1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

pagefile.sys not cooperating

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by karolpl2004, May 8, 2013.

  1. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    i set it to 2000mb in windows settings but under a disk analyzer it is still 16gb.. it was fine before but i just noticed today it changed back..
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    Location:
    Oregon
    Did you click "set"
  3. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    :wtf:
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    Location:
    Oregon
    I just happen to have mine se to 2 Gb also

    [​IMG]
  5. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
  6. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,233 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    GMT +2
    try with different values for min and max and use powers of 2. for example from 256 to 2048
  7. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    688 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Toronto
    explorer also says 16gb i assume?

    also... you're telling me you changed your PF size after it's been in use & it's also on the same drive as the OS? sounds unfortunate (although i think some defrag apps can move it right to the physical edge of the drive)
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,199 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Did you restart after setting it? I'm pretty sure that kind of change is subject to a restart since memory might already be in swap space so the best time to resize it is when nothing is in it (when Windows boots.)
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    Location:
    Oregon
    He probably had a boot failure and it loaded the old reg settings
  10. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,869 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    If you can set no pagefile, then boot off another drive and delete pagefile/see if still there then retry to size it.
  11. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    disabled it and its still 16gb. and the problem is i cannot find it anywhere on the drive. it says its in root of C:/ . i enabled "view hidden files /system files" and still cannot find it anywhere... i though the program is wrong but the 16gb is still missing... drive bad?
  12. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    i ended up messing around with a few options and i fixed it. i dunno...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page