1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pentium III 650 vs 866MHz improvement....

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CH@NO, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Hi.

    I have an ancient Compaq 5000 series that have a P3 at 650MHz, and I'm running it in my cibercafe, today I found a reseller that offers me a P3 at 866MHz for $10 bucks, I know the price is ridiculous but I'm wanna know if the speed boost will show a noticeable improvement or I must keep my current CPU???

    Thanx for the support.
     
    u2konline says thanks.
  2. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Meh, why not, it's only $10. Probably won't see anything major but you may as well.
     
    CH@NO says thanks.
  3. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I know I should, but I'll buy it via mercadolibre.com.mx (mexican ebay version), and even if I have a warranty for part of the reseller the CPU is used so It may not work.....but hell, I think I should give it a try, 216MHz should improve something.
     
  4. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    ive got a few old p3's just laying about i cant get rid of

    800mhz
    933mhz
    1ghz

    if u lived closer ,i could sent u one for the price of the postage.
     
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Hell yea, Don't expect 60FPS on Crysis type of improvement, but minesweeper should now be playable with 4xAA and 16AF :D
     
    3dsage says thanks.
  6. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    We all have PIIIs laying around , the point is what is the max PIII supported by the computer .

    Find out this first .
     
    CH@NO says thanks.
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Actualy if he gave it to u2konline he'd probably get crysis running at 60fps.
     
  8. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    10 dollars is not alot of money and yes you will see a improvement, a boost in gaming. If i found someone to boost my 600mhz up to 866 for 10 dollars, hell yea i would do it. But the dude around in my area is trying to sell it for 150 freakin dollars.

    But anyways, go for it , i would :)
     
  9. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    586 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    Yeah, knowing compaq, it probably wont even detect the cpu.... I've tried a lot of upgrades (well, 4) just like that on old peoples' slot-based computers. It never worked.

    So, keep collecting them cpus... One day, like me, you can melt the pins of 100 cpu's down and you'll have like .5 ounces of gold! WEEE. Delusions of grandure here.
     
    CH@NO says thanks.
  10. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    1.Your hardly going to see any boost at all. 2. That guy that is trying to sell a PIII for 150.00 is a dumbass. 3.that is all
     
  11. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Or he is an evil genius. Someone will eventualy buy it without realising its age.
     
  12. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    Haha maybe, if someone fell into a trap like that they deserve to be ripped off.
     
  13. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Are you planning to play any games on it?
    If os, use windows 2000, its the best OS.

    No, maybe 40 at 1280x1024 medium to high settings. or all medium settings. 40 when looking at the ground of course. or skies. But overall i can play crysis or crysis warhead just fine at 1280x1024 settings.
     
  14. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    This is so true, people on Craigslist are still buying P4 setups for around 300-400$ :roll::roll:
     
  15. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    maybe you're right. I have same issues in the past but with RAMs, in fact, this is my first time trying to change an older CPU from a branded computer.
     
  16. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    can you help me with that, the exact model is 5BW143
     
  17. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    CH@NO says thanks.
  18. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Ah man, I was sure that this ancient related post will atract you :D , thanx for your reply but that PC isn't suited for gaming...well, maybe, but flash gaming or so and for surfing the web, work on office, etc., very normal use.

    150 DOLLARS for that piece of crap!!, what a rip-off, dile que no mame, hahaha, even I wrotte in my native lenguage, It's just It's kinda upset seeing some guys doing this.
     
  19. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Or, sometime in the future, mistake it for a phenom III :roll:
     
  20. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    I want to see this U2 40fps on a system that old running one of the most intense games on the market...:wtf: my old crappy laptop won't even run Crysis on med/high settings and it has alot newer componets than that.
     
  21. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    lol. I wouldn't buy any processor for $150 unless it was a core 2 extreme, then I would re-sell it for fat loot
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    dude it's only $10, you could make $10 virtually anywhere. if it bothers you that much, cut somebody's grass
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    That would be great!:laugh:
     
  25. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I ask 'cause I DON'T like to waste my money, remeber I live in Mexico and 10 bucks MEANS SO MUCH MORE here, a guy that works with the minimum payment recieves worthless 5 BUCKS PER DAY, It's a fucking robbery, but here this is how it works, I'm currently running a cibercafe and other samall bussiness with my wife, very glad that we're going very well but I saying all this crap just to clarify WHY I was asking your advices first.

    BTW, one dollar of yours means 14 pesos of my country, the minimun payment is about 60 (aprox.) mexican pesos per day (depends on the city, some a little more) .....so make your counts....

    and If I cut somebody's grass I could recieve 4 bucks with luck...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page