1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC will not start with out on and off on and off

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by DaMulta, Oct 21, 2007.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,123 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    OK now when I start my PC"Stock" I have to turn my PC on and off on and off on and off. It will not just post in the morning it black screens and my tracer memory lights are showing a lock up. This happens when it sits for around 6-8 hours.

    But if I turn it off during the day for just an hour or so this problem isn't there at all.


    Could this be a side effect of the dielectric silicon compound that I put in my CPU socket?
     
  2. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    hmmm like its causing some kind of conductant thats overheating when left at idle tempretures for prolonged times, best thing you can do is not leave it on for silly times!!
     
  3. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,025 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    What have you tested so far, sounds like a ram problem, when you turn it back on are all your bios setting still there?
     
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,123 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Overheating? Uhhh no
     
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,123 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Sounds like a ram problem you think? I hope not.......


    Yea all the settings are still there.
     
  6. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    im totally lost DaMulta, if its not the dielectric silicon compound thats reacting badly then i think that the only other option is that you RAM doesn't like running for long periods of time.
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,123 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    When I turn off my computer over night and come to turn it back on is when it does this.

    If I just leave it on there is no problems.
     
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,025 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    You should try running 2 sticks or even 1 to see if the problem is still there, I have a similar problem with 1 stick of my OCZ memory when goin to turn on my pc from leaving it over night wouldnt post, so i took 1 stick out worked fine, then put the other stick in later on the ram seemed fine till the next day it did it again.
     
  9. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    so a case of dodgy RAM?
     
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,123 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Mem test is showing no errors.
     
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,123 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I wonder if this new chip has a weak mem controler :(
     
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,025 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    i ran memtest 86+ over and over i never fould a problem with my OCZ, are you shore our board can run 4x crucial not all boards can.
     
  13. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,025 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    The web site dosnt tell you any think about what type of ram is compatible, so just go though and test 1 stick at a time to see if it post the next day.
     
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,123 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I have ran this board with 4 sticks forever now, but with a FX 62 not the 5000 black,
     
  15. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    @ DaMulta, Epox has been known for problems with their mobos and multiple memory slots. One stick almost always works just fine, but when several sticks are installed there are known issues, Epox does not admit the problem. An RMA may be the way to go. They never argue the issue, they usually just replace the mobo.

    :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page