1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PCI-Express Render Test is just white

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Bassquake, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. Bassquake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    As title. When I press Start Render Test for the PCI-Express test, the pattern window is just blank white! I notice the GPU Core Clock and GPU Shader Clock briefly spike for a few seconds as soon as I click the test button. The Bus Interface also changes while the graph spikes to PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ x8 2.0 and was 1.1 beforehand.

    See screenshot of spike chart and details.

    Using driver version: 334.89.
    Windows 7 Pro
    Gigabyte GTX-460
    Gigabyte GA-x58a-UD3R

    Many thanks.

    Attached Files:

    Naki says thanks.
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Do you have issues playing games? Be honest here.
  3. Bassquake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I notice some microstuttering. But I'm more concerned as to why the test doesn't work.
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    First time I hear about this, and no suggestions what could cause it. If other Direct3D apps work, then it's a bug in GPU-Z.
  5. Bassquake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    It is odd. Games run fine and sisandra doesnt report problems apart from saying about the gfx card:
    Tip T308 - Video adapter speed, lower than rated speed. Check power management settings.
    Fix: Unless you specifically want the video adapter to run at lower than rated speed (e.g. to reduce power/temperature) you may be using a power setting that does not allow it to reach its rated (maximum) speed even under load.
    Check Power Options that you are using the Balanced Plan and that the Maximum Graphics Card State is 100%.

    Could it be related to that or a bug in GPU-Z? Any other information I could provide?

    Attached Files:

  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    Not related to that, even if your card was slow due to some issue it should show something. I wouldn't worry about it if everything else works.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I agree with wizz, if youre gaming just fine then there is nothing to be concerned about
  8. Bassquake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Would be nice to properly test the pci-e bus speed though. ;)
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    Any other 3D app will cause your PCIe speed to go up, then alt-tab out and look what GPU-Z shows
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Really no point if your gaming performance is fine.
  11. Bassquake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Decided to run 3DMarks11 Basic. When that was done and closed, I decided to run the pci-e test on gpu-z and it works now. How odd.

    Edit: I installed it so maybe it updated DirectX?
    Naki says thanks.
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Im not sure if the benchmark does or not. I know some games do
  13. Bassquake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I did notice while installing 3dmarks it said installing microsoft directx. I already had dx11 already though. Maybe it just updated/fixed/refreshed the directx files. Anyway, its working now and thanks for the help and a useful utility!
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    The render test needs the directx runtimes, but it should check for them before start and offer to download if they are not installed.
    Naki says thanks.
  15. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2014
  16. Bassquake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks Naki. Did a 15 min burn test on FurMark and all seemed fine.
    Naki says thanks.
  17. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks for testing! I am curious, how many degrees Celsius did the GPU reach at the end of the Furmark test? Did it go over 70°C?
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014
  18. Bassquake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    It levelled out at 76 and didnt go any higher. Hope thats of use.
    Naki says thanks.
  19. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes. Again, thanks for testing! :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page