1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Palit Readies 3 GB GeForce GTX 580 Graphics Card, Too

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    What happens in Gainward, stays in Palit. Gainward's parent company, Palit, is also readying a GeForce GTX 580 graphics card with 3 GB memory, like its subsidiary. Featuring a non-reference PCB and cooling assembly, Palit's latest card uses twelve 2 Gbit GDDR5 memory chips over a 384-bit wide memory interface to achieve 3072 MB (3 GB) in total. It features a more traditional-looking cooler compared to the Gainward GTX 580 Phantom; which makes use of two fans to cool a large aluminum fin array. Palit's card is clocked at 783 MHz (core), 1566 MHz (CUDA cores), and 1005/4020 MHz (memory actual/effective). Based on the 40 nm GF110 core, the GTX 580 features 512 CUDA cores, and is compliant with the latest in consumer graphics technologies.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
    spynoodle says thanks.
  2. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,698 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    SOLD! Maybe. Possibly. Hopefully.
  3. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Unless it boosts metro 2031 by at least 30fps over the regular 580, I am not paying the 30%-40% mark up.
  4. TAViX Guest

    I still don't understand what's the reason for 3GB RAM when most games tops at ~768MB RAM, that's with AAx8 and AFx16......3 monitors gaming?? Perhaps...
  5. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    3GB is like the 5870 2gb, not nearly worth the 2% performance increase, i like the phantom though
  6. Selene

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    There are a few games that use over 1gig or Vram already just in a single monitor set up. I run NV surround and a pair of them would be awesome.
  7. Breathless New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    370 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    high resolutions!
  8. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    even at 5670x something in 3000 resolution, using AMD's eye-infinity technology, the 1GB card wasnt much behind the 2GB card.
  9. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,309 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    I have run out of 1280MB of GPU memory a few times (when gaming at 5670x1080).
  10. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    It's not about today's games. AGREED; it doesnt make any noticeable performance difference.

    But game engines are moving over to OpenCL/CUDA where the code and data of the engine and game objects stays on the GPU.

    This, for example, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9HaT23b-xc&feature=player_embedded#! is where games can be under OpenGL 4.x and 3GB.

    With 3GB you are buying the ability to run 2011/2012 applications/games.
  11. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    Metro 2031? Is that a prequel? :D
  12. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Nvidia can't do more than two monitors for now.
  13. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I think it was meant as in when using two cards and three monitors.
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,522 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    I wish Nvidia supported this.
  15. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I agree so much, since moving to a triple monitor setup i have become mainly limited to AMD as most sli options are too much for my PSU and i never want to go back to anything less than three screens.

    I would love to be able to run three monitors on a single 580, the best we can hope for is that Nvidia will support it on the 6xx cards
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,503 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    This is counter productive. Palit non-reference board = cheap and bad overclocking. When you put double vram on it should be because you're making a monster, not a gimp.
  17. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Hope a more reputable brand like EVGA will make a version as well.
  18. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Palit has always been the best. My stakes are high for this card and i am pretty sure this will be the best 580 since its launch
  19. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,503 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Maybe up to the 8800 GTS days but since then I've just seen issue after issue with palit cards. They mess with too many things in an attempt to make shit cheaper to produce.
  20. Selene

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Most single card set ups cant run tipple screen very well any way, this card might with that much Vram and a 320bus.
    I saw some reviews showing AMD vs NV in 3 screen configs and AMD was not very good compaired, this was a while back and before the last batch of card hit, the 6950 and 6970 2gig cards did not exsist yet, so this might not be the case any more.
  21. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    That is if cards by 2012 don't destroy the GTX 580. ;)
    Or worst we are likely to be stuck with console ports still.
  22. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I would love to see the performance difference between a single 580 1.5gb and 3gb and then two card sli 1.5gb and 3gb or possibly even triple card sli and more so at 2560x1600 and higher, preferably 5040x1050, 5760x1200 and 7680x1600.

    I'm currently running a 5040x1050 triple monitor setup on a single 6870 so i would have to disagree, at least 85% of the games i play i do so maxed out, i admit most dx11 games can't be fully maxed at this res on a single card and more demanding games it can't handle high levels of AA but those are what make up the the 15% of things i play that i drop the settings for smooth frame rates.

    I would expect the 6950, 6970, 570, 580 and this new 580 all to do well with triple screen setups unless they are running at something like 7680x1600 or 7680x1440, i know 5760x1200 or 5760x1080 would put more strain on the card than my 5040x1050 setup but the fact a mid range card can game well across 3 monitors should prove that the current generation and future generations will handle triple screen setups with a single card pretty well.
  23. TAViX Guest

    Interesting. I didn't know that 1 nvidia card cannot do triple monitoring gaming even if it has 3 display connectors....
  24. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,587 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    3gig looks too much just for grahic card and the difference between 2gig and 3gig is under 10% so itsnot noticeable
    But this card looks pretty solid
  25. balanarahul New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think the 3 GB Memory Buffer will help the GTX 580 perform better...
    Because 6970 gives more performance at 1920*1080 and 2560*1600 than GTX 480....
    But at lower resolutions the GTX 480 outperforms..
    Meaning the GTX 580 requires extra memory to perform better at higher resolutions since its quite faster than a GTX 480...

    See if you dont believe me:-
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/Radeon_HD_6970/29.html
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page