1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

P3 478 socket to P4

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by stupidbiznitch9, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I have an old laptop WITH socket 478 (P3) and was wondering if i could possibly upgrade it to a p4, it has SD ram, but some of my p4 skt 478 have SD ram any ways....
    Its a Dell 4100 with a P3 1.0GHz skt478....i THINK it should be possible i just need comfirmation before i take the ENTIRE thing apart...and the 4150 have P4's in them....so wouldn't just be pop one out pop the other one in......??
     
  2. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    It's not 100% guaranteed, but there is still a chance. You need to look at the chipset and see if it's compatible with Pentium 4s. It might only support Willamette if it does support P4s. In addition, Dell might not have put a Pentium 4 compatible BIOS in so it might not recognize the P4. Make sure it's updated

    I didn't know they made skt478 P3. Learn something new everyday.
     
  3. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Do you know where i could update my bios to a non-dell BIOS???
     
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,080 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    pretty sure you can't change dells bios! only replace it with another updated one from dell!
     
  5. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    well it doesnt matter anyways because the 4100 and the 4150 have different chipsets.....

    4100........830m
    4150........845MP
     
  6. oldswab New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Out of curiosity, what flavor chip are you trying to drop in there?
     
  7. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    any probably a low end p4 at 400MHz nothing fancy.....like 1.6 to 2.0GHz

    and are porbably limited to a willamette
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page