1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overheating Issue, I Think.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AM4A1, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. AM4A1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    I have this problem with my computer where it restarts by itself. i think it is a overheating issue, so therefore i am going to buy a new cpu cooler instead of using the stock one, a new psu if i need one cause i might buy a 8800 GTS, and i might get a 160GB harddrive from my friend which makes me think that the psu in my current system won't be enough. I already uploaded my report from Everest. I hope you guys can solve my issue and Thank you in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What power supply you running?
     
  3. AM4A1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    i think it's a 400W.
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Got to be more specific than that. Do you know what the amp ratings are on it?
     
  5. AM4A1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    where can i find out by using the program Everest?
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Get us some ratings off the sticker on it. Everest wont be able to tell you the amp ratings of the psu or the model.


    EDIT:Are you sure you got an 8800 installed?

    Cause I found this:
    Display:
    Video Adapter RADEON 9250 - Secondary (128 MB)
    Video Adapter RADEON 9250 (128 MB)
    3D Accelerator ATI Radeon 9250 (RV280)
    Monitor Sceptre X5S-Naga (12473488)

    In your report, if that is true then you will have to do a driver clean and that MAY get rid of all your problems.
     
  7. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    you can take the cover off you pc case, and look at the label on the PSU

    GAH! you beat me to it JrRacinFan! :(
     
  8. AM4A1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Driver clean? and for the psu amps what type of numbers am i looking for, output, input, max?
    Edit: wait i didn't say taht i have one, i said that i was going to buy a 8800GTS
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Like, on the sticker it will say 12v @ 13A, something of that nature.

    But according to that you have/had a radeon 9250 installed.

    Yah I now fully read you total OP. I really truly think you will need a new psu. But please confirm what it states on the sticker so myself and otherscan help.
     
  10. AM4A1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    +5V & +3.3V combined 255W, +5V & +3.3V & 12V combined 380W. Total Output 400W.
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hmmm sounds like its around 14a-16a.

    I would say look around for a new psu with I would say at least 35a on the 12V.
     
  12. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    There should be a sticker on your PSU listing your amps.
     
  13. AM4A1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Output:
    +3.3V | 28A
    +5V | 30A
    +12V | 20A
    -12V | 0.8A
    +5VSB | 2A
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2007
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    you need a new psu for a 8800gts,for sure.20A on the 12v rail is woefully inadequate.

    you need a better quality psu like,seasonic or enermax etc

    also take the side off your case and look at you cpu cooler and see if it is clogged with dust.it might solve the overheating issue.
     
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Brand? If it is something you get with a case than you need it out of there ASAP if it is a name brand computer (HP,Dell,etc) than you maybe having a problem with it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I got a 10c drop in temps by just cleaning my HSF.So that could be a problem.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. AM4A1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    i see that there is dust in the cpu cooler but i clean it often and the computer still restarts on its own. i have a atx mobo and i don't know how to buy parts so can you guys recommend me a psu?
     
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have had problems with restarting before my Hiper died. After i got the new one i haven't had the restarts. So it could be the PSU.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    It could be something dieing, probably psu You're better off with a whole new system. What's your budget and do you live in the USA?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. AM4A1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    New York, NY
    well i have around 1k (which i was saving for a macbook) and i live in new york.
     
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sounds good. Are you keeping your case and 5.25" drives or no?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    This is what i would get
    CPU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115030

    mobo
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128047

    Video card
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125050

    PSU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817233001

    RAM
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227090

    That would give you some good FPS in games.I would also get a good HSF and overclock the hell out of that C2D maybe Vista if you are wanting DX10 games.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    that would be a nice machine,pos pc :)
     
  24. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I like Okia, Antec or Allied..
     
  25. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    fixed

    Well actually Allied is decent but not quality like seasonic and the like. I had a 300W 10A Allied power supply pushing a 120GB HDD, 2 5.25" drives, PNY 5200Ultra overclocked, p4 2.8Ghz Prescott and 2x512mb Crucial Ballistix DDR400 (2.8v) for a long time with no issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page