1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pentium Dual Core E6300 Spotted

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 11, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Intel continues to use the Pentium brand name for its series of downscaled Core 2 series processors between the Core 2 Duo and Celeron lines. Japanese website ASCII.jp spotted a new model under the series, the E6300, originally slated for end of May. A retail box was spotted at a ground store. The most peculiar part of the name is its model number "E6300", which that has been used by one of the earliest Core 2 Duo models. The Pentium E6300 however, is the faster chip. While the Core 2 Duo E6300 is clocked at 1.86 GHz, with 2 MB of L2 cache and 1066 MHz FSB, the Pentium E6300 is clocked at 2.80 GHz with the same FSB speed and L2 cache size.

    The Pentium E6300 achieves its 2.80 GHz speed with a bus multiplier of 10.5 (x 266 MHz). It is based on the 45 nm Wolfdale-2M core. The model follows the Pentium E5400 (2.70 GHz, 13.5 x 200 MHz) and falls into the E6000 series for having the 1066 MHz FSB. So in essence, it falls between the E5000 series' use of the Wolfdale-2M core, and the E7000 series' use of the 1066 MHz FSB. ASCII.jp notes its price to be at ¥8,880 (around US $90).

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: ASCII.jp
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  2. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    The fact that the core 2 named cpu's fall behind the Pentium branded processors with the same name kind of bothers me a bit.
  3. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Now make a Q6300 out of that and I'm interested :)
  4. Duncan1

    Duncan1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    greece
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,219 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    everyone is so used to the Pentium Brand they think Core 2 is Inferior like Celeron.
  6. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Not bad, it's an E7400 with 1MB less cache.
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    so this E6300 cost 90$ , bit more $ to get core 2 duo with 3M cash
  8. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Yep $30 more for the extra 1MB cache, but it all depends on whether or not what you're doing requires a large cache. I'd like to see how it fares against the next best $90 AMD offering!
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    This is the $90 AMD processor. It will crush E6300 at multi-tasking, but maybe not gaming. Duncan1 is right, E6300 should sell for $84 when it officially reaches retail.
  10. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    That is exactly why I went with Intel over AMD.
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    This has been out for a while...
  12. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    and come with an unusually high faliure rate for CPUs...
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    B2 Phenom is known to carry the TLB erratum, which does not result in CPU failure. It only affects reliability in mission-critical environments and overclocking headroom (myth), to the PC consumer who isn't interested in serious overclocking, it's of little or no consequence, if that's what you meant.
  14. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    My poor little core 2 6300 bursts into tears...:(:(
    But it will be laughing again as soon as it reaches 4ghz!!(ocing on the way...;):cool:)
  15. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Interesting news. Any info on TDP?

    (politely) Very confusing sentence structure. Former and latter should be in that order, logically, and should also refer to chronological order, not the out-of-chronological-order that you constructed (or quoted) in your sentence. The odd sentence may have been picked up from the source document.

    Yes, natives and fluent foreigners can decypher what you mean, but the sentence structure is odd, overly complex for intermediate speakers, and misses a diamond award: http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/ :toast:
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    TDP is 65W. Also, thanks for the grammar lesson.
  17. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Thanks for info. I really hope Intel "closes" s775 with lower power CPUs, like the Xeon range. 45W would be a nice lower end s775 CPU for silent/reduced power PCs.
  18. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    161 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    nerrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    my E6300 is overclocked to 2.8 anyway. :D
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Tetsuo :p

    I got my lowly E6300 to 3.9ghz,I might grab myself on of these if they're cheap in the uk just to see how far i can push it.
  20. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,878 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Florida, US
    and to think I paid more for a C2D 6300 :shadedshu
  21. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    161 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    crazy OC XD.

    and TETSUOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooo
  22. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    161 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    yeah man £112 when i got mine iirc, bought it along with my Sapphire X1950pro( £117)

    XD. I miss the days when this was enough.
  23. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I bet you intel is gonna come up with a pentium D E6750...
  24. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Hmmmm, that might be a lovely CPU to my future plans of a media build...
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,811 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,925
    More like this...

    The 9600 might be cheap, but it is cheap for a reason, it sucks unless you are really going to use the multi-tasking, and most users will not. They overclock like crap, you'll be lucky to get to 3.0GHz with one.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page