1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Patriot's New Viper II Memory Kits Bundled with Futuremark Software

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 5, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,869 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Patriot Memory, a global pioneer in high-performance memory, NAND flash and computer technology, today announced the release of the Viper II DDR2 memory kits with Futuremark's 3DMark Vantage software.

    Patriot Memory and Futuremark have teamed up once again to offer PC enthusiasts and overclockers the tools necessary to build the ultimate performance system. Futuremark's 3DMark Vantage, the world's #1 benchmarking software, offers consumers the chance to see how their system performs and stacks up against worldwide contention.

    [​IMG]

    "Even with the emergence of DDR3, DDR2 technology is far from becoming obsolete, says Les Henry, Patriot's Director of Engineering. "Incorporating our Viper II heat shield technology into our high-end gaming for DDR2 gives the consumer a choice. And by combining our products with Futuremark's state of the art software it becomes a real win-win for the consumer."

    [​IMG]
     
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I smell expensive for nothing... :rolleyes:
     
  3. Breathless New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    370 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    any new model of DDR2 that cannot do 1200mhz at this point is "meh" :shadedshu

    either that, or 1000mhz + 4-4-4-12 latencies.
     
  4. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Pretty looking heatsinks
     
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    I'm almost running at that. FYI I'm also running Vipers.
     
  6. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    I found my old vipers to be good ram. Not only performace wise but good looking too.
     
  7. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    definitively not bang/buck though
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    yay, something even dumber than fatality branding!
     
  9. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    They couldve at least made the pcb non-green if aesthetics was also on their list.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    black PCB would be cool
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    I got my Vipers for 50 bucks with Vantage. To me the performance was worth 4gigs for 50 bucks. FYI these new Vipers are much better looking than mine :rolleyes:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    hey i have a kit of that ram! mine just has the SLI logo!

    [​IMG]

    i prefer the green!
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
  14. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    I have that ram too.
    using OCZ Blade 1150's currently.
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    8GB 800 CL4 vs 4GB 1066 CL5.... tough call, to be honest.
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    What do you use that needs more that 4 gigs man? Seems like a no brainer to me.
     
  17. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Still those fugloy green PCB
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    firefox: 200-500MB
    DC++ (lans, mostly) 500MB
    steam/MS: 200MB between em, worst case\
    windows media player, winamp, MPC-HC at the same time: 300MB (yes, i leave them all running different shows/music - i probably have ADD)

    i'm using 2GB of ram at the desktop, add in another 2GB for my games, and i'm hitting the point where i might just run out of ram.

    what kind of enthusiast could say no to 8GB of OCZ reapers anyway :p
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    You have ADD and I have OCD. I like to do one thing at a time as fast as it can be done. So 4 gigs of the fastest RAM seems like a no brainer. But a buddy of mine is just like you. 16gigs and hes always bitching about needing more RAM. Then again hes a Photoshop artist like myself.

    Do you use Ready Boost? It might help you free some RAM up.
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    nah i dont use it.

    I've got a 300 song playlist in winamp, farcsape DVD's in WMP and anime in MPC-HC... and i normally have a few games minimised as well (i am not opposed to pausing a singleplayer game, alt-tabbing and running a second game.... hehehe)
     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    Give it a try. It may help you a little.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page