1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

pc restarts every 2 seconds ..

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fritoking, Sep 8, 2012.

  1. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    ok guys..i need a little help here..have an asus tower with an intel pentium cpu....about 2 yrs old...push the power button and it constant loops ..fans start and spin dvdrom spins up and it shuts off and repeats...took all the ram out..tried individual sticks..(its pc6400) ..tried some of my pc2-1066 , tried a new psu i have...reset the bios via removing the battery for 20 seconds..no dice...and ideas?
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Sounds like a motherboard issue, or proc.
  3. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    i was thinking that , but wanted to try everything i could...
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I was goign to say PSU issue till you said you tried another one.

    Try reseating the proc. I fixed a system last week with either a memory of CPU issue so i reseated both the memory and CPU and changed out the TIM on the CPU.
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,151 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Have you tried all the components outside of the chassis? Sounds like it's shorting out.
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ya thats a plausible reason too.
  7. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    the components are all mine and i know they work...they just brought the tower over ..i will try to reseat the cpu
  8. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    no dice..im assuming its board related
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,841 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,917
    Location:
    Oregon
    Don't assume. Test. I have never seen a board cycle because its bad or CPU for that matter. So something is causing it to not post and forces it to restart.
  10. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    I have some costumer before with broken power button before, I would unplug thet power button first, and manually short the pins, rule out power button possibility broken.
    (Try clean up thet PC from dust too. )
    Jetster says thanks.
  11. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,483
    All the PSU wires properly connected to corresponding devices? i had a similar problem with my old Q9450 rig after putting a new gfx card in, the 20 pin connector to mobo from PSU wasn't fully connected and my comp just kept restarting every few seconds (i.e. fans and lights coming on then going off).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yeah, most likely it's an electrical issue. Try re-seating the connectors.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Sounds like a short to me.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    change mobo and report back
  15. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,151 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    So did you test the essential components outside of the chassis by shorting the power on/off pins on the motherboard, or did you just reseat the processor? I had a used SilverStone Sugo SG05 case that would cause the same issue you're describing because the power button was sticking.
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    you know the reset switch is wired the same so u can just swap them...
  17. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    the pc is super clean inside...yes all the wires are plugged in properly..i even unplugged each one individually and tried to restart(to the dvdrom , hd) the keyboard everything....
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  18. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    My pc also gave similar problem.. it would beep and nothing will happen. The power button would go non-responsive... Changed my PSU but still problem existed..
    A friend told me to change CMOS battery... and it worked... Try that.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    some of those boards power up, turn off, then power back on again and boot normally. you sure its not doing that?
  20. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Try one stick of RAM, remove all HDDs and optical drives (both the power and data cables), even graphics card and see if the system maintains power. If no luck, try it with a different stick of RAM, if again no luck then I am going with the others and saying it is a electrical fault/short.

    You could also maybe connect a speaker to the motherboard and see if it outputs any error codes.
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  21. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    yes..it would do it all day if i let it.ive tried the single sticks of ram..booting with no hd...i will try the cmos battery , but its less than two years old and should not be bad
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    Mexico
    Have you tried to assemble the setup outside the case?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,068 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    ^^

    This or just completely take everything out and reinsert, something as simple as a standoff for the mobo can cause a short
  24. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    no i have not tried that....but i may yet...like i said its not my pc and they just wanted to know if i could try to fix it.
  25. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,558
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I, believe, I am leaning toward a power problem side of the room.

    Check the capacitors real close for bulging/leakage.
    Does that have a fan controller board, like some vendors used; if so, unplug it and try.
    Did you check for discoloration on the CPU/socket, under the motherboard, in or around the power connector?
    Have the people, who's PC it is, recently had any power outages/surges?

    Also, for grins and giggles, check the CMOS reset jumper block and make sure that nobody has, maybe, put it in the wrong position.
    And, while you do this check... reset the BIOS.

    It sounds like an ASUS pre-built... can you give the model or specs.?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page