1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC is now BSODing/Hard Lock SC2/BF3, randomly, really could use some help.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Huxley2k7, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    453 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Hello guys,

    I'm having real trouble with my PC all of a sudden, and i don't quite know what it is and im on the verge of tears! It seems to occur mainly when gaming, as i haven't had the crash whilst using desktop or the internet. I haven't tried running any movies or anything yet either. The game BSOD's, particularly in SC2, but its so random im having real trouble re-creating it to write down the BSOD error. It can range from hours to 30 minutes before it happens and i haven't been able to re-create it since the last BSOD, last night.

    In Battlefield 3, the game simply hard-locks after around 15 minutes. I am also experiencing the green flashing across screen, which wasn't present a week ago at all and i could play BF3 for hours. However, this appears to be a common issue with BF3 as well, which makes it hard to know whether this is indicative of a problem on my end, or with BF3.

    I recently formatted 2 weeks ago, as well as over clocked, and have been running my PC perfectly fine for a full week until around a week or so ago i began receiving these crashes. In either case, here's what i have done so far to try and remedy the problem.

    I have;

    • Restored BIOS to default values - no success.
    • Monitored heat temps - GPU @ 70-75*C, CPU @ 50-60*C on load.
    • Ran Prime95 during overclocking period which passed.
    • Cleaned out PC with CCleaner
    • Updated ATi Drivers from 11.9 (previously working fine) to 11.10 (latest 31st Oct) using driver sweeper.
    • Disabled HyperThreading - no success.

    Does anyone have any ideas? I'm stuck. My last resort is to format yet again, which means hours of copying across 250gb of backups again with no guarantee of fixing it. Would appreciate all and any help. :respect::respect::respect:

    PS: I have attached my .dmp files. The error i received in EVent Log seemed inconclusive to me, as after typing it into Google it came with lots of different results and i could not pin-point one to mine. This is the error in Event Log i get when my PC has started up, maybe someone can make much of it. As much as i gathered was that its a general Win7 error that means nothing. Perhaps my DUMP files would be more useful to someone who can actually decode them.

     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011
  2. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Are you overclocking your video card at all? This definitely seems video card related. I don't think it is your power supply since you passed Prime95 without a lockup\reboot. I would test your video card using the the gpu test on OCCT.
     
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Did you try running memtest for maybe an hour or more?

    Also i too get green flashes at times in BF3 on my 6970, it's never been enough of a problem for me to do anything about it though since it doesn't occur all the time and it usually only lasts like a second. I'm using the 11.10 preview drivers and i'm thinking it's a issues with AMD cards/drivers.
     
  4. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    453 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Video card is untouched my friend. Never seen OCCT before, will run a test now.

    EDIT: BTW what should i be looking for with this GPU test? Many thanks!


    Haven't tried memtest yet, will give that a go after i have run this OCCT test.

    Good to hear about those green flashes. Strange that i have only started experiencing them recently though, and not for a week after release.

    Again thanks for taking the time to help me out.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011
  5. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    453 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Well here are some results from OCCT. Looks ordinary to me, no errors either.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    It is probably driver related. AMD has had some issues getting things running right with BF3. I will be running BF3 tonight with a 6950 with the latest drivers available (not the preview I believe). I'll see if I can replicate what is happening.
     
  7. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    453 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I wish it were as simple as that, but these hard locks and BSOD's were occuring before i updated my drivers. :(

    I can try rolling back to 11.09, but they seem to be AWOL from the ATi site and i can't find them anywhere.

    Any other ideas?
     
  8. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Should be able to find 11.9 on google quite easily.
     
  9. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    +1, there is no point looking at software issues until the RAM is cleared of blame. The symptoms seem very typical of RAM failure and Memtest is the fastest way to find the fault if it exists.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  10. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    453 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    That's what i thought, im either missing something, or it's just not being hosted anywhere but ATi's site, even though 11.09 appears to be down.

    Ran Memtest for 1 pass, it said 'no errors found, press esc to exit', so i left it to continue for another 30 mins - 1 hour pass and it just stopped @ 100% but kept running through the test with no errors so i assume the memory is okay. Would it be worth running it for longer over night or is that unnecessary?
     
  11. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,788 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    have you checked any background services that may eat much resources
    btw it happens mostly in gaming?
     
  12. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    you might make a full DUMP using a large pagefile as much as you have ram, pagefile needs to be on system partition and RAMSize + 100MB should suffice for DMP File , also you need to set to FULL MEMORY DUMP in system backup options - also appears to be diabled you need to find registery hack for that - just a quick google search.

    Then you need Windows Debugging tools ... and the symbols for your system ... all on MS official site (you need proper installers for your system desktop/server x64 ...etc )

    It's not that simple at first you just need to find the command to execute - i've done it in past i can help with that but ... be back later
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page