1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

P8Z77-V PREMIUM x16 slot

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by The Penguin, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. The Penguin

    The Penguin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    41 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antartica
    Hey guys,

    I hope that someone can help me out in regards of this mobo, in particular, how to set up xfire using x16 speed lane.

    This mobo brings 4 pcie x16 slot, 2 blue and 2 white

    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA1155/P8Z77-V_PREMIUM/E7356_P8Z77-V_Premium.pdf

    If you take a look on the table (1-25), you'll see the configuration for enabling xfire or 3 way xfire-4way xfire, etc.

    Im not to sure which PCIE X16 slot is the one i have to use to enable the x16 on xifire (2 cards only):wtf:

    As per the manual suggest, you might need to install 1 gpu on the first pcie x16_1 (blue)and the other one would have to be the pci x16_3 (blue ), However if you see the mobo layout, both slots are quite separated from each other, making it almost impossible to connect.:banghead:

    Can someone explain this to me?

    Thanks a lot!!
  2. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,959 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,091
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I don't have experience with Intel chipsets, but you should just be able to add the cards to any slot and bridge them. From there, it should just be a software switch (in CCC/Vision/Whatever) to enable crossfire. You can always double check to see if it's enabled by using GPU-z.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. The Penguin

    The Penguin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    41 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antartica
    I understand, however my question is based on the information provided by asus manual.

    Not to sure which pcie x16 would give x16 on crossfire, since are 4 of them, 1 blue, 1 white, 1 blue and 1 white.

    http://www.asus.com/Motherboard/P8Z77V_PREMIUM/#gallery

    I cant find any information if i install 1 gpu on the first slot(blue) and then another one in the next pcie x16 slot (white one)

    Hope it makes sense.
  4. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,479 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,582
    From the manual:
    [​IMG]

    Is this what you are looking for?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. The Penguin

    The Penguin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    41 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antartica
    That's right, that what im asking.

    In there says that for getting x16 on xfire (2 cards) you need to install them on the first blue pcie x16 (blue) and the other gpu card on the blue pcie x16 (blue one)

    As you can tell, both are kinda separated, so i was wondering if the crossfire cable would reach the 2nd card.
  6. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,479 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,582
    You should have received a Crossfire bridge with your motherboard if it was in the retail box. IF you don't have the right size, they are easy to find on ebay.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. The Penguin

    The Penguin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    41 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antartica
    So, that means that for getting xfire x16 speed lane, id have to install 2 gpu's in the 2 blue pcie x16 slot?

    I was actually thinking of installing one the pcie x16 blue and the other one in the pcie x16 white one.

    http://www.asus.com/Motherboard/P8Z77V_PREMIUM/#gallery

    However, there is no mention of this in the mobo.
  8. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,479 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,582
    If you want x16 for both cards you have to use slots 1 and 4.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    If you look at the picture provided it shows 8/8 pcie 3.

    corssfire cables come with video cards, not motherboards, if it's not long enough, you'll have to get one somewhere else.
  10. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,479 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,582
    I have recently bought 3 HD 7770's and 3 HD 7970's (VisonTek) and none of them came with Crossfire bridges. I have found more often than not that I get Crossfire and SLI bridges with motherboards. My experience...

    EDIT:
    Looking at AMD cards on NewEgg at what is included with the retail boxes, most vendors include a Crossfire bridge:) I guess VisionTek is one of the few that doesn't:(
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. The Penguin

    The Penguin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    41 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antartica
    You'll only get 8x if ou do 3 way xfire, but since i will only do 2 carss, i will have to put the 2 cars on the first 2 blue slots.

    Regarding the cable, my sapphire 7970 does come with xfire cable and it seems to be long enough, i just hope it will fit.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page