1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pentium 2 ressurection

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by MadClown, May 14, 2009.

  1. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    Well, I've been felling alot more nostalgic recently and i need to fix that. I recently purchased 2 older games, Wargames and Monster Truck Madness 2, both of which i owned before but lost in a move. And i vividly remember my old pentium 2 raping these games, so im gonna rebuild it. I'll get more details up later when i get the remains of the rig down from the loft.

    Specs so far:
    Pentium 2 300 mhz mmx
    256 MB of ram
    Voodoo Rush(Voodoo 2 is on the way)
    20.4 gig Quantum fireball HDD
    Super P6SLE Mobo
    Windows 98 SE
    Sound Blaster 16 CT2230(yes its ISA)

    edit 5/13/09: As far as the video cards go, i used to have an 8 MB ATI All in Wonder for 2d and a 12 MB Voodoo 2 for 3d, and apparently my dad gave them to a friend when we didnt need them, i wonder if he still has them, if he does then im in business, if not, ill have to go part hunting. All i really need is the video cards, sound card and a network card, and a windows 98 cd which is also in the loft.

    Edit 10/04/09: Screw the voodoo 2, and the sound card, and the network card, im getting this bad boy running, pics posted. Installing Windows as we speak.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Only Problem is that the power button doesn't really work, reset works fine.

    Edit 2/20/2010: Still looking for a decent 3dfx card, the voodoo rush blows ass, Currently watching an auction on a Voodoo 5 5500 on ebay, ends in a week, I'll bid then.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
    Cuzza says thanks.
  2. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    haha nice, i always wanted to see an old Voodoo card in action. love to see some pics. My school has quite a few voodoo cards as well as some weird ass tiny ram that i wanna say is RD? could be wrong but yea the old stuff seems so much bigger than stuff today, like mobo's, GPU Cards.
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,859 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I wonder if you'll need EDO or SDRam for that Pentium II build, I don't quite recall, but I think by that piont SDram was all the rage. Been a long time since I even thought about the old school hardware haha, lookin forward to your progress on that build!

    :toast:
     
  4. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    if you need old hardware go to THIS site
     
    Solaris17 and MadClown say thanks.
  5. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    Actually, the mobo is not as wide and a little shorter

    Im pretty sure its SDram, has that extra notch in it

    thanks, ill keep that in mind, but im not totally restructuring the thing, im just trying to recreate the best gaming rig ive ever used, other than the one im using now.

    I'll get some pics most likely this weekend.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,370 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,674
    i want to see voodoo 2 SLI. DO IT.
     
  7. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Couldnt you just disable some of your cores in your current system and install win98 on a CF or something? :)
     
  8. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    ill see if i can get 2 voodoo 2s, never done it before, just a 2d and 3d


    weres the fun in that
     
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    fits has a sound blaster for sell and u choose the price :)
     
  10. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    wow thats great, i have been doing something similar with a pentium 3 except mine is stuck with no ISA so its compatibility is going to suck,

    my dream oldschool box is a 486 DX2 66mhz
     
  11. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Figuring out how to slow it down to a playable speed :D ;) :toast:
     
  12. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    A strange game.....the only way to win is....not to play.
    :roll::laugh:

    I love that flick.
     
  13. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    DO IT! (lol, voodoos do not SLI)
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,370 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,674
    uhhh... wow. voodoo INVENTED SLI.
     
  15. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    792 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Good luck. Nothing beats Glide for some old games. I only play Diablo II on my Win 98, Voodoo5 5500 PCI rig.
     
  16. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    it was such epic fail when they released that... but thats what got the ball rolling essentially.

    I had a single Voodoo2 back in the day.... I think that it was in my Pentium Pro w/ mmx machine.

    On a side note the firewall in my office is a dual Pentium 2 machine :D its been running 24/7 for like.... 10+ years....
     
  17. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    Bump from the dead, finally got around to doing it, check out the pics!
     
  18. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    holy fuck, that voodoo is as long as an atx motherboard :O
     
  19. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    Yeah, its one long sucker.
     
  20. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,581 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Hey .... "It's ALIIIVEEE!!!" :D

    If you need anything send me a pm. I got plenty of PII stuff. Heck I got two pentium 2's working... play prince of persia I and II and jill of the jungle on 'em...

    Here's the specs of my favourite p2

    Processor: Celeron 333Mhz Mendocino
    Ram: 128MB DDR SDRAM PC100
    Graphics: Nvidia Vanta 16MB (AGP)
    Motherboard: Soltek SL-62C
    Sound Card: Aztech AZT 2320 (ISA)
    HDD: Samsung 5400rpm 6GB.

    [​IMG]
     
    MadClown says thanks.
  21. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    ^Thanks for the offer.

    here are some pics of the system up and running
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Incoming:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    So far I tried the Carmageddon 2 demo, Incoming, and Need For Speed III, they all run fairly slow(carma being the slowest), due to the fact my card only has like 6MB of ram, mabey i might throw in my SiS MadDog in there and get a glide wrapper to work until i can find some better voodoo cards. Im prolly done for today, I'll work on it later this week.
     
  22. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,859 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Holy cow I forgot about Incoming, man I had tons of fun with that back in the day. You'll have to load up some Quake and Quake II for sure! There was another tank game I played back in the day on my PII w/MMX, SDR, Voodoo banshee PCI setup...it wasn't Tanarus, though that was a fun online game for it's day. Keep us posted!
     
  23. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    We have replaced all our "nostalgic" Pentium 3's with Atom 330 systems on ION. Much faster, much lower power, silent, pay for themselves quite quickly. If you dont need performance, the Atom's are quite good. (Good for anything Office and internet, just not gaming or video editting/encoding).
     
  24. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,772 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Ohh.. Quantum Fireball's.. Pure love. :D
     
  25. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    NFS III. One of the few games that came to Uruguay and that i have retail with the box and the disc. Oh, what a game
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page