1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC freezing when loading apps and copying files after cold boot.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Widjaja, Jun 5, 2008.

  1. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Everytime after I have shutdown the PC and use it the next day, it freezes on applications loading from the HDD or copying from the HDD.

    I only had one BSOD when copying a file from one HDD to another.
    Error code 0x000009c

    If this only happens when I first start the PC up after not using it for a while, would this be a PSU issue?

    Is it possible PSU does not give enough current on startup as if it needs to be left running for a while like a old car on cold mornings?:confused:

    Right now I have left the PC going for a while and its running without fault.
    Everything which wasn't going is now going.:wtf:
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    does it do it with bios settings set to default? fail safe?
  3. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    sounds like a hdd prob more than psu, could be memory or software as well though.
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Freezes with settings at default.
    My system can go on for stress testing with Orthos for hours with everything at stock and overclocked.
    Did 8 passes in Memtest86+ overclocked and stock.

    If I open up any big app within about three minutes of running the PC after shutting it down for a night, it's almost guaranteed the app will freeze the system.
  5. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Run chkdsk and see what that says. Also make sure your os is clean. Seems like an hdd or os problem to me.
  6. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    thats what im thinking. those 2 seem to most likely be the problem.
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    try scan disk and disk defragmenter
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I have run error checking on the 320GB HDD which has my OS last night and found nothing.

    Make sure my OS is clean?
    Do you mean a fresh install of windows?
  9. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well, you know, ccleaner, defrag, uninstall unused programs, virus and spyware scan, stuff like that, just general upkeep to make sure your os isn't messed up. You can also try to restore to a time before this problem started occuring. And yeah, if none of that works and you can't find another culprit fresh install maybe. Did you look up the error code at all?

    Edit: Couple of google searches w/ that error code seemed to suggest corrupted sectors in the hdd, although nothing definative. What program did you use to try error test it.
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2008
  10. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    i googled the error code, didnt return much of anything useful.
  11. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Also, try booting in safe mode and running an application or two and see what happens.
  12. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    there is a program calld wise disk cleaner3 and wise registry cleaner , just type it in goole and there is too many site to download it clear you registry and disk
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Since I have WD hard drives I decided to use WD Diagnostics and the drives passed the quick and the short test.

    Although I think I may have found the problem.

    I think it's my IDE DVD drive.
    Fisrt of all it always boots up twice for some reason when I start the PC.
    When the system has loaded into windows after cold boot, the DVD drive continues to spin really hard till it makes the case vibrate.
    Tried to open the usual apps when the drive is spinning and the system freezes.
    When I removed the disk and stopped the DVD drive spinning, it stopped the system freezing when I open the apps.

    Now I have to find why my DVD drive continues to spin after everything is loaded.
  14. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    what do you have in the drive?
  15. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    No I was wrong the system still freezes when I first startup the machine adn try open any app even with nothing in the drive.

    Back to square one.
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,899 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    groggy computer... needs to be up for a while to actually wake up :roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    my fathers old computer was like that...his solution was just keep it on 24/7.
    but he got tired of it collecting dust so he just got a new one.

    i know that doesn't help you out much.
    but in all honesty i would try a fresh install of windows im betting that will help you.
    even though i personally dread doing that my self. : /

    i hope you get it fixed though.
  18. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Exactly what it seems to be.

    Looks like it's a fresh windows install.:mad:

    Will post back afterwards.
  19. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Update

    A fresh install of windows didn't fix the issue.
    0x0000009c error showed it's ugly face again.
    System kept on freezing when trying to access data off the 160GB HDD this time so I connected the HDD to SATA port 3 instead of two and had no issues so far.

    Annoyingly other issues popped up but are all fixed.

    My theories so far:-
    1:-Older gen 160GB SATA II and new gen 320GB SATA II has issues when working in SATA ports 1 & 2.
    3:-SATA cable my not have been connected properly and somehow interfered with both HDDs.

    Only way to tell is to wait and see.
    So I'll post back tothis thread in a week if the system is running fine.
    Otherwise I'll post back earlier and say I have gone back to my old motherboard which takes a life time to load due to the limited BIOS hut atleast I won't have the issues I had, fingers crossed.
  20. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I suggest trying different IDE/SATA cables. I was having all sorts of issues with my machine and I thought I had a failing hard disk (back up) because it would make a CLICK sound once in a while when I would open an mp3 or anything else, but I decided to try replacing the IDE cable just to be sure and I have no more clicking and everything seems to run a little faster now too.

    Also try removing any add-in cards one by one to see if one is causing the issue too, and disable some onboard stuff such as sound, and NIC too.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page