1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pc won't boot

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jlewis02, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I was serfing the net and running a virus scan when my pc just shut off.Now when I turn it on the video card just spins at full speed.
    Anyone got any ideas?
  2. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,356
    Any error beep codes (assuming the "speaker" (or "spkr") plug of the case is plugged into the moterboard)? Did you check the voltage settings in the BIOS? Especially the the word [auto] can be a no-no sometimes (esp. with RAM).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    It won't boot no sounds other than the vid card fan at full speed.
    I'm going to pull the CPU and look at it
  4. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    CPU looks fine and the mono looks fine but it's still doing it
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,026 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    test the power supply ?
  6. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    +1

    does it restart and try to boot or it just stays lit?
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Also try a bios reset, you never know.
  8. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    The psu has 12v but when I try to use a volt meter on the mobo it works on everything but the cpu volts it won't read it
  9. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,026 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    the 4pin cpu connector ?
    if so you have found the issue ......
  10. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    The mobo has probes on it for voltage and the cpu probe don't work I just put in my brothers CPU i7 950 and still the same
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,026 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    swap the psu
  12. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Sounds like possible CPU circuitry around the cpu is damaged, can you try his power supply CPU plug on your Mobo? Also see if your cpu boots in his.
  13. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    The psu has 12v and 5v still
  14. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I don't have his psu.all I have is his CPU and memory
  15. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Hm. Unfortunately this might be the mobo but only a full swap would show since its not as testable as a DIMM going down or such. If the CPU gets no power nothing will work, still under warranty?
  16. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    It don't beep at all and the voltminder LEDs just the hdd led lights up no other LEDs are coming on.
    The psu is working its got good voltage on everything.I don't think the mobo is under warranty anymore.
  17. javaking

    javaking

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Calumet City,IL 60409
    check battery
  18. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Just changed it still doing the same
  19. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Any possible grounding issue? I know it was in use when it happened but it worth checking as the symptoms could cause that, back of the mobo maybe?
  20. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I pulled everything out of the case and only have the bare min hooked up still nada
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Sounds to me 99% mobo.
  22. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    It's right at two years old and was ran under volted it's intire life junk parts I guess
  23. OOZMAN

    OOZMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    160 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    check the power pins to the vid card, when I built my system, silly me forgot to plug the gpu into the psu, all I got was VRSSSSSSHHHHHH of the gpu fan going at full speed. Sounds like whats going on with yours.

    I'd try use different plugs if your PSU allows, blow the dust off the gpu power inputs, try a different PSU if you can, etc, etc.
  24. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    The thing that screams failure is that it was running while this happened. Sucks its out of warranty. I'm surprised though since you stated it was undervolted. Any signs of damage in the socket region?
  25. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    744 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Mobo
    If the speaker doesn't beep the mobo is fucked, if the mobo is working and psu voltage are good and there is a other problem the mobo will beep

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page