1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking X2 comparisons

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by AsphyxiA, Jan 6, 2006.

  1. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    632 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    just wondering what kind of clocks people are getting on A64 X2 with air cooling! specifically people with 4200+ and similar system specs as myself. What kind of voltages are you using, HTT multiplier settings? Gimme lots of specifics or if you could, refer me to a site that has these.
     
  2. Katana New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hya AsphyxiA

    4200+ running at 2706mhz@1.536 volts:D ...no probs here
    temps around 28c idle 45c load...
    could prob push further but im waitng till i upgrade my crappy memory:banghead:
    for some nice gskill:D ..

    hope this helps

    Katana
     
  3. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    I have a 4400+ that does 2500MHz (250x10) at 1.45V (max voltage allowed by A8N-SLI Premium with latest BIOS) with the XP-120 and a really slow fan, 55-60C max load. One core is stable at higher overclocks like 2600MHz but the one core simply will not go past 2500 and pass OCCT and dual Prime95.
     
  4. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL

    my next cpu will be a 4400 , give ems pecs on how your games a re running , and can u really burn a dvd and play onlien games at the same time ??? :D
     
  5. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Well, I went from a 3000+ to a 4400+ with an X850XT-PE helping both CPUs out and I have to say the X850 pretty much does all the work because my Doom 3 / BF2 framerates did not really improve much after the switch. Unfortunately I don't have any hard numbers but my playable setting of 1280x1024 with 2xAA did not change after I upgraded the CPU.

    I just basically bought it because I wanted to go to a 1MB cache CPU and the 4400+ was not much more than the 3700+ and it's 2 of them on one chip! Also in the future more apps will be written with dual core in mind (hopefully).

    But yeah it multi-tasks like a dream, my computer is never slow to do anything, games load fast (except BF2 but that's because I only have 1GB of RAM), it boots fast and I just never have to wait for it. It really has spoiled me though because the computers at work with a Sempron 2400+ (socket A) with 512MB of RAM seem really slow by comparison.
     
  6. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    sweet , i think if u increased your ram , your dual core output would definately increase ! ;)
     
  7. Amdguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    144 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    I have an x2 with the stock cooler, what do you guys think i could achieve with that ?`
     
  8. Katana New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Should prob reach 2.5 ish at the very least maybe even 2.6:D
    although the 4400 is not the most renowned overclocking chip around,
    a few peeps on the dfi-street forums have encountered probs with them...
    try n see how far u can overclock with upto 1.55 vcore n post back here...

    cya

    Katana
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page