1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Partition Size "what's the best"

Discussion in 'Storage' started by dr emulator (madmax), Aug 24, 2010.

  1. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    what's the ideal partition for an o/s and storage?

    i'm thinking on a 640 gb, the ideal partion would be 130gb for the operating sytem
    and the rest used as storage, making it easier to defrag

    so what size partitions do you guys use?

    on xp

    on vista

    and on 7

    or don't you use any
  2. afw

    afw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    642 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    120 (OS) + 250 (Games/Apps) + 250 (Storage) :)
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I have a 100GB SSD and a 640GB WD Black. I use the SSD for programs, and mapped my Windows 7 libraries to my WD Black. I never bothered with partitions.
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    2 x 320GB in RAID0 for total of 640GB. One big partition. Win 7
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Ah, agreed. Didn't realize he had two 320GB drives.

    And since you've got a WD 1TB as well, back your stuff up on that drive in case of HDD or RAID failure.
  6. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    WD 640Black for OS and music/personal files/uni work etc, then a WD 1TBGreen for films, pictures, porn.
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,839 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    I stopped using partitions a long time ago. Just complicates things needlessly, and too often I found myself resizing the partitions because one was too small or something.

    Just leave the whole drive as one partition. If you want a seperate area for storage that won't get wiped when you reformat, just buy a second drive(doesn't hurt to use it as backup drive either;)).
    TIGR says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    ^^ This. Use the whole drive as one partition, just add another drive if needed. Makes backups and storage a walk in the park.
  9. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    :laugh: i don't have such things shifty.gif

    but seriously, i have many harddrives (and yes i'm still using xp :eek::wtf::slap::shadedshu)

    three 80 gb storage (pata) one 160 gb (pata) two 160gb (sata) two 320 gb (sata) one 500 gb (sata)
    two sata 6gb/s 640 gb (sata)o/s and two 1tb 6gb/s storage
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I didn't either. I listed my rig. :laugh:
  11. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,539 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Just enough for OS + Installs its getting larger with each Windows and newer larger games.
    Reached 80gigs for primary and I never had any space problems. As for rest I just make them as large as possible.

    About the ammount of HDD's Id say the fewer the better. I used to run 3x260GB + 2x120GB and Im so comfy with my single 1500TB WD :). The fewer partitions/HDD's the better.
  12. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Well I use an 120GB SSD for my main OS and I run 2x640Gb HD's in RAID 0 for storage and VMs. As for the other OS's you mentioned, I dont waste my time on them XP mode is good enough, or I create a VM .

    All my steam games go on my RAID set up.
  13. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i dont bother, i got x2 640 (1.2T) RAID 0 in my gaming and everything else back up in the server
  14. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    When I used HD's as my primary disk I always ran 3 in RAID 0 over 2. Read times were allot better.
  15. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    wats the point? might as well get a ssd if gonna raid 3 wd blacks
  16. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Bigger storage faster read/write times is the point. I noticed a big difference from using 2 still cheaper than SSD tech.
  17. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

    Thats for sure...I went with 320x4 raid zero (all one /no partitions) and I would never go back to less drives! If I would change anything it would be to add a small SSD for the bulk of my page file. I have tested 3X raptors in raid 0 they were pretty nice to... but four perpendiculars in raid 0 are the shnit!
    SSD'S TO EXPENSIVE FOR ME YET TO MOVE OS AND APPS.

    So any way don't partition the drive it really adds no value unless your a system builder ,mho!
  18. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    same i have x2 500GB (1T) RAID 0 in main rig and one 80gb backup disk
  19. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,429 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,486
    Win 7 250GB, XP 100GB, Win 7 Apps 360GB, Various Stuff 220GB.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Well thats another option but the more drives you have in RAID 0 the more likely something could fail. I ran 4 x 500GB HD's in RAID 0 and it was blazing fast but put it back to 3 after 1 of the disks gave me errors.
  21. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    i did think of doing a raid array on this new system, but everything works well with my emulators so i haven't bothered yet, although i am tempted to see if i can squeeze a bit more performance out of it for my emu's :D
  22. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    anyone else;)
  23. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    ^^ Nailed it. That's pretty much exactly what I was about to type.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page