1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

p4 2.4 overclock?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mk_ln, Mar 11, 2006.

1. mk_ln New Member

Thanks Received:
    hi, i was just wondering if it is worth it to overclock my dell 4600 (pll 952601). at first i thought that it wasnt possible to OC my cpu with the mobo i have, however, i came across a method. with all stock hardware and not being able to overclock in the BIOS, is it safe for me to OC my fsb @213 MHz?...i mean, because i cannot lock the AGP and PCI busses and set the dividers, will OCing the fsb mess up anything? (sorry...im new to overclocking :eek:) thanks in advance :)

2. infrared New Member

Thanks Received:
    Sorry, It's not possible to overclock a dell. There's a sticky devoted to telling people this.

3. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

Thanks Received:
    Well, have you tried CPUZ, it has software that lets you increase fsb, agp,pci-e speeds. The only thing is that the results aren't saved. it's more of an On-The-Fly overclocking. BTW it's not CPU-Z it's from the makers of CPU-Z. just search it.

4. mk_ln New Member

Thanks Received:
    thanks for the replies :)

thats what i initially thought as well, however, i came across this. it does actually work, but since it i cant set the dividers for the agp/pci busses i was windering if it was actually worth it to overclock my fsb @213MHz. in doing so, i was able to get my cpu running at about 2.56GHz from stock 2.4GHz. so.....is there any software or anything i can do to make the OC safer? (i.e. lock the AGP/PCI bus speeds or set the dividers). Thanks in advance. :)

5. infrared New Member

Thanks Received:
    Oh, that's cool. I'll need to have a go at that on the family dell downstairs *shudders*

if you increase the fsb slowly, while running a stress testing program like Prime 95, you will see when you have gone slightly too far, as errors will start showing up.