1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pancho and all others opinions appreciated!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by NONYA, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    If you are thinkin on doing something like the combo... go with what Panchoman showed you in the other thread... You will not be disappointed and will love every second you have with that system...
    DDR2 is what type of ram you want to go with, don't settle with old ddr stuff... You want to get something that will allow you to upgrade easier then it will be now... Don't step down.. go up...
    and if you can't go with the price that panchoman showed you.. get the first one... the 2 sticks of DDR2 that you said you got will work and vista will run on that... I got Ultimate x86 and i have had no problems with any of it!
    NONYA says thanks.
  3. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trying to keep this as cheap as possible,I have a have a case,psu and mobo with processor,3.0 or better,if its ddr2 then i need ram as well...
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    NONYA says thanks.
  6. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    that 1.6 ghz cpu isnt what I want,Id like to have 3.0 without an OCing,is there a 3.0 ghz w/ mobo on this site for sale?What can I do for $300 us dollars,including shipping and not considering mail in rebates?Thats 300 for case,PSU,mobo,cpu, has to be agp,sata,THANX>
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    its 1.6 duel processor... better than your Pent. D 3.0...
    NONYA says thanks.
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    a 1.8ghz core 2 duo will eat a 3ghz pentium d ALIVE. don't waste your money on old technology.
    NONYA says thanks.
  9. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,423 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,495
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Hands down, that's a FACT! I upgraded from an OC'd P4 630 3.0 single core w/HT OC'd to 3.7 to an e6300 almost a year ago...at it's stock 1.86 clock, it smoked my P4 in everything. Now I have my 6300 oc'd to 3.5 and there's definately no competition. Hell it oc'd to 3.3 without increasing vCore, it's a B2 stepping so it does OC well, but results can vary.

    I'd recommend spending less on a C2D that has OC potential, getting some chea DDR2 a decent cooler for CPU (I use AC Freezer 7 Pro, performs great, dunno if it can be beat at it's price point...), a decent MB and PSU, OC it a tad and be good to go! Overclocking isn't hard, it's the proper preperation and stability verifying that's tedious, but very much worth it!

    :toast:
    NONYA says thanks.
  10. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,330 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    I don't know what your plans are, never seen the other thread but:

    1. If this is a true budget build the $44 PC Chips am2 board is o.k., not for performance.

    2. This case is a little flimsy but has a solid/stable 500watt psu (not 400 like listed) I have used it on a build: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811164004 I would not use the psu on a gaming system, but for a budget build it is good.
  11. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    so the dual rated at 1.6ghz will out perform the Intel Pentium D 925 3.0GHz Dual Core CPU in the bare bones i was gonna order?Before OCing?
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Short answer, yes.
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's right.
    Also, use Newegg for buying computers. Ebay is a bad idea IMO.
  14. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    core 2's KILL!!! dont buy a computer off of ebay. parts are ok though. you best bet is to take one of these guys ^^^ recommendations. if i had the time i would give you a list of parts too, but they usually beat me to the chase :)
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,292 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,194
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    NONYA says thanks.
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    NONYA and Cold Storm say thanks.
  18. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    We can baby step you to an oc, without a new heat sink, on the cpu to maybe around 2.2ghz... A DANG GOOD UPING... 2 2.2ghz processors going at once, instead of one 3 going..
    NONYA says thanks.
  19. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'd have to go with you on that! really good find man.. and never be sorry for finding something at a better price then someone else.. your known as all ways doing a good budget build... no hurt feelings here..
    NONYA says thanks.
  20. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    OK would I need any cds or anything to get this combo up and runnin?Pancho what do you tink?
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i had a e2160 that could hit 3.6ghz easy and bench close to a e6600.
    NONYA says thanks.
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    You are getting the xp and vista cds from your uncle right? if so wait till you get them and you'll be all set... I'd change out the psu I suggest with the one that JR just put out a link for.. its a good price for a psu like that... but if you want a name brand one then use mine...
    As for Pancho. PM him about the build.. I believe he is out right now so it won't be till later this evening before anything from him...
    NONYA says thanks.
  23. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I thought Fortron Source Group is a good name brand?!

    I'd rate there power supplies as the budget buyer's "Seasonics and Corsairs".
    NONYA says thanks.
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    if you have heard about them before, then I'd go with your word on it.. I, myself, haven't seen anything about them so I don't know.. But, like i said, I believe your word and take it on that 100%.
    and as for you Nonya, I think it can, but I really haven't seen anything that can tell me yes or no at all... if you want, e-mail dell and ask then about it.. That will give you the right answer...
    NONYA says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page