1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC starts and runs, display only in standby mode

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by jcdenton21, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    PC starts and runs, display only in standby mode-beep code recognized

    hi guys
    I would like to ask wheather somebody had ever the same problem as me with PC
    my configuration is
    MoBo: ASUS A8N-E (rev2.00, bios 1013, 1006 and other- same problem) chipset cooled by Zalman NB47J + 120mm fan blowing onto Zalman
    RAM: 2x256MB GoodRAM PC3200 (2-3-2-6 1T also 2.5-4-4-8 2T, same problem)
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (default 2000MHz, 2500MHz-same problem) cooled by AC Freezer64 pro
    VGA: Sapphire x700 128MB/128bit PCI-e (400/500 also 475/630-same problem) cooled by Zalman VF700 AlCu
    tested also with S3 2MB 765 - same problem
    HDD Seagate 120GB SATA1 (ST3120827AS)
    Case Eurocase ML 5410
    PSU Eurocase 400W (+3,3V 30A, +5V 32A, -5V 0,3A, +12V 16A, -12V 0,8A, +5VSB 2A)
    Sea Sonic S12-380 (SS-380HT Active PFC) is ordered and I am waiting

    and now the problem
    I was changing stock cooler on my VGA, then I put VGA into pci-e x16 slot, pc started but no screen on display (it was black and LED was orange, normally it is green)
    clear cmos didn´t help
    so I unplugged power cable for cca 15 minutes and after that pc started normally with display working
    few weeks later I was changing cpu stock cooler an it was the same as before-pc started but display not:cry:
    clear cmos also didn´t help
    unplugging yes
    then I was changing that little asus chipset fan and it was same again
    I put there my s3 vga and still no screen
    I put my X700 into pci-e x4 slot and it worked
    then I put X700 into pci-e x16 slot and it worked again and display was working

    as I am thinking now I happend only 4 or 5 times and before that I was doing something with HW (changing coolers mostly)
    it is prime stable and temperatures are good
    If I don´t do anything with HW it works fine (2 month from last cooler changing)
    where is the problem
    could you help me please

    my x700 is maybe 10 months old(less than 1 year)
    yeah I´ll wait for psu and then test
    problem is that I don´t have speaker in case so I can´t hear beeps
    twice it booted with pci vga but once even pci vga didn´t help (then I plugged x700 and it worked fine)

    or to be correct
    with PCI vga it booted always correct when it was in first PCI slot (in manual it is shared)
    damn PSU:banghead:
    it didn´t arrive and they told me that 2 weeks later it might come

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 5, 2006
  2. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    i hate to say it but i think u kiled it
  3. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Seems like the video card is messed up.
    When you changed the cooler, did you put artic silver 5 on it.
    Also, did you make sure that the artic silver is not touching the card, since it can short the card out.
  4. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    this was the reason why not to put there AS5 (it might be conductive a bit)
    I put tehe arctic silver ceramique
    it was not exactly after changing coolers
    I started PC and it was fine, then I set up bios-restart but without screen
    Have I really killed it???? :cry:
  5. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    My other question is why did you stick it in the PCI-4x slot?
    That could of possibly screwed up the card as well.
  6. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    and why not
    other people told me it is normal and compatibile and there is no performance drop (with x700)
    but it didn´t work with PCI vga s3 which also worked fine
    now it works with pci-e x16 and x4 and also pci vga
    please help
    but I have no problems for at least 2 months

    //edit:
    I heard it can be also run in PCI-e x1 slot even if it doesn´t fit there
    I also heard it can be bad contact
    I can´t see any bad capacitators on MoBo
    but why helps unplugging?
    help please I don´t have money to buy a new HW:cry:
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2006
  7. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    What I meant when I said screw up the card is by pulling it in and out a lot.
    It could screw up the connectors.

    Also, I was just looking and your PSU only has 16A on the 12V line which is def. not a lot of power for your computer. (FYI - 12V line powers your components in your comp).
    It could be as simple as your PSU not supplying enough power to your system.
  8. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    I had a similar prob about 4-5 months ago, i wasn't messing around with anything so i could rule out it was nothing i did but sometimes when i booted up the pc the monitor would just sit there in standby. Rebooting, re-sitting grfx card, clearing cmos none of this worked.
    The only thing that worked was to unplug the monitor from mains for about 15 mins then presto working again.
    I had this prob constantly for about a month then all of a sudden it went and touch wood never comes back.
    Sorry i dont have a fix for u.:ohwell: :)
  9. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    thats exactly what is happened to me
    now I don´t have problem

    yeah I am waiting for the new PSU (it should come last week but I still don´t have it:slap:

    //edit:
    card was replugged 5 maybe 8 times, I don´t think it could screw up connectors and I hope it didn´t
    I hope it was caused by PSU or electricity problems(maybe somewhere were some storms or something like that)
  10. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    jcdenton,

    First try out the new PSU.
    If that does not work then lets go piece by piece.
    It could be the motherboard, RAM, Video Card, PSU.
  11. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    piece by piece is the best way but I don´t have where to test it
    all the friends have socket A cpus and AGP cards or P4 mainboards with AGP
    I don´t know how to test it because I didn´t find any rule where I don´t have screen and when I do
    when PSu comes, I´ll test and let you know
  12. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Do u have another monitor u can use, i say this because the first time it happened to me i just thought my monitor had died. I had a old spare 17"CRT monitor and that worked fine, so i booted up with the LCD and no display, swapped vga cable to CRT and it worked, swapped back to LCD no display.
    So i used the old CRT for a week thinking the LCD was dead, then just tried it again and all was good, until the next morning. Anyway the problems been gone for about 5 months now so hopefully me and u wont see this again.:)
  13. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    I have old 15"CRT which is dying now
    I can´t see sides of screen (when you imagine 16:9 looking on 4:3 monitor) black stripes up and sown and invisible stripes on the left and right (I can´t center it)
    I will get 17"CTR or buy new LCD

    might monitor be the problem??? (was produces in 1999)
  14. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    well it is 7 years old now so i wouldn't expect to last much longer, although u never really know.
    Like i said mine is ok now (maufactured 2002) and hopefully yours is too, so i would only buy a new one if it is faulty, u dont like it or have enough money to buy another one. :)
  15. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Hey Jc,

    Sorry I should of have been more descriptive.
    Right now patience will be the best thing.
    Wait for the PSU to come and see if it fixes the problem.
    1. If it doesnt then lets move on and unplug everything, but the power from the motherboard...Keep the CPU in and remove everything else (including the RAM and Video Card)....Your motherboard should beep which means your motherboard is fine.

    2. Next put your RAM in and your motherboard should beep as well (a different kind of beep from the first one)....If it is the same beep your RAM might be bad...If it is a different beep then move on.

    3. Test your video card in another computer and see if the same problem persists.

    Also, how old is your video card? One of my friends had an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro and it lasted about 4 years. It pretty much died after that (transistors feel off with other things). Just wanted to make sure that your card isnt too old.

    But remember patience is virtue
  16. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    or the orher thing is to start it on a pci video card and see if it boots if it dose it is eather power or videocard
  17. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    hey guys I still don´t have new seasonic PSU but I have new infos
    I removed everything from case and then put it in
    I plugged vga into pci-e x16 no screen
    then I plugged it to pci-e x4 and it worked
    then I plugged it into pci-e x16 and is worked fine
    so I think VGA and MoBo are OK
    maybe bad PSU maybe dying monitor
    when I get new psu I´ll write here

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 5, 2006
  18. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 5, 2006
  19. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Basically there just mentioning the usual simple problem solving technique, making sure everthings in properly.
    So i take it u haven't really done anything and have been trouble free for a while like myself?
    As a last ditch attempt to find the problem, i know and have heard that monitor/vga cables can have problems, dont know how or why but a friend who builds comps has had a couple of faulty cables and also some that seemed to be fine then over time just die.
    Dont know if anyone can back me up on this but might be worth checking.
  20. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    Ok bios downloaded(guys from asus send me 1403), flashed.
    New psu installed (seasonic s12 380W)
    same situation as before, but this time I got beepcode because I connected speaker
    the colde is
    long-short,short,short
    connecting to pci-e x4 fixed it
    I think it is something with memory
    coul you help me please?
    if you want to hear it I can record it with mobile and upload
    bios is phoenix award 6.0
    I found this
    Beep Codes for phoenix award

    The only AwardBIOS beep code indicates that a video error has occurred and the BIOS cannot initialize the video screen to display any additional information. This beep code consists of a single long beep followed by two short beeps. Any other beeps are probably a RAM (Random Access Memory) problems.


    Award BIOS Beep Codes:
    1long, 3short No video card or bad video RAM Reseat or replace the video card.


    asus update software shows me bios type AWARD
    CPU-Z shows me bios brand: phoenix technologies
    everest showe me bios type AWARD
    award bios type: phoenix-awardBIOSv6.00PG
    in BIOS I can see this: Phoenix - AwardBIOS CMOS Setup Utility


    in attached zip are 3 files
    *.avi with normal start and beep (short beep exactly when monitor turns on)
    2*.wav (one with normal short beep when everything works fine and one with beep code that tells me problem but I don´t know what does it mean)
    help please

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 4, 2006
  21. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    so
    mail from asus support arrived
    Award
    1 beep--ok.
    2 short beep---the CMOS setup is wrong
    1short 1long----ram or mb have trouble.
    1long 2 short-----monitor or vga have problem
    1long 3 short--keyboard controller have problem
    1long 9 short--problem on the bios ,Flash RAM or EPROM have problem
    short short short(forever)-----power supply have problem
    long long long long (forever)------momery have problem

    could it really be keyboard controller not the VGA???
    what do you think?
  22. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    u should check the vga cable ( move it around abit) to see if it helps.
  23. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,642 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    So what is the beeps? Or i've probably missed it.
  24. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
  25. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    interesting my friends new core 2 system with an asus p5nsli does the same thing when he unplugs the computer to bring it to lan party's and such the first time he powers it on the monitor stays in standby mode till you restart the computer but it does load windows because the hdd light blinks intermittently like when it loads windows xp and then you hear the windows sound when your desktop loads but yet no signal to monitor till u press the restart button on the case then it loads and works fine btw its a e6300 Core 2 on an asus p5n sli with an evga 7600gt

    since where on this subject since i switched to dvi cable from vga on my computer i cant see the bios splash or the windows xp loading screen it only comes on when windows starts and some times once it comes on i have to reset the monitor to get rid of display corruption.
    i have it set as the primary display in ccc and windows this is on an ati x850xtpe this happens weather i have a secondary vga monitor pluged in or not only i see those screens on the vga monitor and not the dvi btw its a dvi-d cable cause thats what my display has

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page