1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC random shutdowns no bsod

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by crazyeyesreaper, Dec 24, 2010.

  1. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    Alright got my system running

    965be @ stock'
    2x 6970s stock
    Corsair HX850
    Mushkin Blackline 1333 cl 7 1,65v
    now the machine randomly restarts giving a Kernal Power issue in the Windows Event Viewer with no extra info.

    Before i start tearing into things figured id get some feedback

    Im planning to run HDD error check tests, memtest, and im also gonna force the gpus to 100% fan speed and torture test them in games to see if it causes the crash. to try and pinpoint the issue. But as far as i can see it shouldnt be the GPUs there not overheating ram i set to 999 24 1t 1333 and the HX850 should be plenty. So some ideas on this are welcome
  2. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    usually when i get something like that it's voltage. i've had that on my i7 a few times and i usually fixed it by tweaking vcore iirc. may wanna make sure the board isn't giving your chip the wrong voltage. sorry i don't have much experience w/ amd post the athlon days lol.
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    its a stock 965be stock voltage is 1.41v thats enough to get 3800mhz stable so its not CPU voltage but im testing just about everything right now starting with the HDDs then ram
  4. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Go stock everything for a while then see if continues, if so remove a vga, if it stops you know you need more juice
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    yea still i know im only pulling 650w from the wall MAX and i got the cards power tuned to -20% on the TDP so each card is only pulling around 180w maxand with Vsync on im only hitting 35-40% usage in games on a single gpu. Although i can say its completely random but considering recent problems im thinking its an HDD or RAM issue but as i said im testing everything doing an Error Scan on the boot drive right now with HD Tune Pro.

    So in reality my PSU load is only about 400w in game and the 12v rail seems to stable at 12.22v idle 12.20 load

    ram is running 9 9 9 24 1t per default spd detection not the rated 7 7 7 21 1t that there rated for did this on purpose to test stability
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2010
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    what about the heat, have u checked it? Is that on normal level
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    yea gpus max at 92'c cpu max at 48'c
  8. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,698 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Heh, I was getting BSODs today, too. Turned out one of my RAM sticks has bought it.

    It could be a mobo issue or PSU issue if there's no error. Have you got another one you can test?
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    yea im thinking ram or HDD as the psu seems to check out with no problems so far the quick scan for errors turned up 0 errors running a regular scan now about 33% complete and no issues yet. So seems the boot drive might not be the issue. Memtest is up next if i can find a damn cd i had burned it on
  10. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    for cpu it looks pretty normal, but gpu is kinda worrying, shutdown usually related to heat
    btw after shutdown does the rig easy to boot again?
    And 1 more what about the psu power and stability
  11. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    did you go to event viewer and see what error's it's putting up?
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    its an 850w Corsair HX and its pretty much brand new and theres no signs of instability on the power Heat might be an issue but doubtfull the GPUs would throttle if they were overheating so from what i understand and whats happening shit dosent really make sense. Eitherway HDD is 50% through the test. and yes i did ill grab a screen shot in a sec
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.


    + System

    - Provider

    [ Name] Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    [ Guid] {331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}

    EventID 41

    Version 2

    Level 1

    Task 63

    Opcode 0

    Keywords 0x8000000000000002

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2010-12-24T17:35:16.966020000Z

    EventRecordID 57022

    Correlation

    - Execution

    [ ProcessID] 4
    [ ThreadID] 8

    Channel System

    Computer DARKMATTER

    - Security

    [ UserID] S-1-5-18


    - EventData

    BugcheckCode 0
    BugcheckParameter1 0x0
    BugcheckParameter2 0x0
    BugcheckParameter3 0x0
    BugcheckParameter4 0x0
    SleepInProgress false
    PowerButtonTimestamp 0

    thats it

    [​IMG]
  14. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    why is the negative 12v rail so low ? I forget what is on it but it could indicate ground path issues on a dirty connection. Try reseating all your power cabling and see if that number fixs itself.
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    i didnt notice that ill check it out once the HDD finishes its test only about 20% left to go
  16. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    I forget whats its used for specifcally but I think its used for pwm power regulation IIRC, could cuase a BSD.
  17. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    hmm well all i know is the machine just restarts no bsod no error no nothing just like it goes OOPS i shat myself or something lmao granted still a pain the ass
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    hardrives passed ram passed psu seems stable cpu also stable im guessing its just dirty power causing issues
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,810
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Geomagnetic pulses on the 23rd. I blame that. I had issues too...I have another possible culprit, but I like the whole "blame the solar energy we can do nothing about" thing.
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    well it seems stable now just ran 30 runs of Crysis warhead bench and no issues

    but i did find something interesting id like you test out dave if you dont mind ill send you a pm in a bit

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page