1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Partial Upgrade

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Bo$$, Jan 24, 2011.

  1. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    my Brothers Machine has suffered a mobo failure after 3 years of his abuse, Gonna Partially rebuild it, so new CPU/RAM/MOBO. He wants a Hexacore as he does a lot of 3DMAX rendering and wants the PC to last another 2-3 years. these are the parts im reusing and needs to work with this. Ive never built an AMD system so Im unsure of the MOBO i picked, please recomend a better build for <£300!!!!

    [​IMG]

    3870+3850 CrossfireX
    500GB WD disk
    DVD drive
    NZXT Case
    Modxtreme pro 600w
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    bump
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    bump, why is no one helping me! i have never done an AMD system before!
  4. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    At those ram prices I would step up to 8GBs, it’s unnecessary but it’s so cheap why not?

    Is that motherboard a 770 chipset, if so they are old aren’t they?

    Bulldozer is in a few months, can you hold off?
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    i can try to hold it off til bulldozer, but my brother is pretty insistant on it now, which motherboard is a better choice?
  6. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    I'm not familiar with that fusion motherboard that you have in the basket. But if it is a 770 chipset I would avoid it because they are old and will have a dodgy support in comparison to the newer chipsets. I would get a 880G chipset, and to a lesser extent the 870G or 785G chipset.

    The 790X chipset is pretty old too, I would aviod it. However I would select the 790X over the 770!
    Bo$$ says thanks.
  7. toastem2004

    toastem2004

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Texas
    If cost is a concern i'd say anything 790X or 870 chipset. examples: 870 Chipset / 790X Chipset Both are mid-range chipsets with quality components to get u a good 2-3 yr life span. If u can, go 790FX/890FX but those will be the real high-end ones
  8. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
  9. toastem2004

    toastem2004

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Texas
    yes sir, either one of those would be a good choice. i"m a bit partial to MSi, but u cant go wrong with either one of those
  10. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    Same here im sort of partial to MSI too, but overclocking wise and feature set which provides a better experience?
  11. meran New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    469 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    i think gigabyte is better at overclocking;) about features really dont know
    Bo$$ says thanks.
  12. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    Yes its good but its overkill. Your not going to benefit from the 890GX chipset so you'll be flushing money away. The 880/870G chipset can be had from £60, the upto £40 saving can be put back into buying more ram/better heatsink or can be used for the next upgrade.

    But if you can justify the bloated price of the 890GX, yes its a good motherboard chipset.

    Edit:

    You'd be saving £20 if you Asus M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 880G, plus you get crossfire. and you save £40 if you get the Asus M4A88T-M 880G or Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H 880G but you lose crossfire. But crossfire wasnt in your pans? so it doesnt matter, right?


    Asus M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 880G Socket AM3 ONboard 128...
    Asus M4A88T-M 880G Socket AM3 Onboard Graphics 8.....
    Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H 880G Socket AM3 8 Channel A...
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2011
  13. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    that is an idea, but i need crossfire now, and in the future this machine will have crossfire too. problem with the ASUS is it wont let you use pci-e x1 with crossfire enabled
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    Does it say that on Asus's website? Because my Asus 785G in my spec allows me to use my 4850s in CF whilst using my Auzen X-fi Forte in 1x.

    Is this problem just on the 880G because it sounds like one of those internet rumours?


    Edit:

    Ok Asus's website says this:

    I think it will still work, you'll just get less bandwidth to the second card i.e. a performance hit. But if Asus say dont do it who I'm I to argue. How important is PCIx 1x, can you live without it if it means saving £20?

    Edit:

    The next cheapest option is the Asrock 890GX Extreme3, it also has CF support and is a 890GX chipset. You'll still save £15 :)

    Asrock 890GX Extreme3 Socket AM3 DVI VGA HDMI Out ...
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2011
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well that is my WIFI card, so cant do with out that, i HATE ASROCK with a passion last 3 boards i had, had a LOUD cap squeal and died for no apparent reason. i think im gonna go with the Gigabyte. this board wants ram at 1.5V is the cosair alright for it or should i look at another?
  16. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    The Gigabyte 890 is a good board. The ram is good to go on that motherboard. I've had the corsair XMS3 rams before, they overclock well. Not as well as my Gskills but almost as good. Considering the price (£37) too its a good deal.

    PS. Most motherboards like 99% of them have a rating for v1.5, but it will still work with most rams, most high end memory modules will work well below and above their rated voltage without issue.

    Also it looks like the corsairs have been reduced in price to £34! Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz/PC3-12800 XMS3 i5...
  17. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    back to £40, are these any better?
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    Are they any better than what?
  19. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,159 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Those are well priced sticks, I would get them.

    I considered getting a hex core for a 3Ds build for my friend, but ultimately I decided (or rather, forced him to wait) to get Sandy Bridge, they are a bit better than 6 cores of Phenom II. The i5 2500k is priced similar to the the 1055T, but motherboard is going to be more expensive, and most P/H67 boards does not support Crossfire.
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    yeah, im off the intel bandwagon for now, recomending AMD to everyone, price to perf is still really good for AMD. and intel is not a brilliant choice ATM i would like to hold off this build till bulldozer and then make 2 machines

    RAM wise corsair 1.65 vs G.skills 1.5?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page