1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC Wont POST - HELP!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Error 404, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    My Family PC (in my specs) wont POST!
    Here's the story:
    I went into the BIOS to see what the RAM timings were.
    They were 5-3-3-10, which I thought could go down to 4-3-3-10 for DDR2-533 RAM.
    I was wrong: I changed the setting, and now it wont POST!
    I have to hold down the power button for a few seconds for it to even switch on!
    I've removed the battery from the motherboard, but I think there is also a jumper you have to disconnect as well. I have it switched of at the wall and I'm letting it sit there for a while with absolutely no power.
    On monday I had moved the RAM to Dual Channel mode, and dusted it, but it was running fine up until now.
    Basically: HELP!
     
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Taking the battery out should reset the CMOS, but you have to leave it out for a period of time, usually a couple of minutes. Check your manual for exact methods of resetting the CMOS. Its possible your bios was corrupted, but more likely your cmos just needs to be cleared.
     
  3. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Ok, I'll try taking out the battery for a few minutes. I only left it out for 30 seconds or so last time..
    What happens if the BIOS is corrupt? Do I need to reinstall it?
     
  4. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,249 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Yeah use the clear cmos jumper which should be explained in the mobos maual which you can get usually from the manufacture┬┤s site..
     
  5. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    If the bios is corrupt you'll likely need to rma the board. But that's really probably not the case here. Pull up the manual online and make sure you are taking the correct procedures to reset the cmos. As far as I know, taking the battery out for 5-10 min will do it on almost any board. But most come with alternative ways, such as moving a jumper, or even simply pressing a button.


    Is this your board? If not, find out the exact model code and input it there to find the manual.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2008
  6. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Thanks to Laurijan (over MSN), it has booted! Thanks! :):):):)
    I just needed to move a jumper around.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2008
  7. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    :toast: Relatively painless. Now don't push her too far again......:)
     
  8. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I can't, my parents wont let me. I wonder why...:rolleyes:
     
  9. smig New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    156 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Israel
    do it while they are out of home or sleep :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page