1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB][US] PCI-e 1x Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by xvi, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,989 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Requirements are pretty much just that it physically fit in a 1x slot. It just needs to drive a 1920x1080 display and accelerate video, so if it sits in the slot, it's probably "good enough".

    I've considered modifying the socket to physically accept a full 16x card, but heard the plastic was very tough to get through so I'd rather not go that route if possible.

    Heat, PayPal preferred.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,312 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    PCI-E 1x cards aren't exactly common. NewEgg has a couple and since they're low-end cards they're not too expensive.

    Computer Hardware, Video Cards & Video Devices, D...

    To name a couple:
    ZOTAC ZT-60605-10L GeForce GT 610 512MB 64-bit DDR... @ 60 USD
    ZOTAC ION-GPU-A-E ION Graphics Processor 512MB DDR... @ 40 USD
    HIS H545H1GD1 Radeon HD 5450 Silence 1GB 64-bit DD... @ 70 USD

    All of these should be able to output 1080p and accelerate H.264 video. I think I would personally consider the 610 over the Ion and the 5000-series card.

    btw, ttt4u.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  3. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,989 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I've seen the ones on Newegg and while I'm confident they'd do the job quite well, I don't think the computer itself (Dell Dimension 3100) is quite worth it. I'm considering trying to mod the slot before I throw $60+ in to it. It's for my father who will watch YouTube videos and/or movies at worst. He may also be getting my computer soon (Ssshh!) depending on how much I can spare for a semi-new build.

    I didn't see the Ion though. Thanks! Also, I agree. I think I'd take the GeForce 610 over the Ion.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  5. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    xvi and stinger608 say thanks.
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,312 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Good find, but I suspect that the 8400 GS doesn't have the ability to decode HD video.
     
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I think it does.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If you can pickup a cheap PCIex card, I would recommend cutting it. I have done it a couple of times and it works quite well.

    My last card was a GTS 240 cut down to X1 for Physx.
     
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,450 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,155
    Was going to suggest the same.
    Just a quick tip: If you decide to go this route, take a razor or knife and cut the contacts along the edge where they convert to traces. If you don't, you risk lifting those traces off of the PCB. It takes a bit extra time, but I learned the hard way that this is a valuable extra step.:eek:
     
    xvi says thanks.
  10. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,989 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    One last bump, I think. I don't like doing things that are irreversible if I can help it. I don't suppose there's an alternative though.

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Hmm I tried cutting a card once and it didnt turn out so well. Basically the card didnt work but it was just a cheappy ebay card, like $10. Wish I had a microcenter near by. I would get that 8400gs.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  12. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,823 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,446
    What about just taking a soldering iron and opening up the back of the x1 slot? I've done that to quite a few Dell systems to upgrade past the IGP.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,450 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,155
    He already mentioned that as a possibility. Really it's a matter of if he wants to risk damaging the motherboard, a graphics card, or shelling out some cash for a native x1 card.
    I've already added my two cents. Cutting the card is less risky and easier to accomplish.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  14. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I have thought about doing that as well. Only reason I don't want to do that is if I need to rma the board for whatever reason.
     
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,841 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I cut a GeForce 210 down to x1 with a hacksaw and it worked perfectly, but YMMV. If cutting down a card, make sure it works if you tape over 15 lanes as supposedly some cards may not support x1 though I fnd that hard to believe. Also, PCIe x1 slots probably don't have the same power handling capabilities as their x16 brethren, as I saw a Dell motherboard that had 10w screened next to its x1 slot and 75w next to its x16 slot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,312 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You might have to short the appropriate pins to get the card to report x1. It doesn't always detect it properly (ex. x1 in x4 slot.)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page