1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PCI-E 2.0 question.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by 69er, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. 69er

    69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    FLA....USA !
    Hi folks.

    I'm a GREEN as GREEN can be noob on this board. I know this is a dumb question to some but I would like to know if a PCI Express 2.0 x16 card can be used in a regular PCI-E x16 slot ? More specifically an Asus A8N-SLI Premium sckt 939 ?

    noob LEE :ohwell:
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    PCI-E 2.0 is completely backwards compatible with PCI-E 1.0/1.1 and vice versa.
    69er says thanks.
  3. 69er

    69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    FLA....USA !
    Thanks for answering my dimwit question and not kicking me in the Jimmies !:nutkick:

    LEE :toast:
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I got a PCI-E 2.0 card in a regular PCI-E

    yes it well work
    69er says thanks.
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    We all start somewhere :eek: I tried to put a AMD cpu in a intel board a long time ago :laugh:
    69er says thanks.
  6. hbkl Guest

    yeap but if you use a pci ex 2.0 card on a pci ex 1.0 or 1.1 slot you loose like 3 or 4 fps i have tested it :) well i dunno much english thats cuz i cant explain more better my experience cya
  7. 69er

    69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    FLA....USA !
    thanks for the replies...:respect:
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i have a 8800gt have pci-e 2.0 and am use mobo abit nf-m2s which have pci-e 1.0 , so it works fine
  9. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    works fine im running a 3870 in a 580x board PCIe 1.1 x16 board with my 2.0 cards
  10. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    the new GTX280/260 card only PCI-e 2.0 not backwards compatible they only state 2.0
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Thats not true. My friend has a GTX280 on a P35.
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    maybe they only state it have a look when the GX2 and older card say PCI-E 1.0/2.0

    Attached Files:

    • 777.jpg
      777.jpg
      File size:
      114.1 KB
      Views:
      97
  13. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
  14. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Most PCI-E 2.0 cards will be listed at 2.0 but won't mention anything about supporting or working on older PCI-E 1.x slots.
  15. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    It's just b/c that's what the market is moving toward. If you notice it says pci 2.0 support, not required. It's the same slot, just w/ greater bandwidth allowances, which the newer cards I believe benefit more from than the previous ones, which didn't utilize the extra features as much.
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No it does not, that is very old false information, if you need PCI-e 2.0 you must use AMD 7x0/Nvidia 7x0 or Intel X38/x48/P4x.

    As far as using a PCI-e 2 card on a 1.1/1.0 board. Yes it works and I am doing so right now ;)
  17. Nyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    185 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Toronto ON
    PCIe 2.0 by specification MUST support PCIe 1.0/1.0a/1.1 or else they will be kicked off the PCI-SIG's integrators list.

    However, there are some 1.0a motherboards out there that do not like PCIe 2.0 cards because they interpretted some of the technical specs differently. Luckily for us those motherboards only belong to VIA and IDT.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page