1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC not starting after new CPU installed

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kistel, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    You may wish to try and get it to POST outside of the case first, after examining it (and the case) for either debris, or a wayward screw.
    If the mobo POSTs just fine on cardboard, then there was definitely a short whilst installed in the case.
    Whilst on cardboard, only have the essentials plugged in: power/CPU/RAM (1 stick will do) and keyboard :)

    EDIT: oops.. you may want to hook the monitor up too ;)
     
  2. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    And should I put in the video card as well when doing this?
     
  3. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    yes, if you need to start it without the power button from the case touch the two prongs that the switch is connected to with a screwdriver.
     
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  4. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    If your last successful POST was with the graphics card installed, then yes. Otherwise use the on-board :)
     
  5. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Ok, physically removed the CMOS battery, configured the jumpers as the manual says, and put them back in place. Put the battery back in.

    Same issue.
     
  6. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I'd RMA the cpu as a precaution and get another mobo.......
    If you state the case that the cpu was DOA and ask for return shipping most places will do that...
     
  7. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I will be getting a new motherboard in a few days, likely the M4A785-M ASUS.

    I will try the 1090t and 9950 in that board and see if it starts with both processors. My concern is this, if the 1090t is damaged or DOA and I stick it in a new board, could it damage the board? And would using the 9950 in the same board after the 1090t end up damaging the 9950?
     
  8. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    No to both.
    A dead CPU will not damage the new mobo.

    I'm curious as to why the old mobo died though...
    :/
     
  9. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I am wondering the same thing.

    Either the motherboard was damaged when removing/reinstalling it into the case, or it was damaged when removing the Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer (my original CPU fan/heatsink), which required lots of force to remove.

    I stumbled upon this post where a 1090t killed someones board:
    http://forums.amd.com/forum/message...37&parentid=1199311&FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Single

    Sounds similar to my experience.
     
  10. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    That seems somewhat coincidental yes, but inconceivable, as a CPU drains power, rather than give it out.
    I understand your concern though, for sure.
    I had an issue similar to this, but it turned out to be my PSU which decided to die right at the time of me updating my BIOS :/
    Stuff worked.. then didn't then did again then died completely.

    The problem is.. we may never know the real culprit, although a new mobo may help to sort out what truly does still work ;)

    Sorry to hear about your problems nonetheless.
     
  11. Kistel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    I will probably be getting an AM2+/AM3 ASUS M4A785-M board, it is quite similar to my previous board and affordable.

    Is this a good choice for the 1090t (assuming no overclocking)?
     
  12. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    I think it would be just fine, especially considering you're stuck with DDR2.
    As far as I'm aware, the M3A and M4A series of mobos are pretty solid :)
     
  13. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    usually if the psu goes it well make a click sound, then the pc well reboot or shut off
     
  14. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    I've never had a dying PSU make that noise yet :/
    Perhaps I've been lucky in the last 20-odd years?
     
  15. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    well maybe u havent heard it
     
  16. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Well..as a PSU tends to be made of solid-state components, with only a fan as the moving part, what would cause that sound?
    I could understand capacitors et al making that noise, but that tends to be followed by something like a puff of smoke ;)
     
  17. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  18. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    take the cmos battery out and put it back in? lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page