1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC boots half way and than turns off...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Braveheart, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. Braveheart

    Braveheart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    any idea's? install went smooth.
  2. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    446 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    Sounds like fun!!!

    Are all the components new new/used?

    I've had this happen where a sector of my HD was bad...install was a breeze but no boot


    Could be an irq conflict in rare cases nowa days

    whats ur setup??
  3. madmanjohn

    madmanjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    midwestern IL-WI stateline area
    fresh os install??

    vista is a bit fussy in a hardware change and 64 is worse- when i took this one from four to 8 gig of ram it would not boot- got the word microsoft at the bottom and a bsod before the green bar ran.

    reinstalled 64, its on that run right now
  4. Braveheart

    Braveheart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    irq? my set up is in my profile, its all new parts except for HDD and optical drive.
    how can i reinstall vista...i can get to the login screen.
  5. iamollie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    101 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    so what happens when you stick in a vista disc and select that from the boot menu
  6. Braveheart

    Braveheart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    can't tell, i can't find my PS/2 keyboard (GIGABYTE boot menu only works with PS/2 keyboards).
  7. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    Any beeps....?
  8. Braveheart

    Braveheart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    nope, when it turns off it's like someone turned it off...nice and slow, no noises or anything...i also tried another power button and it turned on and off in about 10 secs without me pressing the button :eek: but i think that was the button...i wired it myself and they start to fall off sometimes.
  9. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Clear the cmos and get in the bois you need to enable usb keyboard and mouse support. Once you do that you can hit f12 and boot from disk. Can you boot into safe mode? Also is all your hardware seated well? GFX card, RAM, CPU heatsink. I would try booting with a single stick of ram and your OS HDD. Let me know if that helps at all.
  10. Braveheart

    Braveheart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    i can't surf the boot menu without my PS/2 keyboard :banghead: but when i find it i will do that. and yes, everything is seated well.
  11. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Did you get a usb to ps2 dongle with your keyboard?
  12. Braveheart

    Braveheart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    yes, i have 3 siblings looking for it:laugh:
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok: Existing hard drive, was there a previous version of Vista on the hdd from an old setup?
  14. Braveheart

    Braveheart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    affirmative.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I know I am making you sound like a n00b, so don't take offense when I suggest this, re-install your OS.
  16. Braveheart

    Braveheart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,115 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    :slap: how can i do that if it doesn't boot?
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    over heating? NB CPU? SB?
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You mean doesn't post? :confused:
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    no she posts...but shuts down halfway through boot process. just powers down b4 welcome screen.
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    So wouldn't it be a driver conflict from an old install of Vista . . . "??" :eek:
  21. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Ok, first off. What has changed since it last worked? A detailed list is the first thing. OSes don't like when you change chipsets on them so this will help us loads. Second, when they say boot menu I believe they mean boot menu from running off the Windows disk. If this doesn't come up then your HDD is set at a higher boot priority then your optical. There isn't anything we can do to resolve that without a PS/2 keyboard to use in the BIOS (or is it that Gigabyte doesn't accept USB anywhere outside the OS, and I'm the one mistaken on the boot menu vs BIOS thing).


    Sorry, I missed your second post. Still, could you give us what you used to have?
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
  22. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Power supply might be causing an issue... Do you have any spare lying around?
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    not if it was a fresh format....and the system powers off and not BSOD reboot. ;)

    EDIT: im personally thinking overheat...NB or CPU....its happened to me a couple times...more spacifically because of my NB when it was overvolted...those heatpipe coolers look cool but imo they blow...active cooling FTW
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Of course ...

    Then and only then would I agree with you. at that point it would be overheat and/or power supply issues.
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    thats my thought atm.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page