1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] P4 2.6GHz 400FSB

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Arjai, May 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,715
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I want to pimp out my P4 machine with a new CPU. Currently, there is a 1.6 GHz in there and I can only use a 400FSB (or 100 x 4 in reality ) due to my goofy Dublin MoBo. It's old and I think it would work nice as a WCG Cruncher, since it was free and the power supply works!

    Please let me know if you, or anybody you know, is willing to part, cheaply, with a 2.6, or if there are any out there, a 2.8 with a 400FSB.

    Thanks, I look forward to seeing hundreds of posts connected to this! :roll:
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I might have a 2.4/400 at home. I'll check later tonight, and if I do find mine and it doesn't have severely mangled pins I'll let it go for $5 shipped.
     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Socket 478? If so I have one for you.
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  4. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,715
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    478, Yes. PM me with the details. I'll get back to you sometime later, got life to deal with now...:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. TONYSALEM New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    224 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    MI,USA(unfortunately)
    thought i had something for ya, but its a pentium 4 560 1M Cache, 3.60 GHz, 800 MHz FSB which is s775(thought it was 478 as this dell xps gen 3 is ooold)... used to be a bad arse chip back in the day.. good luck with the hunt
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, he's looking for a first generation Northwood to upgrade his Williamette. :)
     
    TONYSALEM says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Ramirez

    Ramirez

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    499 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Murrieta, CA
    I have a P4 478 socket Northwood 3 GHZ CPU but I think it is 800Mhz FSB....check and see if there is a BIOS update to add CPU support.
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,688 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My Northwood motherboard did not support Willamette, yours does?
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  9. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    ok, looks like the only chips i have are 533 or 800
     
  10. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,715
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Been there, done that, No BIOS relief. Sad, I Know! :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,715
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I only know mine is a Dublin. My research on it revealed that it only supports an Intel 400FSB ( 100 x 4 ).

    I'm not sure why it wouldn't support it. Like I said, All I've found is the FSB requirement.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Seeing as he has one of the first socket 478 boards, it's no surprise it came with a Williamette and only supports 400FSB. It's an i845 chipset, but the original SDRAM version from 2001 before they released the DDR version to remain competitive with AMD. Oldest working P4 system I had was a Dell Dimension 4550 with the DDR version i845 and a 2GHz/400 Northwood. That version of the chipset supported 533 FSB though.

    http://www.elhvb.com/mboards/oem/hp/manual/dublin_manual.pdf
     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,715
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    This is an E-machines from somewhere around 2001. A T4160, the 160 I'm sure refers to the 1.6 GHz P4. The RJ45 adapter is AOL, at least Linux Mint doesn't know of it. So, to work around that, I'm looking for a cheap USB WiFi.

    My one lead is still looking for his so, if anybody has one of those... :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,688 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I used to have one of those, those won't upgrade to a northwood. I also know this because I conversely tried to use a 1.8ghz willemette celeron on my northwood board.
     
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    If you look at the document I linked, it has 400 FSB Northwood written all over it. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Celeron 478 2.8Ghz/128/400 any use to you ?
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  17. DM3K

    DM3K

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    239 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Munster, Indiana, USA
    Celeron 2.6ghz / 128 / 400 sl6vv $10 shipped
     
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,688 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You posted no link. :confused:
     
  19. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Post #12:

     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,715
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    " Processors
    · Intel Pentium-4 Processor in the 478 Pin Package/Northwood Processor "

    Straight from the Manual...Jstn had it right. I read that before I posted this Thread. Which is why I want a 2.6 P4 with a 400FSB.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,715
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    The P4 has a 512 cache, which I like better than 128...However, I will keep you guys in mind if I can't find the P4 I want...it's just for a cruncher, but also I'd like to learn a little more about Linux with it. Regardless, both of those are decent chips and I'll let you know what I'm gonna do...but only after this thread dies a bit!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. DM3K

    DM3K

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    239 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Munster, Indiana, USA
    I probably have that exact chip at work, but you would have to pay retail pricing, $26 + shipping.
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL WUT? why would he do that? say 35$ after shipping could get him a nicer Core2Duo chip
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Highest spec P4 478 i have with a FSB of 400 is
    2.2Ghz/512/400
    also got a 2.0Ghz/512/400
    other than that its celeron
    2.6Ghz/128/400 (2)
    2.8Ghz/128/400 (4)
     
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,688 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Have you tried overclocking any of the 2.8ghz celerons? I have a 2.4ghz that will do 2.9, but that is about it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page