1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC won’t boot?, interesting …

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by archenemynl, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey guys, a 6 month old computer is having boot troubles. It shuts itself down 1 second after it’s powered on. Then it turns itself on again, only to turn itself off 1 sec later. No bios, no windows.

    The trouble started after I installed an Intel graphics driver. First time after reboot I could use the pc for 10 minutes, the second time it shut down after 5, the third time only 1, now I can’t boot at all (see 1st paragraph). During the 3rd time it booted I managed to install a temp monitoring software, but did not detect anything special in the cpu temp (as far as I know). Oh ya: there are no beeps @ startup.

    Here’s a List of sys specs:

    Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz 6MB LGA1155 Quad-core
    EVGA GeForce GTX670 FTW - 2GB HDMI/DVI/Display Poort
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H ATX Z77 LGA1155 Intel Z77 - 4 x DDR3 - SATA600/USB3.0
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB Kit (2x4GB) DDR3/1600MHz C9 DDR3 - 240 pin - 1,5V - CL9 - 2x 4GB Kit
    Corsair TX V2 Series. 650 Watt. ATX. Power Supply. EU Ver ATX12V 2.31 / EPS12V 2.92
    CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo CPU Cooler Socket
    Antec One Mid Tower ATX - USB / Audio
    Crucial 240 GB SSD

    Here’s what I tried already:

    Connected different PSU
    Connected Video Card
    Removed everything (yes even the processor), and reconnected.
    Inspected processor/motherboard for damage
    Reset CMOS/BIOS
    Tired to launch with only processor and 1 memory stick

    What do you guys think the problem could be? I’d sure love to know!
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,933
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    OK, so does it start to load windows, then crash?

    you say one second, makes it sxeem like you hit power, then poof....then you say you got to install some hardware...so when exactly does it crash?:eek:


    If you insxtall Intel VGA driver, then disable the VGA, windows will fail to load. Even if Intel VGA is enabled, but not primary display device, Windows will crash.

    So I'm wondering if this is the source of the problem...but reading your post left me a bit confused.:p
    archenemynl says thanks.
  3. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    1) Nope I dont get windows, even bios doesn't start anymore.
    2) It crashes permanently now, no matter what hardware I connect to it. I haven't tried to switch the mobo/cpu yet though.
    3) I've been running on the build-in video card for about 2 weeks now, no problems whatsoever. Could the driver update have messed up the settings?
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I don't thinks so since you can even get in the bios. If it was just crashing in windows then yes. This is pure hardware failure somewhere. Have you tried removing it from then case€ then clearing the cmos and trying with bear essentials?
    archenemynl and cadaveca say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ay, I've tried to remove the Mobo from the case. Afterwards I ran it with just the processor/ram. It yielded no results though :(.

    After that I tried a different PSU. Nothing again.
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,933
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Hrm. Doesn't sound too positive, really.

    I'd look at ram, CPU, and motherboard as the problems, would be nice to have the stuff to test each on it's own. If those three aren't working together, I mean ,you cannot get more basic if CMOS has been cleared. Is there an LED POST display on that board?
    archenemynl says thanks.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    Things to check if you haven't:

    - Try flipping the power/reset switch leads that go from your case to the motherboard

    - Double/Triple check all power connections again. Make sure there aren't any PCI-E and CPU power cables mixed up.

    - Grab your manual and check any and all jumpers on the motherboard.

    - Check for bent pins in the CPU socket.

    - Keep the CMOS battery removed for at least 10 minutes.
    archenemynl and cadaveca say thanks.
  8. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeh, but since the pc shuts down within a second, it cant display anything useful.
  9. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    is your heatsink seated properly with new thermal paste and the old stuff cleaned off? cpu fan plugged in? power connections correctly and fully inserted? make sure your clear cmos jumper is not still on the reset pina.
    archenemynl says thanks.
  10. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    make sure the pch (The big chip on the MB) has the heat sink seated properly. Else, replace the motherboard.
    archenemynl says thanks.
  11. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Im currently using the power button on the Mobo to boot, the case shouldn't be the issue

    The hardware is connected just fine, It worked before the driver update, I didn't change anything until the system didn't want to boot.

    There's a jumper to clear CMOS. I gave it a shot yet no results

    Checked it but found nothing out of the ordinary.

    Nothing, same as before.


    Ps: This particular mobo has 2 bios boots: a normal and backup. When the pc starts it tries from one - crash - then it tries to boot from the backup bios - crash -. This process keeps repeating over and over again. I'm not sure it has any value, but thought i'd mention it.
    pps: thnx guys for troubleshooting
    erocker says thanks.
  12. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The Heatsing is seated relatively properly. When I removed the heatsink/processor to check for broken pins in the socket, i was sure to apply new paste when the heat sink was put back.

    The CMOS clear is a button on my board, so no worries about that. The cpu fan doesn't seem to solve the problem either way.
  13. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Pch? Every heatsink is steated firmly though, I doubt it could be the problem.
    There's still warranty on the Mobo, yet I want to be absolutely sure it's the problem before sending it back.
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Now when you are clearing the cmos, you do have the power core removed from the psu right? You probably do but some small things like that can be overlooked when in the heat of things.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,062
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    What erocker and the madshot are saying is that with the PSU in the ON posistion, it delivers a small amount of power to the motherboard which will retain CMOS information. To properly clear the CMOS, you must unplug and turn off the PSU then remove the CMOS battery and let it sit for 15-20 minutes. This should completely clear out any leaking voltage that the motherboard and PSU hold.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    To me it sounds like a dead motherboard. If you have an onboard/case speaker for the board, try to post without any ram and see what happens.
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah what he said. LOL Unplug the Psu from the wall, then remove the battery. Hit the power switch on the mobo to discharge any residual energy. Then hit the clear cmos button. Leave the battery out for about 10 mins just to be sure. Then try again with bare essentials, cpu, mem, gpu.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes, I've cleared the CMOS w/o the mobo being connected to the powersupply. Even took out the battery for good measure. It didn't change the situation though. The computer still shuts itself down after 1 sec.
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Hmm this isn't looking good man. Sounds as if the board or cpu may have took a dump on you.
    archenemynl says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    I'm thinking the same.
    archenemynl and cadaveca say thanks.
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,933
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, tough one. Could be PSU, ran into similar recently myself, but that was tested, so board or CPU is most likely. if it was ram, there'd be a code displayed on the POST LED. Could be some sort of short withy the casing, too, if tested outside of system, that'd eliminate that.


    Hopefully you have a local store or something you can take this into for testing, I'm fresh out of ideas here.
    archenemynl says thanks.
  22. archenemynl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Too bad, thnx for the help anyway guys!

    I really hoped it could be fixed more easily, but it looks as though I should try a new mobo or proc.

    What's in your opinion more likely to break in this scenario: the processor or the mobo?
  23. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Motherboard.
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    test the PSU first
  25. axis007

    axis007

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    44 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hey mate this is horror story i feel your pain. I'm a system builder and believe me this kinda crap happens quit a bit. Like some of the guys are saying, it's very likely that board is fried. Have you tried different cpu and ram... If the board wont post with say a G830 and one stick of QVL ram in it then it's probably a good bet in saying its a dead board. Considering all the trouble shooting you have done.

    Send it back for RMA and direct them to this thread and say i bloody well tried...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page