1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Patriot Memory Announces the DDR3 12 GB Tri-Channel Viper Kit

Discussion in 'News' started by alexp999, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Patriot Memory, a global provider of premium quality memory modules and flash memory solutions, today announced their DDR3 12 GB Tri-Channel Viper kit.

    Designed specifically for the Intel Core i7 processor/Intel X58 Express Chipset, the Patriot Viper 12 GB kit has been built to excel for the Core i7 triple channel tehcnology. The Patriot Viper 12 GB are hand tested extensively on X58 motherboards to ensure maximum compatibility and supreme quality. The kits will be offered in 1333 MHz and come in both CL7 and CL9. "With all memory slots utilized in all three channels, the Core i7 brings the effectiveness of a server to mainstream desktops, and for a fraction of the price, says Benny Chea, Patriot Memory's Applications Engineer. Mr. Chea went on to say, "Multi-applications users will appreciate the increased bandwidth."

    [​IMG]

    Product Information:

    [​IMG]

    For more information about Patriot's 12GB Tri-Channel Viper and other memory module and flash memory solutions, please contact your Patriot Sales Representative or visit patriotmemory.com.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2009
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    If only 64 bit was standard...
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I'm suprised there are no (or more of) 4GB sticks.
     
  4. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    So whats the difference between the "low latency" and "enhanced latency" sticks. The latency obviously and the lower the better, but are is one higher latency with increased frequency?
     
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Being designed for the i7, they probably dont have faster sticks as that would requirer higher voltage and so potentially fry the CPU.
     
  6. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    It is in my house :)

    I know... was hoping for 4GB x 3 when I saw the topic!
     
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Same here.


    It appears 3 x 4GB does exist tho.
     
  8. MTnumb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    oh great yet another overkill for gaming. i can see the specs now CORE I7 920 12GB PATRIOT and 8400GS heatpipe MEGA OVERCLOCK. well enough about that.
    seems to be good enough i was actually hoping for a 3x4GB so am kinda disappointed nevertheless! DO WANT [or better yet. DO NEED]
     
  9. Mega-Japan

    Mega-Japan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New York, NY
    "Patriot Memory, a global provider of premium quality memory modules and flash memory solutions"

    This line is a "must" in every article isn't it? xD
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2009
  10. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Yea, I am really mad that M$ is still going to continue 32bit with Win7 :mad:.

    The world needs to make the transition some time soon.
     
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I hope they continue with dual channel setups for AMDs procs.
     
  12. IcrushitI New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    106 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Canada
    Speed

    I don't know guys, seems like things aren't really getting "faster then you think". Some slight of hand could be happening. With 12 gigs of memory loaded with most of what the average person uses on his machine, when it starts up. No swapping what so ever, just a tiny pagefile if Win7 needs one. With readyboost enabled all the time and memory filled to the gills, the machine is going to look and be seen to be flying.
    With the amount of memory that can be used, hard drives can go back to 5400 rpm, ssd can take a breather. Less cooling and power usage. etc etc.
    For years the slowest part of the computer was the hard drive and still is, and why the computer is slow. With all the memory that can be used on board, slow will be the thing of the past. If one of the things in your life is speed you probably won't have to upgrade the MB for awhile, unless its tech that you can't live with out. :toast:
     
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    so it's basically two sets of 2gb tri-channel sets...
     
  14. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    It is at my house allso, HTPC is running Windows 7 64 bits with 8GB DDR 2 and my desktop is running 64 bits Windows 7 with 4GB DDR3, when I upgrade one day to I7 or something, then 12gb will rain supreme, if my wallet can cope.
     
  15. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I have yet to use all of my 4GB, I cant see 12GB being useful anytime soon, other than for a workstation.
     
  16. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    You will never use all of it, windows keeps a bit asside to stop the computer becomming unusable, from what I understand.
     
  17. IcrushitI New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    106 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Canada
    Check out what readyboost and prefetch does in Vista, and 12 gigs 24 gigs in all probability will be used.
     
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    agree, i want say why win32 still in duty
     
  19. newbielives New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    164 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Vista's prefetch system where it tried to populate 1.5GB - 2GB of my available 4GB at startup kicked the last breath out of my 500GB seagate HDD.

    I would not want to go through this Hard drive torture again by loading 6GB every time I started up my computer :nutkick:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page