1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Patriot Memory Announces New AMD Black Edition Ready G2 Series Memory Kits

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Patriot Memory, a global pioneer in high-performance memory, NAND flash, storage and enthusiast computer products, today announces new G2 series, AMD Edition memory kits for the next-generation AMD 9-series platforms. The new Patriot Memory G2 series, AMD Edition memory kits are the perfect match for enthusiasts seeking to extract every ounce of performance available from the AMD 9-series platform.

    Available at speeds of 1333 MHz to 1600 MHz, the Patriot Memory G2 series, AMD Edition let users pick the perfect speed for their applications. Low and enhanced latencies are available with the Patriot Memory G2 series, AMD Edition for the perfect balance of ultra-fast system responsiveness and overclocking headroom to maximize overall system performance.

    [​IMG]

    "AMD has done an outstanding job catering to the do-it-yourself crowd and the next-generation 9-series platform should be no different. Our Patriot Memory G2 series, AMD Edition modules are the perfect fit for the adventurous overclocker and users seeking system performance," says Les Henry, Patriot Memory’s Vice President of Engineering.

    Low-profile heatsinks cool the Patriot Memory G2 series, AMD Edition memory modules to provide greater heat dissipation capabilities. The low-profile heatsinks enable systems with the Patriot Memory G2 series, AMD Edition to fit large CPU-coolers worry-free.

    Expect the Patriot Memory G2 series, AMD Edition memory kits to ship in June 2011 with capacities of 4GB (2x2GB) and 8GB (2x4GB) in 1333MHz and 1600MHz speeds.

    General details
    • New Patriot Memory G2 series, AMD Edition memory kits
    • Designed for next-generation AMD 9-series
    • Speed: 1333-1600 MHz
    • CAS latency: Low and enhanced latencies available
    • Capacities: 4GB (2x2GB) & 8GB (2x4GB)
    • Available in June
    • Lifetime warranty
     
  2. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,746
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Is this the green with envy edition?.. lol Wow that is ugly... Why use nv green.. and not amd red? or black?. hehehe
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    I thought bulldozer was ideally thought to run @ 1866MHz.
     
  4. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Native support of up to 1866MHz

    Do you need 1866MHz not really
     
  5. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    If I you can then why not have it ?
     
  6. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I will everyone else. The native speed is 1866 Mhz, why would you specially design a series of RAM to not match its native speed. That is like releasing an entire line of 1080p monitors with a maximum resolution of 1050. It won't be that big of a different at most sizes, but its not 1080p either.
     
  7. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    1333mhz, I don't get it. I am running more than that with ram from 2 years ago! What are they calling "low and enhanced latency"?
     
  8. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    You know what, I take that back. Some, if not all, A series chips will have a native memory speed of 1600 Mhz for the A8 and A6. The A4 native memory clock will be 1333 Mhz.
     
  9. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Mobile Llano has DDR3-1600 support, but Desktop Llano has DDR3-1866 support. I don't really expect fast RAM to have a big impact on Zambezi performance, but I'd be interested to see a comparison between an A8 Llano at 1333 vs 1866, seeing as there is one IMC for both the 4 CPU cores, and the Fusion GPU.
     
  10. Halk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    105 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Hmm. Is this an AMD edition because they've called it an AMD edition, or is there something I'm missing here? Initially I was a little pleased to read the news - I'll be looking for Bulldozer memory at some point and I'd like 16GB of 1866.
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    SPD settings for Intel and AMD platforms is quite different. Even between Intel platforms, SPDs can change.
     
  12. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    With all this bulldozer product branded stuff comming, it makes you wonder.
     
  13. Halk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    105 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    That's true Cadaveca, but I really don't know enough to judge if these modules are designed for AMD or they're just cashing in (caching in if you like puns!). Given that they don't match the frequency Bulldozer is designed to run at I'm dubious if these really are designed for AMD, but as I said I don't really know so I have to defer to people who do.
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It's more than possible that 1866 sticks are forth-coming, but OEMs don't want to give the wrong impression, as not every Phenom II CPU is capable of 1866 reliably.

    Of course, I'm kinda filling in the blanks with my own thoughts here, but it does make sense.
     
  15. Halk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    105 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Yep, it does, but it doesn't answer the question about these particular ones... am I right to be skeptical and think it's pure marketing, or are they really better for AMD than A. N. Other sticks at the same latency and speed...
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, there is something to it. Many sticks not certified for AMD will not run corrently when installed into AMD motherboards. When AM3 first launched, it was near imposible to find memory that worked, as none had been really certified for the platform. This also ensures things other than the primary 4 timings are looked after, too, which not all users are comfortable with changing. the AMD certification ensures that barring manufacturer defects, shipping damages, or user error, these sticks will work on the AMD platform, right out of the box, which you'll find to not be the case with many Intel-certified sticks.
     
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    too lazy since there is no sauce;)

    Those are low timing sticks I assume, like CAS6 or so?
     
  18. Halk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    105 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    But was that down to the sticks, or down to the BIOS? From what I've seen, memory brands tend to work with motherboard manufacturers and over time BIOS releases increase compatibility with existing RAM that's out there.

    I'm still dubious and skeptical... I have it in my head (and I don't know if it's true or not) that OCZ just branded the AMD and Intel low voltage DDR3 4GB kits that were around perhaps 12-18 months ago as Intel and AMD, and they were the same gear. What work that went on wasn't on tinkering the memory to work with the chipset, but the motherboard BIOS to work with the memory.
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I do not think CAS6 is likely. But...I do beleive this is mentioned specifically for a reason. ;)

    Sticks that work on the AM3 platform don't work the same, if at all, in 1155. There are several critical timings that are very different now, and I can only assume that this difference may be much greater when the new AMD CPUs launch.

    I have many sticks rated for SKT 1156 that do not work right on 1155, even, so platform certification does seem to be a much bigger thing than it was in the past.
     
  20. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    That is some ugly looking memory but can't beat the standard heat spreaders.
    It would have been nice if they were similar to the OCZ AMD Black edition RAM
     
  21. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    No problem: http://www.anandtech.com/show/4448/amd-llano-desktop-performance-preview/3

    It would seem the increase in RAM speed at least helps the IGP a lot.
     
    devguy says thanks.
  22. WarraWarra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    268 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Am I missing something ?
    Why would I buy 1333 if I can get 2133 for the same price. Yeah CAS I know.

    ?? The 11 CAS may be high, but the actual latency is still less than 1600 @ 9 CAS. (9/1600 * 2000 = 11.25ns > 11/2133 * 2000 = 10.31ns). ??

    ?? True / false ??

    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL

    Mushkin Enhanced Redline 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model

    I can "retard" this ram above to work with the new AMD's at 1866 and get better CAS or overclock the cpu to get to 2133 of the ram ? :toast:
     
  23. Halk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    105 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    What I think you're missing according to what else has been said is AMD compatibility, the new chipset may have issues running ram made for Intel. I'm starting to be swung by what Cadaveca is saying but I'm at heart a skeptic.

    It's done enough to make me cautious about buying memory for Bulldozer until I see some compatibility assurances.
     
  24. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    The problem is the word is "may", and nobody knows for sure until the processors/boards are released. I think it is unlikely to be a good ram to chose from the speed we see available.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  25. WarraWarra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    268 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14

    Yeah you are right I remember the x4 955/965 Joke and no mboards being compatible so had to RMA several times and ended up buying a old Intel Q9550 .
    I have been spoiled with Intel, plug in anything and it just works.

    Did not like the AMD x4 955/965 lab rat testing experience. Same reason why I am cautious about the BullDozers and being a Lab Rat again. :ohwell:

    Damn AMD we want to support you, come on don't let us X4 955/965 lab rat down again.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page