1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pc turns on, but will not display anything

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freaksavior, Jul 20, 2007.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    So as the title says my pc will now turn on, but it will not display anything on the monitors. i have tried one and both monitors.

    list of what i have tried

    putting my video card into my dads computer.
    resetting cmos by taking bat out for 10-15min


    thats all i have tried but it worked before i had turned it off from it being plugged into my tv.

    I don't know what to do again, Arg i am starting to hate pc's i want a mac so bad now.......

    thanks for the help in advance.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    any idea?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    *Points at RAM* Yes, since it was running at that speed I would assume its that. Anyway sell ur proccy for a E2140 :p.


    Take one stick out then test it, then if it doesnt work, take it out and put the other back in. If none work... RMA ASAP OR. Use another Stick of RAM and test it, if it doesnt work it means ur mobo commited suicide.
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2007
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    how coud it be ram? i get no beeps or anything.

    I could try my dads ram.........should i?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yes it is, just try it. The RAM causes this all the time, with dead ram = no POST.
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    that would be a negative on the ram..........i m thinking it's the mobo. The fans and everthing come on but i get no beeps or post. maybe it's my proc.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    any other suggestions?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    help plz?

    if my cpu was dead would it turn on? if my mobo was dead would it even turn on?

    I have tried resetting the cmos.
    one stick and 2 sticks of ram.
    checked all the connections.

    Ran it without in extras ie floppy and cd.
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    did you try your ram in your dads or did you put his in yours ??

    "I have tried resetting the cmos."

    did your try with the jumper
  10. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    i put my ram in his.

    i didn't see the need to put his in mine when mine worked in his
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    its worth a try ;)

    cuz I had one that was bad and it would boot

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page