1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC not booting from CD. Help Please:(

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CDdude55, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I am using my Secondary system right now.

    I reformatted my system a while ago and i cant reinstall my OS. I am now trying to boot from a different CD(because the other disc doesn't have the CD key), which is Windows Office and it has the key, but when i put it in it says that the intel boot agent or whatever can't find anything, and my PC doesn't boot from CD, How can i make it boot from the CD?


    From what i know of the Windows Office discs are used, so i am not sure if thats the problem, i don't want to spend cash on an OS and it not being able to boot up.

    System specs are in ''System specs''
     
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    No one?
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Have u tried another burner or dvd/cd drive.
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    Does the manual show to hit a key durring boot to get to a CD boot by hitting say enter or a "F" key?

    I do find it odd that you cant set the bios to boot on CD first tho!
     
  5. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i dont know about booting from MS Office disc, that could be the problem. Try using your OS CD that doesnt have the key to see if itll boot. If it will thats your problem. Not sure where intel boot agent came from you are using an nforce???
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Windows Office CD's are bootable? I didn't know that.
     
  7. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    my thoughts exactly. just use the OS CD, you dont have to put the key in right away
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    Yeah I skipped right over the obvious didnt I?:nutkick:
     
  9. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I only have one drive in the PC.
     
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ya, mobo is a nforce 680i SLI SE.
     
  11. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    How would i do that?, I dont think it will let me continue when it asks for the key.
     
  12. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    No, there is no OS installed at all.

    But since i dont have the key for the XP Home Edition (lost it)

    I am trying to boot from a Windows XP Office CD.
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I hate to ask you this but, what are trying to do exactly? Reinstall your OS or install Windows Office? Cause I dont think Office CD's are bootable.

    EDIT: I see your post above^^

    From here out I really can't help you for moral reasons. Illegal in all states and most foreign countries.
     
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    you are having trouble booting at all, right? my point is to use your OS CD just to see if you are able to boot, if you get to the point where CD key is needed you'll know that thats your problem. You will need a new OS.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  15. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Whats Illegal?
     
  16. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Thanks i will try.
     
  17. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i dont think its illegal to boot from MS Office but just impossible. Do what i recomended if it works just buy new OS.
     
  18. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    So its not possible to boot from a Office XP CD?
     
  19. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i seriously doubt it.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  20. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Oh, didnt know that.
     
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    When i put the Home Edition disc if it boots from that, should i wait till i get to the part when i need the key? Or just shut it off after it boots from it?
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Nah, what I meant, I was referring to "lost cd key for OS". That I wont help with.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  23. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Oh, i wasn't trying to get someone to help me get pass it.

    Just wondering why Office isn't booting up, thanks for your help and everyone else to.:toast:

    Going to test CD now.:)
     
  24. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yea, just do what you would normally do when u install the OS and see if u run into any trouble just to make certain. once you get to the CD key part shut it off. I suspect it will work fine.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  25. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    What about booting from the os cd and when it asks for the key, type in the key from office? You said office has the key right?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page