1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

P5N32-e SLI booting to Failure, system

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Friendlymonsta, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. Friendlymonsta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, I am having an error with my new P5N32-E Sli 680i. When i turned on the PC for the first time it booted to new CPU installed go to BIOS. When i did that i was able to go to BIOS for 2 minutes then the screen went crazy. It rebooted itself and show grapichal errors all over the screen and then comes to a spot that shows an error that is missing some charcters: (D I _ _) ( _ _ _ T) ( _ A I L U _ E,) (I _ _ E _ T) ( _ Y _ TEM) and goes no fathure. I have removed all devices but Mobo, CPU, memory, and GPU. The GPU is a ASUS EN8600GT GeForce 8600GT 512MB. I am thinking that it is a PSU issue, but can not find any info on this issue any were. Any ideas??
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Reset the CMOS according to your user manual instructions and try reboot. If is does the same, try the clear CMOS method in the troubleshooting section. If it still does the same, Try using only one stick of Ram then the Other (if 2). If no change then RMA mobo.

    :toast:
     
    Friendlymonsta says thanks.
  3. Friendlymonsta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks

    Thanks for the quick reply. I have it down to one memory stick right now, but have not tried to reset the CMOS that was going to be my next step when i get home from work.
     
  4. Graogrim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    East Coast US
    Also, before you RMA the motherboard, check your CPU cooling. If the system has been off for a while and has gotten completely cold, you might get another window of opportunity where it works properly for a brief period. If you do, see if you can monitor the CPU's temperature from the BIOS. If it keeps going up up up until poof then you have a smoking gun.

    Ahem. Not that you should see smoke. That would be bad.
     
    Friendlymonsta says thanks.
  5. Friendlymonsta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tried that too

    I have tried that step after i woke up to day. I first had this issue this morning and when i got up i thought the same thing and it boot right to the same issue. I have also tried 2 PSUs, only thing is one was a Antec 430w with 20 pins (second one i tried), and a Cheap power supply that i got from a friend do to not having the right PSU for this board and wanted to test it. The cheap PSU is a 600w Single rail, and a 4 pin CPU power connecter instead of 8 pin. I am going to see if i can find a good PSU in town. Not many choces to choose from in ND.
     
  6. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    my mobo booted fine with this xion PSU wich has about 550W of constant power. it allso has only 4pin CPU power. Have u tried re-seating the cpu and see if some of the pins are bent??? sounds like the bios chip could be damaged tho...

    allso try reseating the GFX
     
    Friendlymonsta says thanks.
  7. Friendlymonsta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Finally tested GPU

    I barrowed a GPU from a guy at work (MSI 7900GTS 512MB). The computer now boots with this card. I installed that OS XP X64 and then tried to install my ASUS 8600GT 512MB and it still does the same thing. Wondering if there is a known issue with this card?
     
  8. Graogrim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    East Coast US
    Oh so the video card is new as well? That definitely changes the diagnosis. It might seem painful but it's critical to spell out in fine detail all the little things like that when you're looking for help.

    As to known issues, there aren't any showstoppers that I'm aware of. Sure, you'll see a fair number of people complaining about problems with their Nvidia/ATI video cards on various forums, but there's no reason to read too much into that--the vast majority of people who don't have any problems have no reason to post.
     
  9. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    +1
    BTW does your gfx require extra power?
    try booting with "control key" pressed just in case the card was over overclocked...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page