1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC shuts down randomly when playing games

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by antony209494, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    So I finally worked out (sort of) my crossfire BSOD problem and now I have another. Demanding DX11 games mostly shut down my PC after minutes of starting them (usually 2-5 mins).Happens absolutely all the the time in Far Cry 3 and Crysis 3. I read somewhere that it was a file in catalyst 12.10 that caused all sorts of crashes so t I thought it could be that. But yesterday I installed 13.4 and nothing changed.I have an sapphire 6970 flex and a sapphire 6950 with unlocked shaders. I don't understand why. My cards don't even have the time to heat up a lot to blame it on overheating they reach like 60+. My PSU is more than enough for such a crossfire (it can actually power up even 2 GTX 590s). I am all out of ideas:confused:.
  2. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,227 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    GMT +2
    check gpu power cables if are fixed well. and also check current on vga power cables. psu may have enough power for your current set but it is possible to not actualy supplay amount of power that cards need because of psu failure.
  3. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Have you tried taking testing the video cards one at a time?

    I ask as it appears that the video cards has been the only change since the 590s?
  4. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Yes it happens with a single card as well. But I never had two 590:) a friend of mine did and and had the same PSU.
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,715 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,310
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    shutdown could from your processor thats too hot
    have you checked its temp?
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    While on paper that PSU is capable of delivering enough for your machine it might indeed be the problem. Do you have anything overclocked? Does it work with only one GPU?
  7. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I say again NO! Same problem exists with one card (regardless of which of the two).
  8. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,673 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,998
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Check CPU temps, as mentioned above, as that causes spontaneous shutdowns. The only other thing is that the PSU isnt providing the actual power its supposed to.
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,009
    like already asked, what are your cpu temperatures?
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  10. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    How to see that without going in bios? Real Temp 3 says it doesn't support my cpu.:confused:
  11. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,715 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,310
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    you can touch the heatsink when it suddenly shutdown
    is the heatsink pretty hot to touch :toast:
  12. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,673 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,998
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Google cpu temp monitor and pick one from about 3 million?
  13. Huddo93

    Huddo93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    299 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    yeah, definitely look into temperatures. If you believe you have exhausted possible causes due to software, have a look into the temps of your graphics cards and your CPU. If your components are getting to hot your computer will basically do as your described and randomly black screen.
  14. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I know. Nothing works. Either they fail to install or don't show temps saying my CPU is unsupported.
  15. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Sorry I can't get something to work on monitoring in-game cpu temp but I downloaded overdrive and on idle temps are always above 40. Opened crysis 3 with one GPU for like 3 mins and the temp went immediately to 73+. The maximum safe for the fx 8120 is 61 :eek: but are these core temps or socket temps? Idk. Can someone clarify?
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,673 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,998
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Definitely too high, I'm pretty sure thats under the usually "shit bricks and turn the fuck off" point, but after long periods that temp will just go up and games will likely throttle. Temps are pretty damned high in other words. Try repasting and turn any overclock off, or get a better cooler if you're on stock.
  17. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Actually I got CPUID Hardware monitor and I think it shows core temperature now. It pumps up to 60+ in the first 1 min of playing Crysis 3 and the shut down occurs 1-2 min after. So it is probably CPU overheating. But why? It didn't do this before and I played normally on this machine a while ago. Why doesn't it happen with other games? So far it has shut down on Crysis 3, Far Cry 3, GTA IV but I could play all of these normally just a few weeks ago.
  18. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    RCoon now I saw your message. My CPU is not overclocked but yes I am on stock cooler
  19. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,016 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Theres no reason that the stock cooler wouldent handle the cpu at stock,just redo the paste.
  20. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I forgot to mention the most important thing like an idiot. Now that I think about it this started when I got the 6970. I immediately noticed much more noise coming from my case and I was like "damn why is this card so loud?". Well, guess what, it wasn't the card making the extra noise but the cpu cooler. Before I added it it was never this loud so I am assuming it didn't overheat at that time too. Is it normal for better GPUs to overheat the CPU?
  21. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,016 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    Central Israel
    What case are you using?,can we get a picture of the inside of your case?
  22. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    And for the sake of numbers:

    Idle: 15-26 (which is OK)

    Under heavy load: 60-77 (which is NOT OK)

    And I just scored a new record: 86 C
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2013
  23. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    If the GPUs sit bellow the CPU and you have bad airflow then all the hot air coming off of them will heat up the CPU and anything else above them.
  24. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I'm amazed it still works in order to show you the 86C. As all have said here, take down the HSF, clean and redo thermal paste.
  25. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I'll post a pic of the rig so you can tell me better although I don't think that's the problem. Yes I am amazed too it still lives.I'll take it off and clean it later

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page