1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

pcie x1 to pcie x16 adapter

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by squelchy451, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. squelchy451 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi

    I have a zotac gt 430. I have a motherboard with just a pcie x1 on it. If i used a pcie x1 to x16 adapter, would i be able to use the gt430 with my motherboard?

    Thank you
     
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,314 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    yeah you could, but there will be performance hits
     
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    i don't think he could as while pci-e x16 can deliver 75w of electricity pci-e x1 can only do 25w so it probably won't power his card
     
  4. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,473 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    yep unless you find an adapter with a power connector it wont work
     
  5. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    841 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    I used to run a 9800GTEco in an x1 slot that I cut a notch into for folding and physx, it worked great for years till I upgraded the system.

    I'd suggest doing what I did, and skip the adapter, those seem to cost a fair bit of money from what I remember.

    I wouldn't suggest using a card in an 1x slot for anything more than physx, or running another monitor on. I would not want to use it for gaming.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    I wouldn't want to use it for gaming either, but if the only other alternative was no card w/ Integrated, I'd use the x1 slot.:D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    but with only 25w on the pcie slot the gt430 with add in so mch extra current it may well damage the socket or even the entire board
     
  8. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Last time I checked the power-delivery section of the PCIe slot is identical between all slot sizes and can deliver the same amount of power, regardless of the number of lanes. This is at least by the spec.

    In any case, I ran a HD4350 which I sawed off (removed extra PCIe lanes with a Dremel) to fit in a PCIe x1 slot with no issues (except some ~10% performance loss which was of no interest on a HD4350 card anyway), and I use 1->16 extenders at work on a daily basis. This should work.
     
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    i think your right with the circuitry being the same but i think the power is rated at different amounts, like 6 pin being 75w and 8 pin being 150w even though its just 2 extra ground cables, pic-e 1 is less then 16 even though its technically the same cabling
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Just FYI, an 8-pin has 2 extra ground wires and an extra +12v wire. A 6-pin connector really only uses 5 of the pins, 2x12v and 3xGround, the third 12v wire is optional, it is required in an 8-pin.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page