1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC to Xbox streaming only works if I disable the Firewall

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Akumos, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    Hi

    My PC streams to my xBox fine if I disable the firewall. How do I allow it in the firewall so I don't have to keep going up stairs to stream?

    I'm not going through media centre... Just selecting my PC from video library.

    Thanks
  2. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Turn off Windows Firewall and install a better firewall program.

    I use Kaspersky Internet Security, but for free ZoneAlarm is really good.
  3. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    But if you don't want to do that you need to allow,

    - Windows Media Player
    - Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service
    - Windows Media Client Service
    - Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service Configuration Application

    And of course enable file sharing on your PC.
    Akumos says thanks.
  4. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    Well he already uses Mcafee firewall (probably says it all)!! If I went through Media Centre I could just allow all connections to it. But we can't do it this way!
  5. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    maybe try using PS3 Media server instead, it works just fine for the XBOX360..... its how i stream videos to the entertaintment room.



    it will also automaticaly transcode any movies that are not compatible with the xbox360.
  6. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...

    So I can play MKVs on my Xbox?
  7. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    well yes and no,


    when you browse to a folder that contains a .MKV video....... it will also display a folder called Transcode.

    if you play the transcode folder it will convert the movie ON THE FLY using your PCs CPU to a format that can be displayed on the xbox.





    so yes you can play MKVs but they will be converted on the fly using your PCs hardware.
    your PCs CPU will need to be strong enough to keep up however..... only real way to find out if its upto the job is to give it ago.


    (Q6600 @ Stock settings will handle it just fine.)
    Akumos says thanks.
  8. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    Awesome. Thanks SlyFox! Can't wait to try this out.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page