge I've seen on a PII is 2.954Ghz so I'm really missing out on that until I get a new board where I can go higher on the bus speeds.

    Either way I'd say that 3.7Ghz is pretty freaking great for a stock heatsink/fan combo!

    Here is what I'm going to tweak into my max power overclock though of course I'll still run my low power setting everyday unless I need it). Low power setting is 2.8Ghz @ 1.20v

    High power is screenshot

    Kei

    Attached Files:

  23. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    Kei says thanks.
  24. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Very nice.:toast:
    servermonkey says thanks.
  25. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Dayumn! You are gonna make me be stupid and buy a new board before the AM3 boards/chips come out just so I can get a higher bus speed and keep clocking!

    Awesome clock monkey! :respect:

    Kei
    Darren says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page