1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC wont boot after lock up, MB led is on!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by drdroopy, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yesterday i was playing a game and my PC locked up, to i powered down by holding power button and the computer would not turn on, no response what so ever. the led on my mobo is lit up, i tried reseating everything on my board (not the cpu), still nothing, im guessing that it is my board, any thoughts, thanks in advance
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,443 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    try clearing the cmos you motherboard manual should tell you how to do this. if your motherboard does not have a cmos clear jumper unplug it from the wall and remove the button cell battery for a few hours and then try to start it if that dont work something may have gone seriously wrong
  3. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Yeah clear CMOS.

    I dont think a lock up is going to be the result of damaged hardware.

    Fill system specs please in USER CP. Were you overclocked?
  4. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Upsated system specs in user CP, was barly overclocked, to a 3300+, 100hz or so, and cpu temp was still running low last time i checked
  5. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Your PSU has sufficient amps on the 12v line so that shouldnt be an issue.

    Did clearing CMOS work?
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Any beeping by the mobo to indicate other hardware problems?
  7. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just put battery back into mobo, still no change, as for beeping no, not getting any response what so ever
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Maybe your PSU bit the dust. Do you have a spare one you can slap on to check?
  9. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just slapped anotherone in there, hooked up only the board power cable's, same thing, board led is on, no response
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Well the next thing I would try is to disconnect everything from the Mobo that you do not need to at least get to a POST screen. So unplug all peripherals (IDE, SATA, etc., and pull all cards except video. You only need a keyboard and a video card to get to the POST screen. This will tell you if something else is causing the mobo to hand early on.
  11. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nope still no response =( also looked at all the cap's on the board and dont see any blown
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It could still be the video card (although mobos usually let you know if they are bad), do you have another AGP card you could try? Or maybe an old PCI one laying around?
  13. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    could dead ram be the cause?
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Yeah, if you have more than one stick, try swapping slots, or trying them one at a time.
    drdroopy says thanks.
  15. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    naw no extra cards laying around, agp or pci at least, and ive tryed removing the sticks of ram, one at a time and what not, no response, also tried w/o the video card, nothing.....
  16. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    hm.

    If you can access another compy, chuck all your hardware in one by one to test it. If they all check out its most probably your mobo.
    drdroopy says thanks.
  17. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok, will give it a go and update you, thanks for help, have a feeling its my mobo, but hey just give me a reason to get the hardware ive been wanting to get heh
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Just out of curiosity, how long did you leave the battery out of the mobo in order to reset the cmos?
  19. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Just out of curiousity. How long is it?
    Ive never needed to...dual bios ftw.
  20. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    little over an hour
  21. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Did you unplug the pc too?
    Im not sure if its necessary...Kreji will fill us in hopefully :)
  22. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    The best way to clear the CMOS is to use the "Clear RTC Ram" jumper on mobo. Follow instructions in section 2-6 of manual. Also, hook up a speaker and enable the "Post Reporter" to see if there are any POST errors.
  23. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    His compy wont even turn over. So unless CMOS clearing works, he wont need that speaker lol
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Usually leaving the battery out for about 5 minutes has always worked for me, but I have heard people say a couple of hours. That seems rather long as everything should discharge rather quickly.

    As far as leaving the computer plugged it, I am not sure. I never thought of that and I am sure I have done it both ways in the past. I usually leave computer plugged in when working on them so that there is a gournd connection to the case to prevent ESD (ie, one hand on the case, one working on the mobo).

    Namslas is correct, however, the best way is to use the jumper.
  25. drdroopy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    when i took out and replaced battery the computer was unplugged the whole time, and i also tried with the jumper, and have the internal speaker connected, noting same response

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page