1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PALiT 9600GSO voltage mods

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by largon, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Figured I should post this on public forum after I custom made it for DOM.

    [​IMG]
    vGPU mod:
    20kΩ VR between a red dot of your choosing and a ground.

    Disable OCP (completely):
    Bridge the marked surface mount resistor.

    vGPU measuring points:
    [​IMG]
    Measure between colored dot and a ground.

    Photographed by DOM.
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2008
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2008
  3. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Added a way to completely disable OCP.
    I need a resistance reading of the marked resistor if a more discreet mod (via VR) is needed.
    DaMulta says thanks.
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Is this the card that Dom has??! If so... man, can't wait to see what he has on it. :toast:
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  6. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I haven't went to the thread yet... lol.. Have to many threads... But, I gotta thank you to Largon! And damulta.
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Thanks largon :toast: you got a PM :eek:

    well going to try the OCP Mod cuz anything lil more then 1.5v load it wont do 3d app. like 3d mark etc. but scan in atitool it would well brb if i get it dont :D
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    [​IMG]

    Well the OCP didnt work :( doest it work on every card ? Or its a hit or miss ?
  10. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    743 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    20Ks - DOM is going down since I have them on hand :D

    also - bridging that resistor would - a bit of conductive pen work well or remove and solder together?

    and is that ground on the connector or what ....?
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2008
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :roll: I also got some :p 900 seems to be the limit I didnt remove but did solder together
  12. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Responded.
    :)
    Does anything weird happen to vGPU voltage when the problem occurs?
    Triggered OCP will cause the vGPU to drop to around ~0.1v. If that doesn't happen it's something else that's cousing this.
    Yes.
    Anything that connects the pads with low'ish resistance does the trick.
    Any ground works.
    There's tons of ground pads on the card. Forr example, pretty much all capacitors are grounded from the other end.
  13. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    743 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    Thanks - the double connected back of the caps are grounded right?
  14. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    It's probably just me but I can't figure out what you mean by "double connected back of the cap".
    :confused:
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well vista lets me use more volts then in xp pro but it not much gain in clocks
  16. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    743 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    on the back of the cap - one side always looks like it is connect to 2 solder pads/points istead of one - that is the side I thought may be grounded
  17. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Ah, now I see what you mean.
    I don't think there's a rule about that. The other point is there just to make the board compatible with more than one type of capacitors. Infact, on this particular card (and few other PALiT cards) those "double connected" legs of caps seem to be live voltage, not ground. The colored edge on a alu cap is the ground.
    TheGoat Eater says thanks.
  18. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    so can I get a vmod for the mem :D cuz I got 500-600 more points from 1000Mhz to 1100Mhz

    also it doesnt drop might be its limits I guess or doesnt like the volts
  19. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Gonna need a close-up pic of this chip for a vMEM mod:
    [​IMG]


    Note that the card has Qimonda RAM - so vMEM mod may very well yield nothing... :)
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  21. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Wooo!
    That's a great pic. :)

    And here are the required resistance measurements:
    What is the resistance between pin4 & pin7?
    Resistance between pin4 & pin13?

    [​IMG]
  22. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    there both .001
  23. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I think you had some huge big resistance scale selection on the meter. Find a scale that gives a reading that has atleast 2 digits (eg. x.yz Ω).
  24. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :eek: LOL had it on 2M not 2K

    4&7
    .611-.612

    4&13
    .624

    :toast:
  25. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    vMEM mod:
    20kΩ between pin4 and pin7.
    Set VR to max, tune down resistance to increase vMEM.

    Reverse vMEM mod:
    20kΩ between pin4 and pin13.
    Set VR to max, tune down resistance to decrease vMEM.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page